We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average French hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Glacier
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florianopolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average French hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is my second time in this hotel. A good hotel, great location in the city centre and near the antique Roman theater.
My room was small but very well appointed and clean. The air conditioner wasn't working (they sad that a previous guest had broken it), but it wasn't too hot anyway.
I loved to have breakfast on the sidewalk in front of the hotel.
I was there with a cycle tour group - The Chain Gang, and that fact made the experience even more special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobPeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    129
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
166
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We spent one night in the hotel in a quick stopover. It was in a good location, very close to the amazing Roman theatre and plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. Hotel was fine, nice old building, quirky furnishings etc. Our room on the top floor was tiny but quiet, sunny and had nice view over the back lane. All clean and reasonably comfortable. There was a lift for the first couple of floors but we had to carry luggage up one flight of stairs. Good option for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayG_020454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hello,
Very sincere thanks for the advice left on Tripadvisor. This is always a very good way to inform travelers about hotels and restaurants worldwide. Unfortunately, we have not managed to find your name to see what room and what date you have been in our house.
The only part of the hotel is not accessible by the elevator is the front with 21 to 24 rooms which are very large and comfortable rooms.
All our rooms are pictured and described on our website that allows our visitors to really choose their room.
Thank you again for leaving a good opinion of our house and wish you much happiness in your travels ... Philippe & Nathalie, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a pretty bad time in this hotel's "superior room". The aircon did not work and so temporary solution was provided which was inadequate. The parking was also very tight and not up to standard. But the worst of it was our room (56) had a really awful view of the bakery chimneys which were on all night and therefore windo could not be opened because of the smell.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EG_TINSHED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hello, we read the notice you left on Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel in room 56. You do not at all appreciated it for the points you raise. Let us bring you the following responses:
You stayed in the new part of the hotel. It has just been commissioned and the company that installed the air conditioning had delay on another site, our system will be put into operation tomorrow Wednesday. Our reception tells you this on arrival and there was a fan in your room.
You also indicate that our parking lot is small but you still managed to park your vehicle inside.
The view from your window does not suit you and you report the chimneys of the nearby bakery made ​​noise all night. On view, we would have moved you to your room upon your request at check-in. For the noise from the bakery, we did not know and we will ask about it to the bakery owner.
Finally, you indicate your notes by a terrible price and poor quality bedding report. For your information, the bedding in room 56 is new and as you can see from all the feedback from our customers, they have always said that we had a very good value for money.
We are very sorry sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay in our house managed by our family since 1947. If you had told it our Staff at the check-out, we would have immediately launched a compensation procedure to satisfy you. We hope to receive you in a better way another day, yours sincerely, Philippe & Nathalie BAUDOIN - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
150 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a gem - once we found it! We had a teeny tiny little room (they did offer to move us into a larger room, but that offer would have been better had we not already settled in - why not just do it at check-in?). I think the bathroom was larger than the bedroom! Both rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Our room faced the back, so was very quiet. The hotel was undergoing some significant renovation when we were there, but it never disturbed us. It was in a nice location within walking distance to the Roman Theatre as well as several good restaurants. The only down side was that Internet access was horrible - we never were able to connect. Staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. Definitely a "keeper".

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We needed less than 5 minutes to get our room in September 2012; the reception was kind and efficient.
We booked an executive room and paid around 60 euros excl. breakfast.
We can confirm all the positive feedbacks given by the previous clients.
The equipments in our room were allright (we even got an manual heater in the bathroom, was delicious!) and the comfort of the room was this you would dream to find in every 3 stars hotels in France...
Also good buffet breakfast served up to 10h30 in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrik_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Many Many Many thanks for this amazing feedback. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house ! Our family works every day in this house since 1947 for it ! Hope it will be better if you come back again one day.... Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Le Glacier was the perfect base-camp for our daily bicycle-trips around in the district. A generous breakfast gave us the right kick-off every morning. The hotel is sited in the center of Orange, short walks from restaurants, shops and the Roman theatre. A very warm, friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome. We still wonder why the owners chose the name "Le Glacier"... but it's a cool place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Many thanks for this fantastic feedback. Really happy that you enjoyed your bicycle trip in the area. Concerning the name Le Glacier, if you find the reason, we'll offer you 1 week free ! (in fect, we have some possible answers but not the real and definitive reqson this name was choosen...); Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the centre of Orange,we found the family who owned the hotel extremely hospitable,the manager spaks perfect English which helps.
The family room that we stayed in was very clean,and a reasonable size,our children are 7 and 9 years old.it was the perfect stop over.The town of Orange is well worth a look at as well with its beautiful Roman amphitheatre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnabelRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geollus, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Glacier, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Madam, many thanks for this amazing feedback following your stay in our house. Hope the return was not too difficult ;-( Hope that you enjoyed your whole stay in Provence and maybe we'll see you another day... Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
#1 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Herbier d Orange
2.7 mi away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#5 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Glacier

Property: Hotel Le Glacier
Address: 46 cours Aristide Briand, 84100 Orange, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#2 Romantic Hotel in Orange
#2 Family Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and Friendly hotel in a typical provencal city, Le Glacier is owned by our family since 1947. Set around a quiet, sunny, flowery patio this peaceful accommodation is composed of several houses. It provides a garage and an additional closed car park, plus secure public parking in the front. Its' different levels confer it a quite particular charm enticing you to stay, visit, and discover the town of Orange. There you will see the exceptional Antic Theatre, beautiful fountains, and nice little squares typical of "provencale" towns.Sun, flavours, smells, and cicadas will provide you with unforgettable memories... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Glacier Orange
Le Glacier Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing