We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk up the hill and Enjoy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Manne

La Manne
Ranked #11 of 2,086 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Walk up the hill and Enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This is a charming and most hospitable restaurant. We were early diners and had the charming waitress ( who actually spoke excellent English) and the chef himself explain his menu....he even gave a personal recommendation for a dish not on the menu. Not cheap but we did imbibe some lovely accompanying wines! Well worth a visit and not too far to walk from the town centre

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    102
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Large portions, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We made a reservation for 2 for dinner and were surprised when we arrived at 8pm to find the restaurant empty.


We started off with a squid cooked in ink appetiser that was yummy and full of soft carrots and onions. I had expected the whitish calamari style squid but instead a brown "cuttlefish" was used. Nevertheless, it was a nice starter and the portion was generous.

I ordered the plat du jour which was stuffed vegetables Provencal style with basmati rice. The rice was fluffy and tasted and the vegetables were grilled and stuffed with tasty meat and capers. My partner had the spinach lasagne and she had two large slices with a huge salad at the side. Both dishes were huge and tasty.

For dessert, we had an upside down deconstructed tarte tartin that looked almost like a sundae. It was just alright, especially since the scoop of ice cream had melted beneath the hot apples. The meal was accompanied by a glass of local red that was very flavourful.

The owner was very friendly and he and his wife took turns coming out to ask about the food and to explain the menu to us. We had a good time and were so full after the meal. We hope that the place survives because 3 tables on a weeknight probably isnt very good business! Merci!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jastine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, Gérant at La Manne, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Jastine,
It was a pleasure to host both of you, and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at La Manne with the other travelers.
All the best from all the team,
Resto La Manne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malolo Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

near the train station, this is by far one of the best place i've ever been.
the design was simple but the food was excellent! rich. delicious.

the staff were friendly, fast service. the owner was very friendly, you know he really cares about the customers as he talked to us throughout the night, explaining the menu and telling us what goes best with the meals.

definitely will come back again!

c'etait delicieux. tres tres super. merci beaucoup!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssa_fij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, Propriétaire at La Manne, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear rewiever,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.
It was also a pleasure to talk with you and your parents about gastronomy.
Looking forward to receive you again,
All my best,

Resto La Manne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The perfect place in Marseille”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Well what can be said about this little stunner, ambience was magical, meal was magnificent and the host/owner was a true delight. Only have nice things to say about this place, truly was a 5 star experience with no 5 star price. General rule on overseas holiday is never to go back to the same restaurant twice and try somewhere new, however exemptions can be made... winner.

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, Propriétaire at La Manne, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Ian, thank you very much for your nice comment! It was a pleasure to welcome you in our restaurant, and we are very delight that the food we prepare enjoyed your taste buds! Also, the fact that you appreciated the service and atmosphere of La Manne encourage us to continue our work with sincerity and professionalism.
All our best,
La Manne's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Tx
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I ate here twice and loved it all both times. The staff is very friendly and multilingual. The good was so good I didn't want to swallow it, it tasted do good. I had a glass of excellent local red wine with each meal. I will come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rose999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamanne, Propriétaire at La Manne, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Rose,
Your comment is very interesting and we are pleased to read that the food we prepare pleased your taste buds!
Thank you,
All our best,
L'équipe de La Manne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Manne also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Manne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing