We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting Marseille w car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Marseille Est
Ranked #81 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 23 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ales v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is well located on the outskirts of Marseille with a good sized swimming pool making it ideal for our family break of four nights. A car is a must to get around (no local bus links) to Marseille and local restaurants. Secure car parking at the front of the hotel.

We selected this hotel due to the size of the pool and it was certainly enjoyed by our family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We would not recommend this hotel at all. Entrance, bar and restaurant look just fine, but the room was terrible. It wasn't clean at all.
The only thing which is good here, is the staff. They are very friendly and really helpful.
If you have another option, take it and don't stay here. We stayed one night here because we didn't have any other options.
This hotel is certainly not worth its stars.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Novotel Marsaille Est for a night as we drove from Avignon to Juan Les Pins. Needing a place to rest we stopped at the Novotel knowing it was a reputable chain and should be fine for a night. Now here's the thing, fast asleep at 2am i woke up to my partner screaming her lungs out as there stood a man at the end of our bed. Without time to think I sprung up and jostled the guy out of the room. After calming my gf down who was in hysterics i ran down to reception to tell them that we just had a man in our room....now get this... the night reception guy said he gave him a key because he said he was staying in the room!! Seriously?! I inquired what he said to prove this and the receptionist said that he told him his wife was asleep in the room and he didn't have a key. SO THE GUY GAVE HIM A KEY NO QUESTIONS ASKED! Seriously what kind of person gives someone a key without proving who they are? I started to think this was no coincidence and asked to call the police which took some convincing of the receptionist (all the more making me suspicious of his intent) I eventually got the feeling he was more worried about not getting into trouble with either the police or his boss than resolving the situation. Not once did he apologise for what he did and with the intruder nowhere to be seen the police couldn't do much since we were ok and nothing was stolen. Still very shaken and getting no sleep after the event we couldn't wait to check out.
Upon checking out we finally got an apology from the nice girl on reception and the manager who explained to us that apparently the man had got his room mixed up. Interesting as now the night receptionist had told his manager this and not us. Either way if this was true the incompetence shown by the night receptionist was ridiculous. Needless to say we didn't pay for the room but surprisingly we had to pay for our dinner in the restaurant because as the manager explained it was the fault of the hotel accom not the restaurant...go figure. I've stayed in many Novotel hotels (and other Accor hotels) all over the world and this is the worst experience I've had in any hotel. If you stay there i suggest you ask their policy for giving out room keys.
If you don't care to much for your safety and personal belongings here's the other stuff; free wifi in room, pretty decent restaurant in an area of the city with not much obvious choices other than fast food, rooms are decent size but very very dated. No chains on door and as i found out no internal privacy lock. Pool looks decent enough if the weather is right. Good luck

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrCoverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were driving across France and decided to break up our trip outside Marseille and found the Novotel which had rooms available that night. Having stayed at many Novotel properties around the world you expect a certain level of accommodation and service and this one unfortunately did not live up to the brands promise.

The reception and bar/restaurant/pool area are all good, well kept and we enjoyed drinks in the pool area prior to dinner in the restaurant which was also quite good with good polite service too.

The rooms are very dated, they look like a 1980's motel in the country that hasn't been renovated since it was built. The corridors and stairs etc have stains on the carpet and a smell of damp that is most unpleasant to walk around.

Our non smoking room also smelt of old smoke covered with a lot of air freshener. The bathroom was also very old and dated, with a mouldy shower curtain, not what I expect of a Novotel.

We did however have an unpleasant incident in the middle of the night when we awoke to a strange man standing at the end of our bed resulting in a terrifying experience at 2am.
After getting him out of the room and speaking to reception the reception staff said they had given him a key because he 'looked ok and had demanded one as had lost his and his wife was asleep inside' with no more request for indentification this is apparently how he ended up in our room, pacing around in the dark at 2am....very bizarre.

Anyway, long story short, police were called, nothing was taken and the next morning the reception staff had a well rehearsed apology saying the man was a guest who got his room number wrong and the reception man had given him a key to our room mistakenly.

Whatever the story is, reception staff should not be giving out room key cards to anyone at 2am or anytime for that matter without a request for more i.d. There was no chain on our rooms door and the extra lock did not work either. Both these things may have prevented a terrifying experience. Needless to say the incident left a very sour taste in our mouths regarding Novotel's safety and security measures towards their customers and also made us wary during our stay at other hotels, asking of their security measures etc for the rest of our trip and being on edge every night for the rest of the trip in other properties.

We did ask to speak to the manager the morning we checked out, who reassured us this was an isolated incident and does not happen regularly, and compensated us with our nights accommodation for free (we still had to pay for our meals though because it was 'not the restaurants fault') Regardless, we had an awful experience which you do not expect to have when you stay in any hotel and especially not one you would think would have policies and procedures in place being an international chain with many business people and families staying. We will think carefully before choosing Novotel again anywhere unless we can be reassured these incidents do not happen and their staff do not give out room keys to just anyone.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker and can get a room that doesn't smell of smoke then you're luckier t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel was very good, staff were friendly and spoke good english, the breakfast was "amazing" really really nice and so much choice. The hotel was well equipped with lovely out door pool which was cleaned every morning and plenty of sunbeds, it also had a cafe area in the hotel entrance, which was nice! In a great location 7 miles from marseille town and 10 mis away from beautiful cassis. Here comes the "but" the bedroom itself was filthy, i found sweets on the floor under the table and the toilet was very smelly and clearly had not seen bleach in a long time, a shame as everything else was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My Businesspartner and i have been there for a few Days, due our Company had several Conferences in the near Area. We both can say, that the Novotel Hotel is really good and all Services have been good. There was also Businesscenter available, wich was well outfitted. We also have been two Times in the Restaurant and also there, we did get a very high Standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopronojet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
5.6 mi away
Kyriad Marseille Blancarde - Timone
6.9 mi away
Adagio Marseille Prado Plage
Adagio Marseille Prado Plage
#74 of 132 in Marseille
345 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ibis Marseille Bonneveine Calanques Plages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome
7.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Marseille Euromed
6.7 mi away
Best Western Marseille Bonneveine Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Marseille Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Marseille Est

Address: 184 avenue de Saint Menet | Cedex 11, 13011 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £62 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Marseille Est 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Marseille Est La Valentine is a 3 star hotel, located 10 minutes from the Old Port and 15 minutes from the calanques, with direct access via the A50 motorway. Ideal for business trips, meetings and seminars, or for a getaway in Provence. Travelling solo or with your partner or family, relax and unwind with our swimming pool, tennis court, petanque area and playground. Free private car park with video surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Marseille Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Marseille
Marseille Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing