We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not for a typical euro trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hello Marseille Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Hostel was very very challenging to find but it was clean and staff were friendly. Plugs are not everywhere and there are no bed lights. There is no lock on the bed room doors and the rooms are open to everyone, so thats rather inconvenient. The breakfast was disappointing since it was baguette slices with limited amounts of jam and tea or coffee. It's nice that its 'free' (however, it's not really free.. they ask you make a donation). If you end up here on a euro trip I do not recommend it since you will feel very out of place. If you are more of a hard core backpacker you will definately fit in here!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Hello Marseille Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hello Marseille was very comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I felt very safe and appreciated all the little amenities available: hot showers, prepared breakfasts, etc. It is in a very good location, and I was able to wander the city on foot very comfortably.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hello Marseille Hostel is a very nice place to stay in Marseille :) It is perfectly situated near the Vieux Port and you can acces all the cool places of Marseille by foot from there.
Apart from that the staff is really welcoming, patient (we were a group of 19 people and they were so cool about i) and always ready with some good advice, small talk or jokes.
The facilities are good! The beds are fine, rooms spacious and clean as well as the showers. Unfortunately there's only one toilet, which proved to be a problem when you are a lot of people (19) who have to leave at the same time.

Room Tip: The "Big room" has it own bathtub! Choose that ;)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaSarauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We came with 4 person in April. Location is very good, staffs are nice and no problem we could see :) It is not expensive also and they give free breakfast which is not easy to find in hostel. They helped us to visit the right places.

Don't waste your all time in museums in marseille :)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank İlker Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I arrived in Marseille on saturday morning for a week-end trip. Because it was early and I had to wait to be able to check-in (from 14:30), I could leave my backpack in the common room and then have a walk; you can do the same with check-ou.
The hostel is small with 4 6-bed rooms but really comfortable: it has a cozy common room, a good kitchen with everything you need and the room are new and clean. I had a really good sleep night although, due to the proximity with the reception (24h open, that's great!!!!) I was woke up during the night.
Although, there's only one toilet and the bathroom is quite small (1 sink, 2 showers) so it might be a problem in high-season, I really recommend it!
p.s. it's next to the port!!!!
p.p.s. beaware, there's no bed-light

Room Tip: ask for one of the two rooms not near the reception
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good location, the staff were friendly, we were given the big room which was very spacious and came with the bathroom with a tub and shower (but no actually toilet oddly). There's a nice common area with a tv and lots of room to lounge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I just stayed for one night but it was amazing! The great thing about this hostel, ist that it is very small, personell and familiar. I felt like home as I went to the saloon to eat the dinner (5 €, every Monday) with all the guys from the hostel. It is very unique and sympathetic. Great place to stay during the time in Marseille. Recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
314 reviews
Alex Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Marseille Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Marseille Hostel

Address: 12 rue Breteuil, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Marseille
Price Range: £21 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Marseille Hostel is located in a safe area in the very center of Marseille, the "Vieux Port". Our HostelHello Marseille is a brand new concept in town. We opened May 13rd 2010 in fully renovated facilities within a charming typical 19th century Haussmanian building (marble floor, high ceiling with nice mouldings, large rooms). Note: Beware, we are a backpackers hostel ...On the third floor, no lift. So to our great regret, our hostel is unfortunately ​not convenient for - disabled persons or persons with limited physical abilities - minors under 18, even if travelling with elders. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing