We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here with my family in Febuary 2014. Very satisfied with the 3 bedded room and price. Hotel is modern and very clean. Staff are nice and helpful. The location is perfect to arrive or leave Marseille by train since it's to the side of Saint Charles Train Station. It's also very practical for guests arriving from Marseille-Provence Airport by shuttle bus since the bus terminus is across the road in the train station. Vieux Port isjust a short stroll away.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have lovely sea views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marclaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hotel is very good located, in front of the train station, and easy to access. It has a car parking area, also. The hotel staff is very nice and friendly. Rooms are not so big, but enough space to a short visit. It's a nice and modern hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiliskender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

dear Mr, Mss,

Thank you for your commen. We look foward to seeing you during your next trip in Marseille.

Your's sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here for one night in December 2013. This hotel is in a great location directly across from the train station. It is within walking distance to a couple of restaurants, but it is a little shady if you walk too far and there are homeless people begging in front of the train station stairs. The hotel was a typical Holiday Inn Express, with simple and clean rooms. The only thing about the room that I didn't like was the bathroom, it was impossible to take a shower without getting the whole floor wet. The breakfast was a good selection. The front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Extremely clean, excellent room, very helpful and friendly staff, fast reliable WiFi, short walk to the Port and a superb breakfast offering. Despite being on a main road, it was very quiet. Would highly recommend, it was one of the best Holiday Inn's I have stayed in.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We came for a weekend break. The hotel was much as you expect from the Holiday Inn brand. Clean, smart and simple. The staff were friendly and helpful and even gave a free room upgrade to give us a view over the city. Aside from lacking a bar or pool everything else feels much like the bunch of Holiday Inns I've stayed in before. Good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank djshaw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we stayed here on points in October. We were very warmly greeted, given a superior room, with their verbal thanks for being a loyal customer. Room was terrific, it was a corner room with superb views.

Front desk (sorry i didn't catch his name) was absolutely terrific. Very polite, very helpful and we appreciated his excellent English (our French is poor).

The breakfast was beyond our expectations - there is truly something for everyone, the choices were all excellent, as was the quality and quantity.

The location of the hotel was superb since we were departing via train, and honestly the walk down to the harbor area was really fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mygreyhound66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a very comfortable corner room with views over Marseille which was especially attractive at night with view of the floodlit Notre-Dame de Garde church. Breakfast was excellent. Special praise must go to the reception staff. When our flight was cancelled (air controllers' strike) they were very helpful in helping us rebook another flight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyJ186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £65 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing