We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Manne

La Manne
Ranked #11 of 2,086 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I ate dinner here in December 2013, as it was recommended by the front desk staff at the Holiday Inn Express. When we entered the restaurant, it has a quaint feel and the staff immediately greeted us with a smile. The waitress didn't feel comfortable to help us with the menu in English so the chef came out and described all of the menu items to us and his English was great. My companion chose a steak entree and I had the spinach lasagna. For dessert we chose creme brulee and profiteroles, and the chef also brought us each a homemade marshmallow with fruit coulis that he said he was thinking of adding to the menu. We thoroughly enjoyed all of our food and the service was excellent. You should definitely eat at La Manne if you have a stopover in Marseille.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, chef de cuisine at La Manne, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment on trip advisor ! We are working very hard to satisfy our customers, so it means a lot to us when we have such a feedback. We hope to see you again in marseille.

ps : and thanks for finding my english great ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    101
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
256 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It's not always easy to find a restaurant open on Mondays and I found this one through TA reviews. What a success it was! It's in a very ordinary street about 15 minutes walk from the Vieux Port and definitely worth hunting it out. We were there just before Christmas and unfortunately it was about to close for the Christmas break otherwise we would certainly have returned. The chef came out and explained the menu (all handwritten on a board) which wasn't large as some dishes were unavailable due to their forthcoming closure. My husband started with the pumpkin soup with caramelised apple - what an interesting and delicious combination - while my goat cheese in filo pastry was excellent too. My husband had the salmon with sesame seeds (cooked to perfection) as was my duck with cherries. I greedily finished with the café gourmand and its 3 little desserts. The service was charming and friendly and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. At 54 eu including 50cl of wine it was amazing value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, Propriétaire at La Manne, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your rewiew.
Your nice coments are good signs to begin this new year.
And they arrived like presents to finish 2013.

All our best,
The staff of La Manne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We selected this restaurant as it was within walking distance of the hotel we were staying at, we had all flown in very early that morning and had a busy day of meetings, so wanted food and a glass of wine at the end of a long day!
The owner who greeted us and ran through the menus and specials was also the chef, he made some good recommendations which we selected. He also suggested some local wines for us to try and we ended up staying later than anticipated as we all had a very enjoyable evening with great food and wine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just around the corner by our Hotel, We 'Stumbled' across this little 'Gem' of a Restaurant. The owners really know how to look after their customers, The Chef came to out Table to explain the dishes and how he was going to cook each dish, Sounded Lovely!

We were not disappointed beautifully presented and well cooked food, Well worth a visit!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Three nights in Marseille - ate each evening in this restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This restaurant was recommend by the front of house staff at our hotel nearby. It is up a side street but once you've found it you won't want to search for another restaurant during your stay.
The owner and chef were helpful in explaining every detail of the varied menu. The food was excellent and we ate a different dish each evening- delicious and well presented.- and not expensive.
The restaurant has lots of atmosphere and the owners own photograph exhibition of the new area around the old port being built (Marseille is the Cultural City of 2013). He also spent the time to tell about this. Would definitely visit this restaurant again if in Marseille,.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, Propriétaire at La Manne, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello,
Many thanks for your comments.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated our restaurant, athmosphere and food!.
For us, our main goal is to be able to bring nice moments and good souvenirs to our guests.
All our best, and see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Manne also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Manne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing