We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Tyler, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location to train station”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The location to the train station is excellent and the breakfast was good also. AC in rooms didn't work and night staff was unfriendly. Shower constantly overflowed and flooded the bathroom. But overall I would recommend this lodging if you need to be near the train station

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Barbara S,
Many thanks for your comment.
We are happy to read that you liked our hotel, the location and the breakfast.
Regarding the A/C and the staff, could you get back to me by email or by phone?
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    409
    147
    27
    30
See reviews for
183
294
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed just one night on a business trip to Marseilles. Chose this for its convenient location nearby the station while my traveling schedule is very tight.

Everything is close to be perfect at the Holiday Inn Express standard including both service and facilities. Impressed with the reception team's hospitality - they are all very helpful and attentive.

However, if may not be a perfect choice if you are on vacation wishing to taste Marseilles for its location and surrounding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
dear Mr, Mss,

Thank you for your commen. We look foward to seeing you during your next trip in Marseille.

Your's sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Perfect hotel if you're only staying for one or maybe two nights in Marseille. We arrived here on friday, came by train, stayed at the Holiday Inn and then continued our vacation on a cruiseship. So choosing this hotel was a good decision, considering our vacation plans. The room was decent and modern but the carpet has not been vacuumed. During the night there was a lot of noice from the traffic outside, we couldn't leave the window open. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: - Be careful in a neighbourhood like that. - Rooms on the first floor have a lot of noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Nicky 483,

We thank you for your recent stay with us.
This is nice to read that you liked our hotel and its service.
Regarding the location, we take good note of your comments.
Best Regards,

Stéphanie MERLIN
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Location is outstanding - right across street from main rail station, which gives access to metro and long distance trains. Downtown area walking distance. Staff friendly and helpful. Usual Holiday Inn Express included breakfast, which was good.

I made reservation on Hoilday Inn website, which sent me confirming email. When I arrived, reservation had been cancelled, evidently because website/frequent user site stored an expired credit card #; but I never got an email advising me. The local registration clerk was very helpful and found me a room anyway at the same price, for which I was grateful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detroitggM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
dear Mr, Mss,

Thank you for your commen. We look foward to seeing you during your next trip in Marseille.

Your's sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Granted, this is a no-frills "express" version of Holiday Inn, but my room on the first floor was not a pleasant experience. There is quite a bit of road noise. The room was quite depressing with a small window, and bizarrely under-decorated, with 3 of the 4 walls being large blank walls. Staff was friendly and efficient, but breakfast was too much cafeteria style (fetch yourself a tray over in the corner) and quite basic.

Room Tip: If you can get a room high up and away from the facade, you may have a better stay than me, I did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Id-Daniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Id-Daniz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A clean, modern hotel with well equipped rooms, including aircon, kettle, hair dryer, TV and room safe. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of food available. We drove here, and the underground secure car park is preferable to on street parking. Located opposite the SNCF station, we walked the 20 minutes into the city centre and the Old Port. Travellers are advised to be aware of their surroundings whilst walking around near the station - we did not experience any problems, but their are plenty of locals watching you pass by.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear of the hotel, which probably reduced noise from the busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
dear Mr, Mss,

Thank you for your commen. We look foward to seeing you during your next trip in Marseille.

Your's sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ideally located outside the train station straight off the tgv from paris greeted by a lovely english girl rosie who was a credit to the company she told us about the metro down to the old port and bus numbers so we could get to places quickly as we were only staying for a short time .When we go back to marseille we will be booking here again rooms clean and bright absolutely no problems recommending this hotel

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor and there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Debbie C,

What a pleasure to read your comments.
We will share it with all the team and with Rose in particular.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.4 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing