We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

So this is the first time I'm making a review for a hostel since I know how big of help it is knowing the reviews of other people before checking in.

If you're looking for an affordable and decent hostel then you've found the right one. I, together with my boyfriend and my friend checked in for a shared room and it was spacious! The only problem we had is I guess the aircondition. Wasn't so cold at night except maybe when your bed is facing the aircondition itself.

Staffs are friendly, once, I asked the staff at the middle of the night for something and that person really took time to help me find what Im looking for.

Breakfast is small but decent, cereals, bread, coffee, tea, just a little something to fill you up in the morning. Good part is you can use their kitchen if you want to prepare your own food.

There is also a Casino supermarket one minute away from the hostel, and the port is also around 5 minutes from it. All good!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
remy v, Responsable réception at Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

THANK YOU for your nice comment!
I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards,

Remy (Front Desk Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at this hostel for just one night but I found it clean and loaded with everything a traveler might need. The rooms were spacious, next to each bed there were TWO plugs which came in super handy. Lockers for everyone as well (no padlock included). The kitchen and common room are huge and super inviting to just hang out and chill. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is located in the Old Port area, safe and full of restaurants. The only con was that my shower seemed to be stuck and began overflowing, but I don't think this is a regular issue. The facilities look new and well kept. Strong wi-fi signal.

Definitely recommended for a decent price too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarlettDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
remy v, Responsable réception at Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you very much!
It's great to know that you had a nice stay.
See you next time.

Remy (Front Desk Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

its a nice little hostel right off the old port..close to some bustling bistros..it provides a small breakfast which is decent, good wi fi connection in the room, bathrooms are inside the room..i had a 4 bed dorm...was worth the price..very helpful staff..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jafferhusein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked a four-bed female dorm for three nights - after one night:

Pros:
- Small breakfast is included.
- Staff were friendly and helpful
- Strong wifi connection in my room.
- Bathroom and toilet located inside the dorm (Beds upstairs, bathroom downstairs)
- Quiet spacious rooms, mine has a skylight!
- Close to tourist areas
- Free luggage storage
- LIDL next door so you can easily buy snacks or cook dinner, but also close to some good restaurants.

Cons:
- My blanket had an assortment of hair from other travellers on it. Don't think it's been washed for a while. Ended up sleeping under my sheet and jacket.
- The walk from the metro station is uphill up a narrow back street. Fine in the day, but could be quite scary at night. Be prepared for a workout if you have lots of luggage.
- The walls are quite thin, could hear the conversations and kisses of people walking past in the corridors and the sound of other occupants zipping up their luggage.
- No printer
- In my opinion, a bit overpriced for what you get.

Probably wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are closest to the kitchen.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This place was a little out of the way, but good.

We booked a twin with and ensuite which was in another building. The building had easy access and you could bypass reception by going in through the driveway. Good open kitchen and sitting area with tv and games. Quiet, clean rooms and good wifi. the staff were polite, but like all Europeans a little standoffish.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The hostel has a very nice atmosphere the staff is nice and helpful but the rooms were filthy. I don't think the blankets had been washed in two years and there were random different colored length and colored hairs in my bed. The cleaning lady tried to clean our room one day but failed to do so because we were sleeping (our fault) but after that she was not seen for the other 3 nights we stayed there. I would recommend this hostel if you have no where else to stay but bring your own linen and blankets.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Was going to stay at hostel marseille but was full. Was sent here. Six bed was 22 euro with .90 euro city tax. 6 bed room is Huuughee. Has bathroom and shower. Plenty of plugs. Breakfast was cereal, oj, milk, banquettes and coffee. Far from train station in an okay part of town.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank MountainManTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port

Address: 38 rue Fort Notre Dame, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Marseille
Price Range: £23 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best hostel in France for 2011 by Hostelworld customers! As for Vertigo Centre that opened in 2007 , you can find the feeling of a second home here. We're located in the Old Port area, walking distance from beaches, bars, clubs, the central market and the famous Notre Dame church. We offer charming two-, three-, four-, five- and six-bed rooms. All of our dorms are very clean and equipped with comfy wooden bunk beds, private shower and toilet facilities. The five- and six-bed dorms are equipped with two private bathrooms. Every room in our hostel is carefully designed and decorated by local artists according to the unique character of each room. Our building was renovated from two typical buildings which makes for a modern cosy atmosphere, while at the same time it has the feel of a typical Marseillean house. We offer a ton of free amenities, such as breakfast, Wi-Fi, linen, a fully-equipped kitchen with free spices, city maps, personal travel info, use of our travel guidebooks, luggage storage, book swap and a valuables safe at reception - all for free! Our friendly, caring and multi-lingual staff are here 24hrs a day to answer all your questions. We'll try our best to make you have a memorable stay in our hostel and in Marseille. And of course there's no curfew, no lockout and no stupid rules! We'll make sure that you feel like you're home here. After you have been either on the road all day, or walking around in the city, you'll be able to relax in our cosy and friendly common areas, have a drink, talk and make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing