We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suited our needs - close to the old port” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
lincs UK
Level Contributor
419 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Suited our needs - close to the old port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A short distance from the station, although we actually had a taxi. We were met by an extremely pleasant young female receptionist who knew that we were in fact staying one night & two nights over a four night period. We had quiet very practical rooms on the 3rd & 4th floors looking towards the Basilique Notre Dame. Good firm beds, kettle with some tea bags, TV that actually reduced the sound automatically when switched off, good bathroom, although shower over the bath - not my favourite.

A choice of breakfast, typical French - 4 Euros (weekdays near reception) & in main breakfast room on the second floor availble on Saturday & Sunday with full breakfact availble here.all week.

Whilst we had made a booking for a bouillabaise before our arrival in Marseille, the reception recommended a very good restaurant overlooking the Vieuw Port for another evening meal.Short distance to the old port & next to a large shopping centre - you can purchase extra water at La Fayette.

Well recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your good feedback.

See you soon in Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    544
    175
    49
    30
See reviews for
106
455
79
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

On the plus side:
+ Good and central location,
+ Private parking on site (was traveling with a motorbike so they didn't charge me -> very fair!
+ Hotel was comfortable and clean (what you would expect from a 4* hotel)

On the "down side"
- Poor wifi connection (at least in my room)
- A bit "impersonal" but well, it is a Mercure Hotel and at some point they all look alike

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fonzarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your feedback, and I am gald you enjoyed your trip.
I will do a check about WIFI because it is normaly very good.
I hope you will come back in Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

+
Central location,
clean, big rooms
nice view, only from top floors
-
bit doggy, surrounded by homeless people
cigarette smoke was ventilated to nonsmoking room via air condition
same breakfast every day with limited sortation

Room Tip: Choose on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_Balazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience in the room about cigarette smoke. I will check what’s wrong about that.
I am surprised about the breakfast, because this is a big buffet with a lot of choice.
Anyway, I hope you will be back in our nice city.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. After booking I heard nothing but bad reports about Marseille. The area on arriving looked run down and a bit scarey. But the hotel was clean and the staff very accommodating. It was a very short walk into the port area and we explored the area on the tourist bus.
The room was clean and quite comfortable. The room has a safe and a fridge so we could have cold water to take out with us.
The breakfast was good, hot and cold selections available. Local pastries and jams were tempting.
If we ever go back to Marseille I would have no hesitation in booking here again.
We had a brilliant weekend in Marseille, even the sun shone.
A big thank you to the staff who were so helpful and cheerful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,
I am so glad you enjoyed your trip in Marseille, and I thank you for your good feedback, I will share with my staff all your compliments.
I hope to welcome you during your next trip.
See you soon.
Best regards.
Serge Karlé.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is well located for the old port of Marseill. It's very comfortable and has polite, helpful staff. We didn't try the breakfast which is rather steep at 19 Euros as there are plenty of much cheaper options nearby. Try and get a room with a view of the old port and the Basilica.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, next time you should try our breakfast, it is realy very good !!

Please to see you soon.

Best regards.

Serge Karlé.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grossostheim, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We reached this hotel by car. The entrance to the parking is in a different location, but easy to find once you know. It is in a seperate "high security" section of a public underground car park.

The woman at reception was extremely friendly and helpful, a clear PLUS.

The hotel is modern (after renovation) and clean. The rooms are clean, modern, for a city centre location of sufficient size. Not large...but good enough. The bathroom could be bigger, but again, it is a city centre location. At least it is clean and everything works.

We had a magnificant view from our rooms, towards the harbour and the church on the hill.

Being a Gold member of Le Club Accor Hotels I received an invitation for all of us for a welcome drink - very good.

To walk from the hotel to the harbour is easy and quick. Actually the entrance to a shopping centre is just next to the hotel entrance.

A real highlight of the hotel is the breakfast. France does not have the reputation of being a heaven for breakfast lovers....but this place is really good! One buffet is only for the hot drinks, various coffee, tea, etc. options...fantastic! A station where eggs are being freshly prepared to your liking by a cook...nice. Also all the other options on the various buffets are of good quality and quantity is not a problem. All over all a real benchmark for other hotels, not only in France!

Internet works for free....only issue the usual "login procedure"....which is annoying.

If I return to Marseille, I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for posting this positive feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Mercure Marseille centre Vieux Port,
and in particular the breakfast.
I have shared your kind words with my brilliant team.
We lookf forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards.

Serge Karlé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port

Property: Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Address: 1 rue Neuve Saint Martin, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#13 Family Hotel in Marseille
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#18 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Marseille Centre has 199 rooms and is located next to the WTC convention center, just a short walk from the Jardin des Vestiges and 5 mins walk from the Vieux Port (old port). The hotel is 5 mins from St Charles TGV train station and 25 mins from the airport by highway. It has a bar and 11 meeting rooms. The hotel is part of the Bourse shopping center, which has over 100 shops. Paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Marseille Centre Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Euro Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing