We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro-chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Edelweiss
Ranked #18 of 66 Marseille B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Retro-chic”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We had originally intended to stay at the old port but found the hotels there to be over priced and faceless, which is what lead us to Edelweiss. Bernadette, originally from Switzerland, has created a totally unique environment. A far cry from those formulaic hotels on the harbour front and just a 10 minute walk from the old port, her bed and breakfast is housed upstairs in an old Marseilles building on a narrow Marseilles street. The minute you walk through her door you can see her style; contemporarily retro and, I would think,found mainly in flea-markets, each room is totally individual. We stayed in the green room; high ceilings, a wonderful bed, a beautifully done bathroom and a gorgeous little terrace, which, despite being December, we sat out on and enjoyed a glass of wine whilst listening to the sounds of the city. Bernadette couldn't have been more helpful in terms of recommending and indeed booking a restaurant for us on our first night, and although not strictly bed and breakfast, as she was having a problem with her electricity, she did arrange for us to have breakfast around the corner at Le Comptoire Dugommier, which in fact, used to be her restaurant and comes complete with the same old-world charm as her Pension and warm and friendly service. What seemed at first to be a minor inconvenience, turned out to be a lovely way to start our day.
If you're looking for a hotel room that you recognise, a lift and a buffet breakfast, then this may not be for you, but if you appreciate a unique style, elegance and charm, then book now and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in July for two nights, Bernadette is friendly and went through the whole marseille with us. The TV in the room wasn't working but the wifi was good.
It was so close to the train station, great for early departure. Also good walking distance to the port too. Will definitely stay here if I go to Marseille again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stumbled upon Pension Edelweiss while scrambling for a place to stay in Marseille at the very last minute. Their prices were reasonable at 80 euro without breakfast, and the pictures looked quite nice, but we were unprepared for what awaited us when we were shown to our room. We stayed in the room next to the check-in area, and it was fantastic. A large chandelier and deep green wallpaper struck a very elegant tone. Tall french doors opened onto a wrought-iron balcony with the nice view of the street. The furniture and lighting were stylish, and the shower was pure joy. Damn, what a deal!

Room Tip: I don't imagine you can go wrong with room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely place - the owner has AMAZING taste in furniture and lighting and has done a really nice job. If this was a shop I'd want to buy everything - it's all gorgeous mid century furniture and vintage lighting with lots of lovely touches like vintage coat racks and old advertising posters, old paintings and plants.

The area seems slightly dodgy at first (but that goes for most of Marseille!) but it's not so bad once you get used to it and the location is good - about 2 mins to station, 15 min walk to the old port - 5/10 mins to Cours Julian. We parked our car in the underground car park 2 mins away think it was 12 euros a day (it smelled really bad but was very secure and the staff very helpful)

The room was really big and spacious and felt really comfy and homely. The ceilings are really high with lovely big windows. Nice shower too. We were on the ground floor with a small terrace that we didn't use but was nice to look onto. The only thing I would say was that as the room was a little dark during the day as it looks onto an internal courtyard so if we stayed again I think I would ask for a higher room with a balcony for a bit more light.

Breakfast was about 3 min walk round the corner at a local restaurant. Again you can tell the owner used to own this as the decoration is very retro and very tasteful. It has a really nice french feel and the staff were lovely. The breakfast itself is not very exciting - coffee or tea with bread, jam, cornflakes and small OJ but I think that's the norm here? (in UK you would probably get a cooked breakfast in a B&B)

Me and husband both really liked it, we are from London and in our late 30's and had considered Mamma Shelter but stayed here instead. Glad we did as it had so much more personality and was great value for money. Will definitely come back if we ever return to Marseille.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at Pension Eidelweiss in Marseille and the owner, Bernadette, made us feel so welcome and was very kind. She went out of her way to help us and I would recommend the pension to anyone who likes a quiet location - only a short walk to the Vieux Port and minutes from Gare Saint Charles. Rooms full of character and charm!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livvy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The combination of beautiful furnishings and the highest quality bed I've slept in, with Bernadette's personality made this the most wonderful hotel. Unreservedly recommended. The location finds itself useful for the cities sights and also the rail station for access, with the place acting as a haven amongst the hectic happenings in this underrated city.

Room Tip: The Superior Suite is worth the nominal additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Arrived in Marseille without booking and the lady who was just leaving was nice enough to call her boss and to organise a room for us and not only that they gave it to us at a discounted rate because there were only two of us for the room for 4 people. Also she sat down with a map and pointed out all the local hotspots and basically gave us a free rundown of everything to do which was brilliant service in my opinion. Rooms were warm and clean and was close enough to walk to pretty much everything. Lots of places to eat nearby and breakfast was really good and especially for one included in the price. If we ever get back to Marseille will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#6 of 131 in Marseille
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mama Shelter Marseille
Mama Shelter Marseille
#10 of 131 in Marseille
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Edelweiss

Property: La Pension Edelweiss
Address: 6 rue la Fayette, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Pension Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing