We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for train station, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Ranked #67 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good location for train station, but noisy”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stay there for one night, great location for taking a train. small room, ok clean. friendly people.. My main complain is TOOO noisy outside, especially the young people live cross street. drinking beer and chatting very loud and shout at hotel said why turn off light.. we want to see you sleep. plus, it's very busy traffic outside.. light sleeper be ready. plus no AC, which means, you will be forced to open the window and enjoy the cooler air plus noise from the busy street.. EAR PLUGS are must!! over all, i would only recommend for people need stop over and check out soon.. but it's budget hotel.. your ear plug will really help! I can't wait to check out asap next morning..

Room Tip: bring your ear plug if you wanna sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear lifecity,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel just in front of the train station.
Regarding air conditioning, installation is planned for next winter.
We hope to welcome you again for another stay.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    99
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
16
85
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Good clean and cheap hotel by the train station. The area is a bit sketchy at night, not sure I would head out after a certain time especially if I were female. The staff was nice and helped whenever they could. Noisy streets outside and the smell of exhaust were a bit annoying, would've been nice if the A/C unit worked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Matt H,

Thank you for staying in our hotel during your visit to Marseille. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel. However, we take note of your feedback to improve our service quality.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It is a good place to stay if you travel with a low budget. The decoration is shabby, but the rooms are clean and its location is fantastic. It is in front of Saint Charles train station, just 10 minutes walk from the Viex Port. The area is quiet, so we could enjoy a nice sleep. I would not recommend this hotel to families with small children for two reasons: to access to the first floor, you must walk up the stairs and the area is full of beggars (but it is not an unsafe city!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_LS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear N_LS5,

We are very happy that you liked the cleanliness of your room and the location of the hotel.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were leaving on an afternoon train from Marseille and had a lot of bags. Therefore, a palce close to the train station was a priority.

The Hotel Terminus met that requirement. It is right sown the main stairs to the St. Charles train station and was relatively affordable (76 euros when booked on Bookings.com).

It is also cheap enough to walk down to the Vieux Port and to do some shopping if that is your interest.

On the downside, it is absolutely no frills...and no air-conditioning which can be brutal on a hot Marseille night. You can open the windows, but not surprisingly, the area around the train station can be VERY loud.

The hotel has WiFi, but its coverage in the rooms is spotty. This hotel also boasts an amazingly small elevator.

However, as noted before, if you are looking for a cheap, clean, safe place to stay for a night before heading out from the train station, this is not a bad place.

#ProTip: if you have a ton of luggage, you can avoid the massive set of stairs by taking the sloping path up to the left of the stairs where you will eventually find an escalator into the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear TravelHard B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are happy to note that you have liked the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of the room and the value.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for only one night and had expected what you often see on hotels near the central stations. But our room was very nice, small, but clean, no carpets on the floor (nice) and a very clean and functionally bathroom. View to the fantastic stair to the station. We had a good nights sleep and will stay there again, if coming to Marseille. Matress okay, but has to be change soon.
The area is as so many areas around central stations. But the hotel is in walking distance to the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annegrete34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Annegrete34,
Many thanks for your stay with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your room and the view on the train station.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU, Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#107 of 131 in Marseille
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Massilia Hotel
Massilia Hotel
#69 of 131 in Marseille
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Saint Charles
New Hotel Saint Charles
#110 of 131 in Marseille
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

Property: Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Address: 1 Place des Marseillaises, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just opposite the Saint-Charles train station, near the underground station and 10 minutes by foot from the famous Vieux Port, this renovated hotel welcomes you in a family atmosphere. All guest rooms of the Hotel Terminus Saint-Charles are fitted with all the modern comfort and come with television and shower. Some of them are specially designed to welcomes the disabled guests. Wi-Fi Internet access is available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terminus Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing