We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Un Mas en Ville
Ranked #33 of 66 Marseille B&B and Inns
Burnstown, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just home from our first visit to Marseille. We knew virtually nothing about the city, and my husband found this place on booking.com. The photos were promising, but you never know what you're going to find when you get there. We were more than pleasantly surprised! We travel frequently with our 3 children, staying in hotels, apartments, and all-inclusive resorts, and we all agreed this was the most beautiful and comfortable place we'd ever stayed in! Located on a tiny street that looks like it's in the middle of nowhere, you walk into an incredibly beautiful and rustic space! We had the "Trois Fontaines" room on the first floor, which included a mezzanine level with 3 single beds for our 3 boys. My husband and I shared a gorgeous canopy bed on the first floor. All the furnishings are antiques, bed linens are somewhat luxurious for a hotel room, lots of towels and facecloths, and of course, many petit bars of le savon de Marseille. The kitchenette was very well equipped, complete with an induction stove top. The fridge was stocked with 3 bowls of preserves, and there was even a washing machine. The shower had incredible pressure wish our shower at home had near as much! I could go on and on, but it's getting late!
We were able to leave our luggage in our room until we were ready to leave for our late afternoon train - the manager was so accommodating! We plan to visit Marseille for one more weekend during our stay in France, but only if we can stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    21
    9
    14
See reviews for
23
42
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

The place looked quaint, but our room smelt of urine. We could not leave the window open ad there was nothing to secure it to; however our friends room on the very very top floor was lovely, it was sunny, light no smell & had a gorgeous balcony, just what I'd hoped our room would be. The breakfast wasn't that good, bread not fresh not much variety, but a nice big cup of tea. Kitchen is gorgeous, looks like rustic farm kitchen. If u stay there, ask for room with balcony, but if u have knee or hip problems, the stairs would be too steep. Moroccan manager was very accommodating, and discounted our room, we'd booked on different website to our friends so he made it the same price as theirs. Very handy location, 10 minute walk to main shopping,harbor restaurants etc.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hereandhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

the location is ok,a 15min walk to the port or a 2min walk to the square with a large choice of places to eat at both locations.the first room we were shown to was disappointing,other peoples clothes hanging in the wardrobe,bed with 3 inch mattress,dirty bathroom/shower.We were relocated to a room on the second floor which was rustic to say the least,but rustic does not have to mean dirty or include grey-looking towels.Breakfast was bread and jam,no fresh bread! Overall the hotel was a disappointment and not how it appeared on the website.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here with my folks as part of our Europe tour in Oct '08. We did not know what to expect from Marseille and there are parts that are quite gritty, but no more than say parts of NY. We arrived late in the evening and after a walk from the nearby train station we were a little lost since the place did not have a sign but we did have the address. We went to open the door, but it was closed and no one answered the multiple door bell rings. Luckily I took my cell phone with me and I had the phone number for the person who was in charge of the place. She had previously told me via email to call her in case no one was there. The first call was met by a lady who only spoke French, though we did manage to understand to call back in 15 mins. So we waited outside for 15 and called back. The second time around we did get in touch with the lady who managed the 'mas'. She told us she was at the B&B and left only a little while ago, but she was on her way back and would be there in 10 mins. We waited and she did arrive on time. She and her mother live close by, up the hill, so in a way I guess we were lucky that was the worst part of our stay.

We were invited in and she gave us a small tour and then led us up to our room, which was a 2 bedroom suite. The stairs were rustic and wooden with a bit of creaking to them. The breakfast area/kitchen was in a loft space of the building next door, which apparently was going to be bought up and used by the B&B. There were other signs of construction going on throughout the property. Luckily none of it while we were there. The rooms themselves were cozy and wonderfully decorated. The second bedroom had a full size bed with a large closet, nightstand, and dresser. The main bedroom came with a large dresser, 2 nightstands, and a good sized bathroom. The bathroom had a great rustic feel to it. The entire room had lots of color, wood floors, and wood ceiling beams. The overall feel of the place was like something you would find in a Provence countryside home.

The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, croissants, butter, milk, and lots of other goodies. It seemed like there was only one other family or couple staying in the B&B as we only heard a couple of footsteps in the morning. When we had breakfast it seemed like we had the entire place to ourselves.

We enjoyed our stay and although we had a small hiccup in the beginning, our overall stay was a good experience.

Room Tip: There is no elevator on premises and the rooms start on the 2nd floor and there are some on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I am so glad I did not listen to the reviews. This is a little bit of rustic France slap bang in a gritty part of town. But don't let that put you off. The location is ideal: 15 minute walk from the port where you can pick up a bus or a ferry to the Friol island and located with an area of very nice restaurants. The manager is from Morocco? and is French is a little hard to understand - English is minimal. I asked a friend to call the hotel before and let them know of our arrival time and they allowed us into the room early. They also allowed us to stay after checkin and look after our cases as we were not flying home until 10pm. The pool is an added bonus.

Before you arrive expect 'Rustic France' and NOT 'French Chic' and I am sure you will be happy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allaboutme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

A charming and relatively successful attempt to create a Provencal idyll in the midst of Marseille's grime. Located on the fringes of La Plaine, the city's up and coming artistic quarter, Un Mas en Ville would never be considered family-friendly or city chic. There are indeed lots of rickety wooden stairs to climb, small, traditional timber beds, rustic bathrooms, basic country breakfasts. don't turn up expecting wi-fi, hairdryers, air-conditioning, irons, lifts: they ain't there. And no, the owners don't speak good English at all and are apologetic about it. But you're in France, aren't you?
Good: decent location for main central sites; lovely, accessible and secluded garden with pool; peace and quiet.
Not so good: cleaning and bin-emptying (absent throughout our four-day stay); breakfasts maybe a bit too basic even for our needs; tiny toilets take some negotiating for anybody over five feet tall.
All in all, not bad. But please don't quibble about rustic simplicity when you've got the internet at home and haven't bothered to even check what you're getting.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telwood186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

When reading previous reports about this hotel I was a little dubious but how wrong were they. Although the staff cannot speak very good english they were very helpful and other fellow travellers were happy to assist. We arrived at the hotel at 12 noon and we were immediately allowed our room (we had prior arranged this via email which is the best way to contact them). We had a two bedroom room which was very clean, with plenty of wardrobe space, ensuite facilities with towels and bathrobes. The hotel has a small pool with sunbathing facilities and is a great place to relax both in the day and evening. The hotel is also very near to the metro and also near to lovely restaurants and 15 minutes to the port. At a cost of 98 euros for 4 people a night it is great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
5.1 mi away
La Villa Blanche
La Villa Blanche
#11 of 66 in Marseille
35 reviews
5.7 mi away
Domaine De La Maillane
Domaine De La Maillane
#48 of 66 in Marseille
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes d'Endoume
Chambres d'Hotes d'Endoume
#12 of 66 in Marseille
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Ortega
Casa Ortega
#2 of 66 in Marseille
90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Les Chambres de Jeannette
Les Chambres de Jeannette
#10 of 66 in Marseille
62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Monticelli
Villa Monticelli
#5 of 66 in Marseille
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Un Mas en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Un Mas en Ville

Property: Bed & Breakfast Un Mas en Ville
Address: 7 rue des Bergers, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Un Mas en Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Un Mas en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing