We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good”
Review of New Hotel Bompard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Bompard
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here at the recommendation of colleagues for a work conference held at the Pharo Palace. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Restaurant only open certain hours for food, and about 30 minutes walk to Pahro and downtown/tourist area so one must plan accordingly. Limited menu but excellent quality food. Stay here if you want quieter, smaller hotel experience and not if you want to be right in the action of downtown or if you want the convenience of a larger hotel chain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear customer, thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel Bompard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

First night they gave us a room in the old building. Dark, old and unconfortable. Next day we gave them an ultimatum and change was made to the new building. The new roam was a 4 STAR quality.
The breakfast with good quality, and you have to serve yourself.
Very nice gardens and patio.
The location is far from any attraction, but the public bus route 61, takes you to the old port, and you can take it nearby.

Room Tip: Dont let them accommodate you in the old building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Marseille is not a city but a composite of villages and neighborhoods. This quiet residential area is a rest from the crowded center, and the hotel a restful anding ground with swimming pool, flowery garden , a parking area and cigales galore. Service is...french. expect waits and attitude, but actually friendly. And room quality varies: ask for a garden side renovated room. For those who don't like walking (up and downhill) it can feel a bit out of the way. Otherwise, it's great and not far from Endoume and Vallon des Aufres, real old Marseille villages with good restaurants.

In Marseille, do not look for beaches (if you need one, there is always the boring Prado) but head down to the rocks and enjoy diving into the fresh waters. For a lovely day out of town, head for the Calanques. All is within bus reach, as long as you can walk and up and down the beach. All right, the city is not for everybody. An addictive acquired taste though.

Room Tip: ask for a garden side renovated room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderpaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Directeur at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If the location is lovely, the staff has failed.
Whether the host or the staff in charge of breakfast, there is actually a concern.
The breakfast is not worth the price or the standard of the hotel.
I strongly inadvisable this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Christophe D.
We are doing our best to satisfy our guests and are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

No noise except the "cigales". A lot of sun around the Swiming pool.
Rooms 500 and 502 are particulary nice, bathroom very spacious and very typical (Provence)
10 mn walk to go to the sea and 15mn with the bus to go inside the town, so nice place to be

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

An earlier review said you needed a car. You don't. Take the 61 bus from very close to the Vieux Port! I wish I'd asked about this earlier - or maybe they should have told me: taxis are expensive. You can get a good deal if you buy a special transport ticket - I think you can get 24-hour or several-day versions. Sorry I can't remember the name of the bus-stops (different names if you're coming FROM Marseille centre or going TO Marseille centre) but both stops are just yards from the hotel.

This, for me, makes the hotel a blissful place to stay in Marseille and I shall certainly consider it for future stays in Marseille - a great city/town. It's quiet - really quiet - but very stylish. My room was very comfortable - and I loved the HERMES toiletries (which I'd previously known at the SOFITEL Vieux Port at about three times the price for my room!)

The food is fine - though perhaps a bit limited. Breakfast very acceptable with "viennoiseries" from a local supplier. Lunch and dinner menus not wildly exciting but every dish done well. (I especially enjoyed my gazpacho andalou.)

Drinks: the small wine list is interesting but I really think they should offer some of them by the carafe rather than by the glass. For a single guest a whole bottle may be too much - but buying by the glass will be expensive.

I'd certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your nice comment. Indeed, the location of the hotel is great even if you don't have a car. We have taken note of your remarks to improve our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I loved the modern rooms, the hidden and huge swimming pool, the breakfast was served in the garden which is fantastic to start the morning, I like the quiet area, safe parking and overall good quality / pricing.



  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
New Hotel Of Marseille
#17 of 131 in Marseille
878 reviews
Petit Nice Passedat
#35 of 131 in Marseille
334 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 131 in Marseille
1,473 reviews
Le Rhul
#55 of 131 in Marseille
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Bompard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Bompard

Address: 2 rue des Flots Bleus, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#25 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £82 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Bompard 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Bompard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing