We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but not the nicest area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
Ranked #58 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient but not the nicest area”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is just a few hundred metres from the TGV station and there is a Metro station there too, so arrival access and local transport couldn't be easier. There is 24 hour reception too which helps if your train arrives late.
The rooms have a kitchenette and are quite roomy and there is lift access. The WiFi didn't work very well in our room but there are couches in reception where is does work. However there is an Ethernet connector in the room. The staff were very helpful.
The area has little in the way of cafes though there is a great pizza / kebab shop just down the road where they are friendly, speak English and make fantastic food for tiny prices. There is a small super market one block away and a patisserie across the road from it so if you want to prepare your own food, these are quite convenient.
The hotel is ideal for a short stay of a few days but it is not the nicest area to stroll looking for cafes, but it is certainly a convenient location for transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    137
    70
    17
    20
See reviews for
68
84
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level Contributor
511 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We arrived in Marseille on a Saturday night at 11pm. I’d rung in advance to notify our late arrival, but it appears that reception is available all night (at any rate, when we came back at almost 1am one night, there was still someone. We found the young gentleman who worked the night shift to be very friendly and welcoming, and most helpful in giving us directions. The daytime staff was constantly changing, and the service was slightly less consistent – sometimes we were greeted, sometimes we were not acknowledged. When we left, the housecleaning staff was very kind and offered to take our trash out for us when she saw our mountain of baggage.
We took a studio room, which had an en suite bathroom and a fully-equipped kitchenette. Having stayed in several different styles of apartment-hotels before, I really enjoyed the fact that this kitchenette was separate from the sleeping area. There was a microwave and a coffee machine in addition to the stove top. We even found a wine bottle opener much to our relief, as we had forgotten to bring ours. The double bed was comfortable, although possibly insufficient for people who need plenty of space when they sleep. The curtains blocked out the sunlight adequately, and the room was bright and airy when those were drawn back. Air-conditioning worked very well. There was a working TV, telephone (we didn’t use it) and cable internet, and a spacious wardrobe. The bathroom was large and clean, and the vanity lights were a nice touch. There was instant hot water in the bath, much to my delight.
The hotel maintains a high standard of cleanliness. The general areas (lobby, lift, corridors) were clean and well-lit. I cannot fault the cleanliness in the room either.
For an apartment-style hotel, the price we paid was good value. It would probably cost more in peak season (July/August) but Marseille is lovely in May.
The hotel is situated right next to the Marseille St Charles train station for travellers coming in by train. I think the interstate bus depot was just next to it too. In the train station there is a metro stop, although the hotel is walking distance from Vieux Port, Le Panier, La Canabiere and all the touristy areas.
I would definitely recommend this apartment – it is suitable for couples, business travellers, and families with children as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 708, facing the residential side. Despite our close proximity to the station, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FordPrefectII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Maybe I didn't pay enough attention when I booked a room but I didn't see any info that WiFi works only in the lobby and you have only an internet cable in the room so I was rather disappointed when I arrived there - we didn't have a laptop with us so had to go down to the lobby every time we needed internet. I think they could have routers on each floor for the money you pay per night. Me and my boyfriend stayed in the hotel for 5 days. For this period you can have your room cleaned only for an additional payment. And as the cleaning was not included we couldn't have a new towel. I think that an absurd. If you don't pay for the cleaning you have to throw all garbage by yourself when you leave the place.
But there are good things about this place. It's very close to the train station which also has an airport shuttle stop. When the window is closed you don't hear the train station at all. And the room has an air con. The bathroom is large enough and the kitchen is fully equipped but is rather small. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The first thing to say is that this is not really a hotel but more like an apartment complex. The rooms have a little kitchen, which is handy if you want to do self catering. It's a bit basic but clean and functional. However, the front rooms face the rail track and in summer, if you want the window open, would be noisy. And wifi doesn't work, unless by cable and many laptops don't have that jack these days. There is wifi in the lobby. The breakfast room is very small and the breakfast equally small. It's very close to the rail and bus station, if you are making a connection, but a bit out of town for sightseeing/eating/nightlife: about a 20 minute walk. The staff were nice and friendly and, all in all, not a bad place for a few days.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel, where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We quite liked this place. It is only a few minutes walk from the main train station, and if you take the bus from the airport, you are almost there already. Each unit has a small kitchenette with everything you need to cook for yourself. There are a few small supermarkets nearby and several restaurants (mostly pizza or gyros type) that were open even when we arrived late on a Sunday. The flat screen TV was a bit small, but adequate, and the room was clean. There is free wired internet; it did not work in our first room, but came up immediately once we changed rooms. The staff was helpful and spoke good English. Sound insulation is very good; we did not here the trains at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkleeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Excellent location near to the Train Station. Restaurants a little hard to find locally, but we arrived late so didn't stray too far from the Hotel. Very clean - looked recently refurbished. Breakfast a little expensive for the choice but adequate. A couple of little supermarkets close-by for supplies

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is well located both for the railway station and the bus station.
The noise if the trains is not intrusive if the window is shut.
The kitchen is quite well appointed but not suitable for a banquet.
Staff were helpful and spoke good english.
The amount of cleaning depends on the period of stay and whether you wish to pay extra.
If you want to get about the bus pass is good value, 5 euro for unlimited travel on bus tram and metro. A weekly pass at 13 euros is even better value if you wish to get about. Get a map from the metro station.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walton17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
#56 of 131 in Marseille
475 reviews
Castellane
Citadines Castellane Marseille
Hotel Azur
#47 of 131 in Marseille
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles

Property: Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
Address: 23 rue Honnorat, 13003 Marseille, France (Formerly Citea Marseille Saint-Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing