We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price to quality.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN La Joliette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN La Joliette
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great price to quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you'v ever been to south of France you probably know, that finding good place for reasonable money is quite a challenge. This hotel is a bingo!
Located close by to City Center of Marseille - with around 10-15min walk to old port nearby Metro station and several buses available I believe it's a good location,
Hotel has been nicely renovated and interiors are fresh, clean and very modern, that is unique in France. Hotel rooms are quite small, for most of us very small especially if you compare it to US standards, but on again, if you have ever visited Provence this is a regular size hotel room.
In some opinions I found some complaints about neighborhood hotel is located in in particular in evenings and at nights. Again, if you know France, you should know, that this is usual. If you want to stay in big city like Marseille, you need to get used to it, and remember that on Mondays there is not much choice of open places in the city. Hotel has 24/7 roomsevice available.

I can easily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good price for a modern, clean, renovated place, close to city center. If you spend your time outside, checking out the city go for it. If you need a big comfortable room to spend time in - that is not a place for you.

And one more thing. Exceptional, helpful, nice, English speaking reception available 24/7. If you need anything I am sure they will helps you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IltellYouWhenIfindIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Greetings,

We are glad reading you spend a nice stay with us, and even more to read your staff comment. Many thanks for them !

It sounds like you're used to travel in Marseille so please do not hesitate in coming back at teh Best Western la Joliette, it will be a pleasure to receive you agin !

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    123
    34
    18
    1
See reviews for
17
97
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Finding a nice hotel at a decent rate in the middle of a new burstling business downtown is always a challenge.

This Best Western hotel is modern, the rooms are nice and well designed. Room service is available 24/7 and the morning breakfast is generous.

More important, if you come to Marseille on a business trip, this hotel is within walking distance of Euromediterranee district.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Michael,

Thanks for your remarks about our hotel.
Wishing to greet you again for your next Marseille's trip.

Sincerely,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a short holiday in Marseille and made a good decision to stay at La Joliette. I was quite happy with the location - it's a really short walk to the metro, tram and bus stops and about a 15-minute walk to the main station - St.Charles. Plus, there are a few bike rental stops very close, and boulangeries. There are a few places to get a nice lunch in the area during weekdays, but for dinner it's necessary to go for a bit of a walk (try the Cours Julien).
The staff were friendly and allowed us to attempt our franglais before seeing our passports/pink faces and demonstrating their superior English. We were allowed to leave our bags after checking out on the last day, helpfully. The room looked like the photos and provided everything we needed including real hangers (not those anti-theft ones) and a little fridge with some room for my yoghurts. (We decided not to have the buffet breakfast - I always end up eating too much and would definitely have done that at €13!) I wasn't too impressed with the view - just of another building's windows, but I can't imagine there could be a better view considering the building's location. The only tiny faults with the room would be that the en suite didn't have a proper door, so there was a little gap with potential for viewing your partner on the toilet, and the toilet was so high off the ground I couldn't reach the floor (this may be due to my short legs, but it's definitely higher than the toilets I'm used to). These tiny faults were more amusing than actual inconveniences - in general, a perfectly good room in a great location for exploring Marseille and the area by foot or public transport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Hello,

Many thanks for taking some of your time leaving a commentary.
If you plane to come back to see us, we have a 5€/person continental breakfast served for people like you who don't want to eat too much at morning time... You should try it.

Again a big thanks for your comment.

Kind Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Bit noisy at night with people walking round the corridors. The area is central and an easy walk/tram/subway in to the main areas or train station although maybe not the nicest (is anywhere in Marseille?). Staff were very polite. Room was very small but nicely furbished and clean.

This is a franchise Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking time filling this survey.

You should know that the all part of Marseille is currently on labour but if you come back in one or two years you’re going to love it for sure!

Really hoping to greeting you at the Best Western hotel la Joliette for your next trip in Marseille.

Best Regards,


Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
225 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great pied a terre for Marseille exploring. Hotel was clean, friendly, not too expensive for 4 star status ( check out discounts!) Advantage of hd tv and ipod docks ! Not great for local area nightlife/bars but nothing a short walk won't sort.............

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Greetings,

Thanks for your comment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe for your next trip in Marseille the area won't be in labour anymore.
You'll enjoy this brand new area for sure: shops, plenty of restaurants, cinema...

Kind Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Arrived after dark... All nearby restaurants closed... Advised to walk thru questionable route to port for open restaurants. Opted to go to bed hungry. Room cramped... Minimal surface space... Needed to place luggage on only chair. Wi-if inoperable. Remote broken.......... NO HOT WATER FOR MORNING SHOWER!
Terrible experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob29407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Greetings,

I am terribly sorry reading your comment.
Is true that for the moment there are only few restaurants opened nearby at night, that's why the receptionist told you to walk to the 300 restaurants located 10/15minutes (walking distance) to the hotel.
I'm sorry you get to bed hungry, because we have a 24hours room service at the hotel which has been created for that kind of situation.
As far as the remote was concerned we always have new ones at reception but forgive us because you saw that it was broken before us.
For the morning cold shower I only can apology for the trouble, but I really understand your dissatisfaction.

I will really enjoy greeting you again at the Best Western la Joliette to change your mind about the hotel.
If one day you intend to come back, I and all the staff at the Best Western la Joliette will do our best to make you enjoy your stay this time!


Best Regards,

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

A brand new hotel in an old building. The rooms are spacious and excellently kept, everything brand new.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Only item I found less than perfect was the breakfast buffet which could have been more ample and have a wider assortment of things to offer for the price they charge (15 euros).
Location of the hotel is also excellent, 10 minutes walk to the old port. If one does not want to walk, the metro is 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWJoliette, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN La Joliette, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Hello!

We thank you for your comment that helped us to improve our breakfast buffet.
We do have now more kind of products and in 2012 breakfast rate will even get cheaper: 13€ instide of 15€ !

Wishing to greet you again.

Chantal Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
#37 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#17 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.2 mi away
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
#51 of 130 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN La Joliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN La Joliette

Property: BEST WESTERN La Joliette
Address: 49 avenue Robert Schuman, 13002 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN La Joliette 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of Marseille, between the Vieux port, the harbor and down town, it become so easy to get into la Joliette, by any way choose.Underground and tram stations put on the hotel at only 5mn to St Charles station, and 10mn from the Vieux port. Many monuments as the Littoral boulevard, La Major Cathedral, the Docks of Marseille are both part on making this area plenty of live.The Hotel la Joliette is a charming and standing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN La Joliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing