We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of their way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hello Marseille Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of their way”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It's one of the best hostels. I've ever stayed in, and believe me I've stayed in a lot of hostels. The staff go out of a way to make sure you're at home.
I love the city Marseille so much that I will be will be going back soon and when I do I will be staying at Hello Marseille

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    45
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
9
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Located right at the Vieux Port, the Hostel offers easy access to the all of the city life. The Hostel is tiny, but well equipped and very clean. Together with the fun, outgoing and helpful staff you'll find a familiar and intimate vibe. Staff will organize (or help you) organize fun trips and activities. Really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great location very close to the port. Staff were very friendly and more than happy to give recommendations and directions for places to go. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Community dinners were available, as well as a simple breakfast in the mornings. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After a short visit last year I wanted to come back because I really liked staying at Hello Marseille. The staff is just awesome and the location of the hostel is great. The staff is very helpful if you want to plan a trip to the Calanques, the beach or the city. The community dinners with staff and guests together made me feel like I was part of a big family. I made a lot of friends and got inspiration for new trips all over the world. I highly recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Every room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yastraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

As this was our first time ever staying in a hostel we were not too sure what to expect. Upon arriving we were greeted by the very friendly travelling staff that worked there. They showed us our room and explained everything needed to know. The hostel has a very home feeling to it, as there is your room and then a main lounge/common area. We found it nice and easy to get along with the staff and fellow travelers and enjoyed socialising/drinkning at nights there. The location is super close and easy to the train station/port etc. Facilities were nice and clean! I would definitely recommend this place to other young enthusiastic travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A good and cheap price hostel in the middle of Marseille , just few metres away from the port and also from the metro station. Visited this hostel back in 2012 during the weekend of El Classico. I suggest this hostel for short stays. A budget place to stay mainly for backpackers

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel1989_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed in this hostel for three nights travelling through the South of France. While the hostel is clean and has pretty comfortable beds, it lacks in facilities. There are around 18 beds and only one toilet for everyone, as well as a small shower room.

The hostel has one common living room which was nice to relax in, but due to limited space in the hostel it became a crowded noisy place every evening with everyone trying to squeeze into it. If you tried to use it during the day, you had to compete with the staff's loud music that was always blaring.

While the staff were nice and the location is good, it was an average stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PassportWillTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Marseille Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Marseille Hostel

Property: Hello Marseille Hostel
Address: 12 rue Breteuil, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Marseille Hostel is located in a safe area in the very center of Marseille, the "Vieux Port". Our HostelHello Marseille is a brand new concept in town. We opened May 13rd 2010 in fully renovated facilities within a charming typical 19th century Haussmanian building (marble floor, high ceiling with nice mouldings, large rooms). Note: Beware, we are a backpackers hostel ...On the third floor, no lift. So to our great regret, our hostel is unfortunately ​not convenient for - disabled persons or persons with limited physical abilities - minors under 18, even if travelling with elders. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing