We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations!”
Review of Old Port

Old Port
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.13*
and up
Small-Group Marseille Panoramic Tour from Aix-en-Provence
More Info
US$41.49*
and up
Private Tour: Street Art, Food and History Tour in Marseille
More Info
US$41.48*
and up
Marseille Electric Bike Tour
Ranked #4 of 241 things to do in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marseille's old port, once a great commercial center for boats arriving from Africa, has recently experienced a dramatic revitalization as a destination for cruise ships.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

To be very honest, from reading a lot of information on-line about Marseilles, I started to think I had made a big mistake in booking a one week's trip. How wrong I was! I thoroughly enjoyed my time here, especially the Vieux Port area.

Vibrant, interesting, a beautiful harbour with some fine yachts, restaurants galore, plenty of shops and a good daily market - plus lots of sunshine. Who could ask for more?

I found the Vieux Port area very safe at all times of the day; just like other major European cities you have to take the usual common-sense precautions to protect your personal belongings.

This is certainly an area I would re-visit without any hesitation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,751
    2,321
    614
    134
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
620 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have visited the old port of Marseille before, but wasn't really impressed. This time however it was different. I can't really be very specific regarding what changed in my perspective, but I was impressed. I found it to be amazing, breath-taking and very traditional-looking. Take a stroll and enjoy every possible view spot. There are also many tasteful tourist shops with the local traditional soap being their major product for sale, maybe overpriced. It is really nice and I hope you visit the port in a sunny day, since the sunlight will add significantly to its beauty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ilGrec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
1,432 reviews
951 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of boats”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a relatively large harbor area there are all sorts of boats to be seen but it seems very old and in a state of disrepair that is beyond help

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,242 reviews
676 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,255 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I really liked this area of Marseille. Great for wandering around and seeing what's going on. Lovely views of the harbour and all of the boats. Lots of good shops nearby and restaurants too. We booked a boat tour to the Calanques National Park from here which was well worth it. Very scenic and lovely to see.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lively and interesting.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lots to see here, we sat near the port and ate kebabs and burgers (very classy!!!) then had a wander around. A group of guys playing the drums enticed some children to dance, smiles all round! We walked along some stalls selling soap, jewellery, glace fruits etc. Nice sights and smells, not sure about the lady playing the harmonica. Finished the evening at The Queen Vic on the front, drinking wine, watching the sun go down and taking in the atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Port also viewed

 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Old Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing