We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky B&B”
Review of Au Vieux Panier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Au Vieux Panier
Ranked #23 of 67 Marseille B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2013

At first not sure what to expect but the friendly staff ushered us to our room and were so helpful. Each room has been decorated by a different artist and so you have a feeling the hotel and your stay is quite unique. It adds a bit of excitement to the trip when you stay somewhere that isn't same old same old and you feel as if you are in a cultural capital. The staff were very accommodating and offered great tips on where to eat depending on what we were after. The breakfast had plenty of variety and the bread and pastries very fresh. No complaints whatsoever and I recommend this to anyone looking for something different.

Thank Andru R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

I really loved our stay in this B&B! The design of the rooms makes it very special and you feel like you are living in the state of art. The breakfast is simple (musli, yogurt, milk, coffee, fruit, jam, croissants) but served in a special manner and you can't help enjoying it. Just a shot walk from the hotel and you are near the old port. The area around is perfect for tourists - there are a lot of shops and restaraunts. We loved one small shop with soap and other local things which is just around the corner. The owners were very useful and spoke english pretty well. I definitely recommend this hotel, it's much better than big ordinary hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We visited Marseille for the first time this summer and stayed in the Panic Room at Au Vieux Panier. It was a surprise present from my boyfriend and what a treat! The hotel is an absolute delight and completely unique in every way, with every room is decorated by a different artist for a 12 month period. Such a great way to showcase the work of different artists to an international audience and generally raise the profile of different genres of art. Au Vieux Panier definitely deserves the international accolades and was worth every penny. We can't wait to hear about the collaborations for next year's collection. Everyone we met at the hotel was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and best of all, they were so passionate about their city. We fell in love with Marseille and hope to return next year, and will definitely be returning to Au Vieux Panier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StoneRoses83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The location of this former bakery turned B&B is ideal. The Le Panier district is wonderfully atmospheric with its narrow and twisting lanes that reveal small, cool shops like 72% Petanque selling handmade Savon de Marseille or the workshop of a ceramicist or a funky dressmaker making cotton shifts from African batiks. Au Vieux Panier is perfectly placed to enable you to begin your explorations. And once you've seen enough of this area, the vieux port is just a 5-10 minute trot away.

Each room here is unique, being the vision of an individual artist. The decor may not be to everyone's taste (ours had a shamanistic touch to it which I may not always have been that comfortable with) but I did enjoy inhabiting that vision for a night or two. Some of the artwork in our room was quite beautiful and it was a pleasure to live with them for a while. The bathroom is modern and very chic, with a gently aromatic and soothing Savon de Marseille provided. The breakfast spread is excellent and I highly recommend the homemade apricot jam. My only complaint is to do with the pillows, or rather lack of - some extra pillows wouldn't hurt. Other than that, this is a brilliant place to stay. I would be back in a heartbeat. I don't think I quite got enough chilling time on their lovely rooftop. Besides, with a new set of artists invited to re-do the rooms every year, it would be very cool to check out the new room designs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hknosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Totally unusual B&B in the hear of the Vieux Port of old Marseille. Each room is decorated by an individual artist. Our room was sort of Egyptian with a small cave area that had a pad on the floor. It was like a tiny alcove==all painted and with cool lights. We had a bitty little sitting area outside to sit. Everything inside the B&B was spotless and decorated with much thought and care. The breakfast area is modern and minimalist in design. The breakfasts were the best we had during our trip to France and the layout was spectacular. There were croissants and French bread, several kinds of cereal and juices, fruit, jams, and lovely yogurt. You will be glad for a big breakfast in Marseille. This property is way up high and there are many steps to go. If you have heavy luggage and don't drive, it might create a problem. Also, I would not advise anyone to go to Marseille during low season or on Saturday and Sunday. We could hardly find any restaurants open at night while we were there. So much of the Marseille we saw was boarded up.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is a really great option if you're looking for somewhere funky, relaxed and central. Renovated and recently opened maison d’hotes in the up-and-coming Le Panier quarter run by half-English, half-French Jessica Venediger and her boyfriend, Paco. Super-central, just 5-minutes on foot from the Vieux Port, the five rooms have been creatively and stylishly decorated, with art installations by French artists. Comfy beds, with great showers. The owners are super-savvy locals who know their restaurants and are happy to share their favourite addresses. 

For more info, please read my blog post:

http://thefatmouse.com/hotels/au-vieux-panier-marseille-france

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFatMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

One of the best places we've ever stayed in.

Very comfortable room (called 69 when we were there in September) with an excellent en-suite bathroom - huge shower! Comfortable lounge area downstairs where you can watch TV or read one of their books. Make sure you venture up to the roof-top terrace with deck chairs and a good view over Le Panier and Marseille.

Helpful service when we arrived and when we made enquiries about things to do in Marseille.
Yes - there's not always someone at 'reception', but that's made clear on the website and on the confirmation email so isn't a problem. Breakfast was great, including homemade peach compote.

Allez-y vite!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YGraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Casa Ortega
#3 of 67 in Marseille
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Vieux Panier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Vieux Panier

Address: 13 rue du Panier, 13002 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range: £111 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Vieux Panier is a nice cozy Pied a Terre right in the middle of Marseilles old city center. You will benefit of a local athmosphere with a nice 10m2 terrace looking over the roof to the cathedrale La major and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Au Vieux Panier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing