We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time isn't the charm”
Review of Hotel de l'Ariana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Ariana
Ranked #110 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our second time staying at hotel l'ariana. First time was wayyyy better. We noticed, as pointed up by the latest reviewer, that the streets around the hotel are not as safe as used to be. First day there and we saw young teens shooting up drugs and leaving needles all over ( first time I had EVER seen that up close!!! they didn't even stop as we were passing by). We also noticed that coming home late meant we would have to walk by all the homeless as the small street has a bit of a shelter cover for them. The rooms were also not as clean as I remember them. The place was just more run-down than it used to be 4 years back. Location/proximity to vieux port and train station is still as excellent obviously, as was the young guy at the front desk. He let me make long distance calls from his cell phone when I couldn't get my phone to work and he would wait downstairs by the door when we were coming back late ( we told him we didn't feel as safe walking through the alley way ( it's only about 500 metres, but still quite intimidating for 3 girls! lol).
There are only narrow stairs up the 4 storeys of the hotel so heavy bags were a pain to drag up!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roundtheglobe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de l'Ariana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We made a big mistake booking this hotel. It looked to be in a very dangerous area of town, outside the hotel was drunks, druggies, and ladies of the night shall we say and we arrived in the afternoon. Almost impossible to get to by car and even harder to get out, as the road is destroyed at the other end, luckily we were on an adventure bike. The hotel did look on the lower end of the 2star rating but as I did not actually stay here I would not like to comment. I would just like to warn travellers of the hotels location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank leefaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It's basic but it's clean and cheap and on a nice pedestrianised street. Very friendly and helpful man on reception. No good if you have heavy luggage and can't cope with steep stairs, but that apart, it's just fine, and reasonable value for money.
AB

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This 2 star hotel is located right next to the French theatre and was excellent in its location. For the rate paid it was what I expected. Decent beds, washroom and toilets were tiny but clean and sheets were changed for a small fee.
The reception was open 24hrs and the man behind th desk was very nice and helpful. Walls were thin which means you gotta keep it down but for the service and location, this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qui vivra verra !
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frrrtttfghthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepitomicorazon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julieta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#77 of 131 in Marseille
113 reviews
Hotel Lutetia
#114 of 131 in Marseille
128 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
Sylvabelle Hotel
Sylvabelle Hotel
#116 of 131 in Marseille
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Préfecture
Hotel de la Prefecture
Hotel de la Prefecture
#102 of 131 in Marseille
99 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#91 of 131 in Marseille
42 reviews
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ariana

Address: 12 rue du Theatre Francais, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £41 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Ariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing