We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel "inside" in a not so nice street "outside"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Mercure centre Hotel is a good Mercure Hotel, nice service inside. Well located, less than 5 minutes away from touristic area "le vieux port". Access street is not so nice at night, "strange" population may be encountered. This is the main con of this hotel, in my opinion. I went there on different occasions but never had a bad experience there, to say the truth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

There were several positives about the hotel and in some respects it beat our expectations a couple of probllems were signifcant enough to push it back down to average.
The location was better than we anticipated. It was a short walk to the Vieux Port - less than 5 minutes. The reception area and bar were bright and welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was generally OK although the wardrobe was on the small side. Extra hangers were provided at the second time of asking. We had a superb bottle of wine for only 20 Euros from the hotel bar. So good that we had another bottle on the following night(between 4 of us each time). We also had a dellicious but expensive salmon club sandwich from the bar.
But we had two problems with the room. The first and most important was that the beds were not that comfortable. So we didn't sleep as well as we should have. The second was with the bathroom where the bath had a plastic lip over the rim of the bath. This collected water as we showered and deposited it on the bathroom floor. Design for appearance sake with no thought regarding practicality.
But all in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A short distance from the station, although we actually had a taxi. We were met by an extremely pleasant young female receptionist who knew that we were in fact staying one night & two nights over a four night period. We had quiet very practical rooms on the 3rd & 4th floors looking towards the Basilique Notre Dame. Good firm beds, kettle with some tea bags, TV that actually reduced the sound automatically when switched off, good bathroom, although shower over the bath - not my favourite.

A choice of breakfast, typical French - 4 Euros (weekdays near reception) & in main breakfast room on the second floor availble on Saturday & Sunday with full breakfact availble here.all week.

Whilst we had made a booking for a bouillabaise before our arrival in Marseille, the reception recommended a very good restaurant overlooking the Vieuw Port for another evening meal.Short distance to the old port & next to a large shopping centre - you can purchase extra water at La Fayette.

Well recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your good feedback.

See you soon in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

On the plus side:
+ Good and central location,
+ Private parking on site (was traveling with a motorbike so they didn't charge me -> very fair!
+ Hotel was comfortable and clean (what you would expect from a 4* hotel)

On the "down side"
- Poor wifi connection (at least in my room)
- A bit "impersonal" but well, it is a Mercure Hotel and at some point they all look alike

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fonzarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,
I thank you for your feedback, and I am gald you enjoyed your trip.
I will do a check about WIFI because it is normaly very good.
I hope you will come back in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

+
Central location,
clean, big rooms
nice view, only from top floors
-
bit doggy, surrounded by homeless people
cigarette smoke was ventilated to nonsmoking room via air condition
same breakfast every day with limited sortation

Room Tip: Choose on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB_Balazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience in the room about cigarette smoke. I will check what’s wrong about that.
I am surprised about the breakfast, because this is a big buffet with a lot of choice.
Anyway, I hope you will be back in our nice city.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mrgargoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. After booking I heard nothing but bad reports about Marseille. The area on arriving looked run down and a bit scarey. But the hotel was clean and the staff very accommodating. It was a very short walk into the port area and we explored the area on the tourist bus.
The room was clean and quite comfortable. The room has a safe and a fridge so we could have cold water to take out with us.
The breakfast was good, hot and cold selections available. Local pastries and jams were tempting.
If we ever go back to Marseille I would have no hesitation in booking here again.
We had a brilliant weekend in Marseille, even the sun shone.
A big thank you to the staff who were so helpful and cheerful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fergy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge_KARLE, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear guest,
I am so glad you enjoyed your trip in Marseille, and I thank you for your good feedback, I will share with my staff all your compliments.
I hope to welcome you during your next trip.
See you soon.
Best regards.
Serge Karlé.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 132 in Marseille
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port

Address: 1 rue Neuve Saint Martin, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#18 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £80 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Marseille Centre has 199 rooms and is located next to the WTC convention center, just a short walk from the Jardin des Vestiges and 5 mins walk from the Vieux Port (old port). The hotel is 5 mins from St Charles TGV train station and 25 mins from the airport by highway. It has a bar and 11 meeting rooms. The hotel is part of the Bourse shopping center, which has over 100 shops. Paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Marseille Centre Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Euro Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing