We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so”
Review of Massili Appart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Massili Appart
Ranked #111 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    45
    48
    24
    29
See reviews for
24
62
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We arrived early evening and had problems getting in. The door is locked and although there was a girl inside she took her time before letting us In. This is not a hotel. It is more like a hostel and is certainly nowhere near the four stars it advertises. The room we were allocated was on the fourth floor, with several other rooms close by with a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hall. The room itself was bare, no carpeting, and extremely spartan. The bathroom did not even have any soap, the shower curtain was torn and the smell from the bathroom was disgusting. It permeated the bedroom and made us both feel very sick. We contacted our travel company and they moved us immediately.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had booked 2 rooms on July 15th and had the worst experience out of our 2 weeks trip in Europe. Our room was visited and several of our most valuable possessions were stolen (laptop, camera, phones, purse etc...). The door was intact and obviously the thief had a key to get in but when we reported the theft to the reception desk and the police we quickly felt their lack of concern and now that we are back in Canada it seems unlikely they will follow up on our report.
I recommend avoiding this place and if you have to stay there make sure not to have any valuable goods left in the room in you absence.
The management should really offer further assistance and probably run background checks on their staff.

Room Tip: Do not leave any valuables in the room in your absence
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Woke up - after an interupted night's sleep - to the worst smell ever! They were working on the drains outside the apartment and the noise and smell was totally unacceptable. Would never stay here again. Staff offered no apology. While the location is great on the map, be prepared for a lot of noise and toilet smells!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLJBugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is an apartment hotel located right next to the Vieux-Port. The location is perfect, because the hotel is right next to a main street (Rue de revolucion). The rooms are big, with a well-equipped kitchenette, large bathroom with a spacious bath-tub and a closet-room with a safety deposit box. The only problem with the room, is the noise from outside that starts in the morning, but it isn't a major concern. A lot of the reviews about Marseille and the hotel are outdated and completely wrong as the city is very safe, friendly and the hotel is perfect for a short or longer stay. The great thing about this hotel is that the staff are very friendly, helpful and speak english.

Even though the check-out time is at 10:30 am, it is possible to leave your luggage in a locked luggage storage room which is very convenient if your flight leaves later at the day.

I strongly recommend going to Marseille, and staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: A hotel higher up are probably better since there is some noice from the street (a garbage truck etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Location is fantastic as its right by the port and many places are just a short distance away.

You can't check in until 3pm and check out is at 10.30am which is not very good...

Also beds are very small... I'm not that tall but even my feet were hanging off!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Apartment hotel with kitchenette in every room. Great location right at the Vieux Port. Since it's an apartment hotel, there's no room service, daily room cleaning and new towels. For a short stay, this is no problem. WiFi is free, fast and reception is good. Windows did not close very well. Besides that, all furnishings seemed pretty new and clean. Overall, given the reasonable price, it's a good place to stay for a little while in Marseille.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliFer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#67 of 131 in Marseille
97 reviews
Opéra
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
#99 of 131 in Marseille
444 reviews
Opéra
Hotel du Sud
Hotel du Sud
#82 of 131 in Marseille
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hermes
#19 of 131 in Marseille
265 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
#24 of 131 in Marseille
371 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#91 of 131 in Marseille
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massili Appart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massili Appart

Property: Massili Appart
Address: 4 rue Coutellerie, 13002 Marseille, France (Formerly Suite Affaire)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Massili Appart 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Massili Appart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing