We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a claen and better service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
Ranked #21 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ombersley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs a claen and better service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Marseille is a beautiful city and the people are nice, however service at this hotel and at the airport is very poor.
The restaurant staff are sometimes slow and the common areas in the hotel are not very clean
The rooms are very small but comfortable.
There are better Accor hotels in the area, but this is very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank orly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    718
    259
    49
    20
See reviews for
173
553
202
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed one night as we had a train connection to Paris the next day, the location of the hotel is perfect, only 2 minutes away from the train station. The staff are very kind & helpful, very professional. The bedroom is nice & clean and the bed FANTASTIC, we slept very well!! I ll definitly stay at an hotel IBIS again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovenjoel, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is located near the railway station. The hotel is clean and kept tidy. Breakfast is good quality for money. Free wifi access works fine although you need to through registery process for every session. The personel at reception are superfriendly and helpfull. The rooms 120,220,320 etc have a special equiped bathroom for wheelchairs but the airco makes a intermittent short but hard noise even when you switch off the system. Hotel management is aware of this problem. It is a shame that you are not imformed of this defect in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l'Etang-la-Ville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Numerous comments on this forum single out the location, comfortable bed and the friendliness of the staff as the key features of this hotel, with which I completely agree. We were taking train every day to Cassis visiting the beach so this was an ideal location to start from. This Ibis is a no-nonsense hotel that imaginatively cuts the frills to a strict minimum, examples abound, such as minimal air-conditioning, very low water pressure to reduce water flow, one all-purpose liquid soap for shower, shampoo and face wash, one all purpose towel, etc. so one should have realistic expectations in this hotel. The comfort level is adequate for a family or business stay as all necessary amenities are provided. The rooms are really not terribly small as some complain. We even had a two-seater sofa bed in our room. The Wi-fi connection drops frequently and needs to be reconnected from time to time, otherwise it worked fine and was free of cost.

I would single out the restaurant as an attraction (except at breakfast when crowded) as it provided good food at a reasonable cost in pleasant surroundings outdoors, with a two-course menu starting at 10€. Marie, the Maitre d' is very active, welcoming, courteous and smiling. We took several meals in the restaurant, however, since we had pre-paid our stay had to settle the bill each time we had a breakfast or a meal, rather than charging to our account to settle at the end of our stay. Perhaps the hotel management should look into this.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neverestnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Typical Ibis hotel which is great because you know what to expect, however this room was actually better than expected and unusually large. Air conditioning was great and the service was perfect. The location of this hotel is fantastic for anyone using the train system either from out of Marseille or the underground around the city. Station is practically across the road from the hotel making it great. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

No Frills, but a friendly Service and clean Room. We had to spend only one Night there and for this Reason it was fully ok to go there. Room was very simple outfitted - as usual in this Ibis Hotels - but we already used to be and that was fully ok for just one Night. for Breakfast, we did choose, we have to say that it was very delicious. Large Ibis Hotel, many Guests there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westerntravellerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
0.8 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#19 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#30 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles

Property: Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
Address: Square Narvik | Esplanade Saint Charles, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Marseille
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#21 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe au pied de la Gare Marseille Saint-Charles, l'hotel Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint-Charles propose des chambres climatisees et confortables. Ideal pour vos deplacements professionnels ou loisir, sa localisation facilite l'acces aux principaux sites marseillais : Le Vieux-Port, La Canebiere, le MuCEM, les Plages, le Stade Velodrome, le Quartier du Panier qui a inspire la serie << Plus Belle La Vie>>... Chambres equipees de la nouvelle literie "Sweet Bed by ibis" et d'un acces wifi offert. Pour vos reunions ou journee d'etude, nous disposons de 6 salles equipees pour seminaire, reunion de travail, formation, recrutement. Notre Hotel est ideal pour les croisieres en Mediterrannee au depart de Marseille (Terminal J4 a 15 minutes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Marseille Gare Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing