We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AC let them down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“AC let them down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The welcome upon arrival was a great first impression for this hotel. The front desk staff were always helpful and friendly to deal with. The location was perfect with amzing views and a short walk to markets, restaurants and transport. The breakfast buffet was pleasant and tasty. We tried to book into the restaurant associated with the hotel but it just got too hard - would not do a plain pasta for our children and we could not order the special as someone else the only night we had available already ordered it! It was hot weather and the air conditioning was struggling - the staff offered us one pedestal fan for the two bedroom apartment. Unfortunately on the last night the air conditioning broke down completely and left us with a poor last impression.

Room Tip: The rooms on level two do not have balconies although the doors on the front open to a railing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    257
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
125
380
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Views great yes, but there are many other hotels in Marseille Vieux Port with great views, e.g. Hotel Mercure Beauveau, Alize, Tonic etc. all of which we have stayed in. None was as disappointing as this one. Chambre superieure room was minuscule! Barely room for the bed in the room, never mind the two of us plus luggage - extremely disappointing. Asked to upgrade (& pay for) better room but none available for any of our 6 night stay! Would not say again. Aside from size of room, hotel is average, except of course for the great view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in a Club Room (room number 705) overlooking the Old Port which has been recently renovated so is quite a lovely port to view and walk along.
Small, semi private balcony with amazing views of the Old Port and the Notre-Dame de la Garde in the distance - beautiful vista day and night.
Comfortable bed with a nice effort in creating a 50's vibe in the rooms.
We were only there three nights but enjoyed the markets on the Old Port and the Pannier (around the corner is is the old part of the city, sadly a lot of graffiti but still charming in its own way). The hotel restaurant was only open on one night of our stay and we had already booked elsewhere but it looked beautiful. For a romantic dinner and a truly memorable dining experience book at L'Epuisette www.l-epuisette.fr/ pricey but worth ever euro.

Room Tip: Club room with a Port view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3debw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Europe
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Residence du Vieux Port is a really friendly, well located hotel. Stayed in the top floor suite for 2 nights. Very clean, great bathroom and room terrace. Pretty squeaky floors but nothing to complain about. The location and the 50's style of design really work and hanging out on the ground level terrace is nice way to pass the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just stayed for one night but our room with balcony and view of the port meant we could make the most of our stay in this fantastic city. Lovely bathroom and bedroom, and extra space and chairs on our balcony.

Room Tip: Worth paying for view of the old port
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrvpm, Directeur général at Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback and I am particularly glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Marseille, we firmly believe that word of mouth is the most powerful form of referral out there so thank you again.
We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Résidence du Vieux Port.

Kind regards
Emmanuel Ramoleux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the Residence du Vieux Port on the night of Bastille Day and were very impressed with everything. The restaurant Le Relais 50 is worthy of its very good reviews (delicious food and stunning presentation), and the young staff members there are some of the friendliest I have come across in my time in France (and I have lived here for 4 years). The view is just sublime, and a real treat even for someone like me who has lived in Marseille for a while. The staff were friendly (special mention to Eric who was so helpful in completing my booking over the phone when the internet booking system proved not quite so easy to chose a specific room) for the most part, and the only disappointment we had was getting a staff member who lacked a little initiative the day I made our dinner booking for the restaurant (booked via the hotel): we were told that we couldn't have a table for 9, and we would have had to find another solution in the area had we not asked if we could have a table of 4 and a table of 5 (this hadn't occurred to the staff member as a possible solution - it seems crazy on their part to lose such a big booking for such a trivial reason!). This solution worked OK, but it was slightly frustrating to see that others had been more successful in their request for larger-group bookings: we saw two tables of 8, so it seems not to be the problem we were told it would be. But we are so glad we were able to book, because the food (and the location) really was amazing. Overall, a faultless experience! The beds have to be amongst the most comfortable I've ever slept in, the rooms are really quiet despite being right on the port, breakfast was very good, and the food at the restaurant really does stand out as the exception to the rule of average food on the Vieux Port. Merci!

Room Tip: The 5th floor suite gives you an amazing view out over the port. We thought it might feel a bit low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrvpm, Directeur général at Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Mirijane
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at La Résidence du Vieux Port and that the location, the service and the dinner (and maybe, the amazing firework we had for the Bastille Day ?) were to your liking, you pointed out our strengths as well as the areas we could improve on. Thank you for your objectivity .I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the team.
I very much hope to welcome you to La Résidence again soon.
With kind regards
Emmanuel Ramoleux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Wanted to like this place. View from the room was gorgeous, staff were friendly (spoke good English) and the restaurant at the front (Relais 50) was good. Alas, it is in the midst of summer where temperatures reach mid 30's celcius BUT the airconditioning in the entire hotel was not functioning. Wanted to check out but was assured that it would be repaired. My mistake and paid the price.

We did get a refund of approx 10% if the cost of our stay, which was measly given the discomfort but we were leaving anyway after 3 nights. Can't recommend this place unless they get the infrastructure basics right. To me, that's good airconditioning in summer.

Room Tip: Port view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HennersChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrvpm, Directeur général at Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear HennersChan
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. I am incredibly disappointed that your visit with us was marred by the problems you experienced with the air conditioning. Please allow me to start by apologizing unreservedly for a situation that I know must have been incredibly frustrating.
We did indeed have a totally unanticipated problem with the air-conditioning unit which could only be rectified the following Monday, mostly due to parts that we needed to procure. Unfortunately this was totally unforeseen and could not have been prevented at the time; however I can only imagine your discomfort and can only apologize for the situation.

Please accept my apologies once again and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel La Résidence du vieux Port
Emmanuel ramoleux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
0.5 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel 96
Hotel 96
#1 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port

Property: Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Address: 18 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#4 Family Hotel in Marseille
#5 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Residence du Vieux Port Marseilles" is on the south bank of the famous Old Port, and offers stunning views of the waterfront whatever the time of year.At the rear you can see the breathtaking Notre-Dame de la Garde cathedral, perched on the top of the hill overlooking the city.Every room in our hotel has been newly renovated with a chic 50s retro feel, blending style and comfort. Most of our rooms have a balcony overlooking the Old Port and the Basilica.... Big flat tv, International channels, mini-bar, spacious bathroom, with L'Occitane en Provence products.And if you are looking for delicious food with high quality service, you need only to step into our adjoining restaurant Le Relais 50.It is the perfect hotel for your stay in Marseille: Ideally, a very good standard and a high quality service that have won our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Residence Du Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing