We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Ryad Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel is situated in the center of Marseille in a small residential building and you can easily pass by without even noticing as happend to us first time looking for the hotel. Once you entered the wooden entrance door (secured by numberpad) you enter a warm and calm atmosphere with brick red walls and natural stone floors. We were welcomed very sincere although we had reservations for two nights and could´t make it in time for the first night because our car broke down, so our reservation had already been canceld. Luckily there was still a room available and we even got updated to a superior room without paying one cent more. The minute you entered the room(s) you felt right at home. We had a very spacious living and sleeping area with stone floors big windows with shutters and light golden curtains. The double bed with coffe machine on the nightstand was in one niche of the room and in the centre of the room was a very maroccan lounge area with a teatable and divan as well as a flatscreen TV on a wooden sideboard (maybe the flatscreen doesn´t really underline the maroccan style ; )). Also we had a separate toilet and a beautiful bathroom in gold and ivory tones with a bathtub. Sadly we couldn´t try the breakfast because I had to leave early by train.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    117
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
47
139
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Gil was on the doorstep as we arrived, he could not have been more helpful. Carried our bags up the 3 floors to our lovely looking room. - The hotel is quite bohemian, and I like this, but the cleaning staff do not live up the expectations of the photos.

The TV had a thick layer of dust on it, I had to clean the bath before I even got in for a shower. The floor was very dirty. The tiles were loose on the floor.

The nespresso machine was a new experience for me. It had 2 dirty/used caps in already as we worked out how to use it. (no instructions and no prices.) So I was slightly irritated when we were charged for using it, but it was good and I would have used it if there was a price list on it.


All this could be rectified. It just needs someone to ensure the rooms are cleaned maintenance is carried out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Le Ryad Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Concerning the Nespresso Machine, the price of the consumption is indicated as the law obliges it on the index cards of mini bar.

Concerning cleanliness, I'd like in the name of the team to apologize it is rare that we have this kind of remark because we attach a lot of importance for these details. We shall make everything so that this does not happen again.

We hope that you have a good trip and to see again to offer you a real french coffee !

Sincerely yours.
Director,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is decorated in morrocan style. The area is very central but quite a dirty and poor neighborhood. It is very close to Cours Julien and the Vieux Port and St. Charles station.
The two guys who run the hotel are very helpful and tried their very best to solve our needs.

The hotel could use a general makeover or a least a new layer of paint, it all seems a little worn out.
Our rooms (2nd and 3rd floor) were spacious. You have to be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.
Our bathrooms didn`t have a shower only bathtub. Rooms to the garden are nicer and quieter than those leading onto the street.

Little garden area is nice. Hotel doesn' t have any bar facilities, but breakfast is served at extra costs. Mini bar is too expensive for that kind of hotel (over 3 euros for a tiny bottle of water, 2,50 for a Nespresso when you pay not more than Euro 1,50 at any bar/restaurant).

Personally I would stay in a different area next time and I think there are better hotels for that rate. But for 1-2 nights hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms to the garden side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baresis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Le Ryad Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Le Ryad Marseille changes Direction for one year and a we improve a lot of things, and some work are still processed, we are sorry about that.

The hôtel has been imagined in a midlle way between hotel and guesthouse, that why we do not have any restaurant or any bar. On the other hand, we can give a quiet mood to our guests.

About the price of the mini bar, I just want to give some corrections :
- Bottle of Evian 33cl : 2.50 (not over than 3)
- Coffee Nespresso : 2.30 (not 2.50)

Sincerely yours,
La Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Booked this hotel for a couple nights and had a really comfortable stay. It's a modern, clean nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful with advising on local amenities, and most could speak fluent English. This hotel was great!

Stayed August 2011, travelled on bussiness

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I'm Mexican and I've never heard about this wonderful place before, It was a great stay, I was astonished by the concept and the friendly staff !!!! I advise people who looks for charming & exotic place to go to "Le Ryad".Furthermore it is very well located in Marseille "Le vieux port" !!! Gracias muxo para esta estancia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.3 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel 96
Hotel 96
#1 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ryad Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ryad Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Address: 16 rue Senac de Meilhan, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Le Ryad)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#16 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Ryad Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Le Ryad is a charming boutique hotel with only 11 rooms. This enables its team to provide tailor made service to its guests. Its original decoration inspired by Morocco and its interior garden make it an incomparable place in Marseille. The quietness of this hotel in the very city center and at short distance of the main places of attraction in the city make it an ideal place for a stay of one to six days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Ryad Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ryad Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing