We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo - Centre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

For a hostel, this place was just abut perfect. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Clean and large rooms (we stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm). It is in a fantastic location - 2 minutes walk to the old port.

No aircon in rooms - but who expects that in a hostel!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    69
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
6
41
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by a receptionist who offered us an "upgrade" to the twin room. This was certainly no upgrade - more like a demotion to the housekeepers basement cleaners closet! During the night dead flies would appear in the room, the window opened to the dirty street and there were hairs everywhere!! The room only came with a small fan. We stayed for two nights and each morning I woke up very ill. On the plus side, their toilet roll was very satisfying!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Vertigo 'Hotel' is a Hostel. I repeat, it is a Hostel. After reading some of the other reviews, this seems to be a misconception. We actually booked our stay at Vertigo via Hostelworld, if that paints the picture enough.

The hostel itself was fairly decent, with 24 hour reception, good security (buzz to be let in, keys to every room). The location, in regard to Gare Saint-Charles (hub for metro, SCNF trains), is excellent. The station can be seen from the front door of Vertigo Center. But the location, in regard to safety, is not so great. The area around the hostel is a little seedy...do not wander after 10:30-11pm. In this area, past this time, I was offered hash and various other drugs three separate times on my walk back from Vieux Port. Although Vieux Port isn't geographically that far, the socioeconomic status changes immensely from Old Port to the hostel.

I reiterate that Vertigo is a good hostel to stay in though. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The wifi is free. There are plenty of cheap food options nearby (before 10-11pm). And the staff are super helpful.

Also, the hostel has a ton of common room to meet people (including a nice courtyard).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwills1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, the lady at the desk told us that there was a mix up with our reservation so would it be okay if we could stay in the double room? Without asking if we could see it first, we went for it. Worst idea ever.

It was unclean, looked like a basement/cave. The DIY work was AWFUL and there was a sole fan to keep us from dying of heat exhaustion. We stayed two nights and it was the worst ever out of the whole month we had been travelling. The area is also ridiculously dodgy. Who knows why they thought it would be a good idea to build a 'safe' hostel there.

The only good point was that there was a kitchen, and the second woman on the desk was sort of helpful.would definitely never stay there again, or go to Marseille in fact. Highly suggest avoiding this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our experience at Hotel Vertigo was generally very good. The staff were extremely friendly and able to assist us in both English and French. We shared a double room, so I can't speak to the condition of the dorms, but for a hostel the room was small but decent, and relatively clean - the toilet unfortunately was letting of an infernal reek from the moment we got there, so we spent most of the time with the bathroom door closed.

The common area is really well laid out and designed, and is generally a very pleasant place to hang out and access the free wifi. Didn't try the breakfast, but they've also got a full bar and coffee capabilities down there as well.

The only downside was that the area, though extremely close and convenient for the old port, was quite shady after nightfall, and we avoided staying out too late. Do note that we went in the off-season, so there weren't as many tourists around, but I'd have been curious to see if the other Hotel Vertigo location (closer to the port) was perhaps in a better area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shnozian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Nicely located within walking distance (5min) from Marseille main train station (Saint-Charles), the hostel is situated in a walking street, so no traffic noise (a luxury in the 3rd french biggest city!).

We were 2 staying in a room we shared with 2 persons. The room is clean, has bathroom (shower) and toilet within (no need to cross a long corridor and meet other lodgers half naked!).
The bed sheet are fresh, and changed everyday.

The hostel owns a terrace, which should be pleasant in summer, or convenient for smokers at all times.

24/7 open reception, with very nice staff who speak different languages.

Room Tip: Make sure you travel with light luggages as the hostel is on 4 Floors and does not have a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwadolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff that were eager to assist.
It's located in a little alley across the road from Marseille Saint-Charles train station and is a 10-minute walk to Vieux Port and Le Panier.
There are several eateries, and a boulangerie next door, making it fairly easy to get food.
Our room was 212 (I think). Tiny, basic little room, with the shutters closed its quite dark too. Rooms were accessible only via narrow, tall staircase. We had to scale two staircases to access our room.
No TV in room, and wireless barely reached the room. Wireless Internet included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apostcardfromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.0 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#31 of 131 in Marseille
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo - Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo - Centre

Property: Hotel Vertigo - Centre
Address: 42 rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vertigo - Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing