We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seen from the Inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Seen from the Inside”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the outside this hotel looks a little grey and down at heel. But all is different once inside: our room (fifth floor) was spacious, comfortable and colourful, the view of the Vieux Port and ND de la Garde superb. The breakfast buffet was varied and of high quality, and we found the staff very friendly. The location is terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a port view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montgomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    267
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
133
397
41
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

One of the best things about this hotel is its location. It is on perhaps the best side of the port, provides some of the most wonderful views of Marseille and is within easy reach of many sites and attractions. A lot of good places to eat and drink are within comfortable walking distance. The breakfast offering at the hotel is mainly continental although there are some hot food options and the breakfast room itself is welcoming; it has a balcony overlooking the port with a few tables on it and so a must in the sunshine. Rooms facing the port may be subject to a little street noise but nothing unpleasant and rooms with a balcony are smaller as a result but comfortable. A clean hotel and the staff are great, very friendly and helpful. Many reasons to stay here again when returning to Marseille.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the port may be subject to a little street noise but nothing unpleasant and the views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingo_P3te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Staff are excellent, helpful and friendly.

Hotel is perfectly located on the quieter side of the port yet next to suitable restaurants, cafe etc. decoration is a little load and colourful but tasteful and holding up, as with other reviewers maybe a little dated but holding itself well.

If you're a big breakfast eater you may not enjoy the breakfast. It's continental with some hot options but not and extensive selection. Was just right for me.

All in all a friendly welcoming hotel and staff, very recommendable.

Room Tip: Rooms without a balcony offer larger rooms but still have doors opening to the front of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Best spot on the quai. Odd hotel. 70's design with loud interiors. Good bar and restaurant. Bedrooms can be noisy at the front but a lot better when you close the balcony door. Bed very comfortable. Bathroom is a little outdated and the shower is truly odd - due to a very low ceiling in this area the shower head is at groin height. The wifi is poor and needs attention. The signal was very intermittant and low grade. But this hotel has the best location with bus stops right outside and a wealth of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Go right to numbers 135 etc where the young hang out. Its a great part of the quai.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Right on the Quais of the old port, this hotel, is by it´s staff a very confortable place to be in Marseille. The rooms with their large windows overlooking the marina , the Fort St-jean and Notre-Dame de la Garde, is unique. The rooms are of a very modern style, could I say "à la Miro".
Try also their very good restaurant. . You may leave this place with regrtets.

Room Tip: Front views of the Quais
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is a super hotel. It's clean, comfortable, stylish and the bedrooms are large,light and airy with a great view of the old port. The air con works well and is quiet, as are the rooms thanks to the traffic changes in Marseille.
The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.
We had lunch and dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious as was the local wine recommended by our waiter.
There was a kettle in the room, a holiday must for us. The toiletries in the bathroom were high quality. The water was piping hot and the shower worked very well.
The WiFi was free and you just logged on without the irritating need to keep re-signing in.
Marseille is a very vibrant city and this hotel is within easy access of all the best bits!
We hope to go back next month for another breath of sea air.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

As l was only staying in Marseilles for the night l decided to treat myself and forked out a bit more than usual for this hotel. I was given a room on the top floor and l felt l was staying in a penthouse. The colour sceme was a little eclectic for my taste (a bit too much bright yellow for me) but my room was huge, my bed was huge, my bath was huge, even my Sony TV was huge (it must have been a 50 inche screen at least). I also had a private balcony with the perfect view of the port below and Notre Dame de la Garde. It was a shame l wasn't staying there for a few more nights to enjoy it all.
The breakfast buffet was fine but nothing amazing, just the usual continental choices, although there was a hot chocolate maker which was novel.
Clean and cheerful, perfect location, perfect view.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 1975Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrvpm, Directeur général at Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us at La Résidence du Vieux Port.
I was so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the size of your room, bed, bathroom, and TV , ( If i have to remember a word , it will be "Huge" ) .
I am happy that you found our location so convenient and hope we will be at the forefront of your mind when planning your next trip to Marseilles
My best wishes
Emmanuel Ramoleux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port

Property: Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Address: 18 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Family Hotel in Marseille
#5 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Residence du Vieux Port Marseilles" is on the south bank of the famous Old Port, and offers stunning views of the waterfront whatever the time of year.At the rear you can see the breathtaking Notre-Dame de la Garde cathedral, perched on the top of the hill overlooking the city.Every room in our hotel has been newly renovated with a chic 50s retro feel, blending style and comfort. Most of our rooms have a balcony overlooking the Old Port and the Basilica.... Big flat tv, International channels, mini-bar, spacious bathroom, with L'Occitane en Provence products.And if you are looking for delicious food with high quality service, you need only to step into our adjoining restaurant Le Relais 50.It is the perfect hotel for your stay in Marseille: Ideally, a very good standard and a high quality service that have won our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Residence Du Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing