We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin.”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Directly opposite Gare Saint-Charles, this hotel did what is says on the tin. Large shower room, free wifi that worked were big plusses with me. Good breakfast, if a little 'mass produced' in feel. You can find cheaper places, but this one has 'bon rapport prix/qualite'.

Room Tip: Even at the front, rooms were still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear ICE-Zugfahrer,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay with us.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Best Regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    409
    147
    27
    30
See reviews for
183
294
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel, which is straight across from the train station. The hotel is new and very clean, with a firm bed. Interesting bathroom with a two way swinging door which can separate the toilet to the bathroom. We also had a room next to the lift, but did not cause a problem as it was so quiet. Breakfast was included and was very nice and fresh. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our short stay, but found Marseille (itself) needs a little tidy up and it was a bit of a walk to the centre of the city from the hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dimity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Dimity M,
Thank you for your trust.
We are happy to discover your nice review and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

After the Avalon Cruise, went to Marseilles to catch an early morning train to Barcelona. The Holiday Inn Express fit the bill. It's located across street from the station and a metro link. Take the metro downtown to the Old port and enjoy being a tourist for the day. Return to a nice quiet, clean, modern room with large bath. Staff was very helpful, and the buffet breakfast was good. Location was the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear gbwjr,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to learn that you liked our hotel and its location.
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Spent three weeks trip at last 3 weeks (1st to 3 week of May, 2012), Stayed very different kind hotels from 3 stars to 5 stars. This is the best hotel while I traveled during three weeks stay, very valuable and worth for your money as long as you have a issues in Marselli area.
Good breakfast, clean, easy to use and access and closeby every thig such as train staion, food for travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Chang R,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last stay in MARSEILLE.
Many thanks for your glowing review: I will share it will all our team.
We do our best to make every guest comfortable and feel that they are at home in our hotel.
Best regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Right in front of the train station and few minutes walk to the University district. Very modern and friendly staff at reception desk. Complimentary internet access. Breakfast is OK, but nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: The road facing the station can be rather noisy, better ask for a room facing the back side (the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123v_i_n_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed 4 nights and were quite satisfied with the clean room and comfortable bathroom (good shower!). Although the room was not very big it had everything we needed, including a table to work with your laptop. You could also boil water and make coffee or tea yourself. Our room was at the rear part of the hotel and we had no noise whatsoever. The old port is just 15 min. walking and the train station is 20 steps away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear DREY L,

This is a great pleasure to discover your nice review. Your satisaction is our best reward.
We do really hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.4 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing