We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel, location, breakfast....very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Grossostheim, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hotel, location, breakfast....very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We reached this hotel by car. The entrance to the parking is in a different location, but easy to find once you know. It is in a seperate "high security" section of a public underground car park.

The woman at reception was extremely friendly and helpful, a clear PLUS.

The hotel is modern (after renovation) and clean. The rooms are clean, modern, for a city centre location of sufficient size. Not large...but good enough. The bathroom could be bigger, but again, it is a city centre location. At least it is clean and everything works.

We had a magnificant view from our rooms, towards the harbour and the church on the hill.

Being a Gold member of Le Club Accor Hotels I received an invitation for all of us for a welcome drink - very good.

To walk from the hotel to the harbour is easy and quick. Actually the entrance to a shopping centre is just next to the hotel entrance.

A real highlight of the hotel is the breakfast. France does not have the reputation of being a heaven for breakfast lovers....but this place is really good! One buffet is only for the hot drinks, various coffee, tea, etc. options...fantastic! A station where eggs are being freshly prepared to your liking by a cook...nice. Also all the other options on the various buffets are of good quality and quantity is not a problem. All over all a real benchmark for other hotels, not only in France!

Internet works for free....only issue the usual "login procedure"....which is annoying.

If I return to Marseille, I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for posting this positive feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Mercure Marseille centre Vieux Port,
and in particular the breakfast.
I have shared your kind words with my brilliant team.
We lookf forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards.

Serge Karlé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    544
    175
    49
    30
See reviews for
106
455
79
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marsacala, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in Mercure Marseille Centre hotel with my wife for a weekend at the beginning of December 2013. Before we made our reservations I read many of the reviews and was not sure if it was a good decision to stay in this hotel. With us we had only hand luggage so we decided to walk from St Charles train station to the hotel. It is only a 12 minute walk through 2 main roads. There is no way of missing the hotel which is next to the Bourse shopping centre. The people at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful. The room on the 9th floor was comfortable and clean. It only lacked the small amenities that go with a 4 star hotel, but our reservation was for a standard room, so that may explain this. The hotel is only about 6 minutes walk from Vieux Port. The breakfast consisted of both hot and cold sections. Not a big variety but of good quality. The hot section included scrambled eggs, sausages, baked potatoes, tomatoes, bacon and also a lady cook to make omelettes to guests preferences. There were other tables with cheese and smoked ham, fresh fruit and juices, oats and bran, tea and coffee, pancakes and bread, cakes and croissants. We would stay again in this hotel and surely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMarsacala_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel. very reasonable and very central - about ten minutes walk to the newly developed Port area. Shopping centre next door with a mini Lafeyette. They need a good restaurant. The bar serves some food but its in the fridge and limited. The barman heats it in microwave. Ok but 4 star hotel should have a restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The location is kind of iffy. The front entrance appeared to be on an alley - there were dumpsters, graffiti, and strong odors around. Once inside, the lobby was clean. They are clearly in the middle of renovations. The conference planner was assured last year that all renovations would be completed by Dec. '12 - but the lobby area and around the elevators were still obviously having drywall installed. The elevators held a max of 6 people, and half the time we were there only one was operating. The room we were in was very nice, with a comfortable bed. I loved the shower! The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a mall right next door, and the hotel is only a short walk down to the port. The meeting rooms were nice. The breakfast was excellent, although if you are on a gluten-free diet, your choices may be limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The staff at this hotel and the management has taken good care to stand out in a town which is the biggest in south France and has lot of options for travelers ,This makes it a cosy place right in the centre of Marseilles and you can get good deals if you contact them directly as the booking staff is also quite helpful and gives you lot of options to make you feel comfortable so u are comfortable before you have arrived as this is the 1st point of contact for any hotel for a traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GIRISH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port

Property: Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Address: 1 rue Neuve Saint Martin, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#13 Family Hotel in Marseille
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#18 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Marseille Centre has 199 rooms and is located next to the WTC convention center, just a short walk from the Jardin des Vestiges and 5 mins walk from the Vieux Port (old port). The hotel is 5 mins from St Charles TGV train station and 25 mins from the airport by highway. It has a bar and 11 meeting rooms. The hotel is part of the Bourse shopping center, which has over 100 shops. Paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Marseille Centre Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Euro Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing