We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Gare St Charles Marseille”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
Ranked #22 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ibis Gare St Charles Marseille”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for 2 nights prior to taking a cruise. The rooms are extremely small but functional. You cannot open bags and leave them and the cupboard is only big enough to hang two coats. The bathroom is among the smallest I have seen with no where to put toiletries and makeup.
It is a 10 minute walk downhill to the main part of town. The area to walk through would not feel safe for a woman alone at night.
Staff were friendly and the breakfast was a buffet but it was good.
The wifi was free and quite fast.
The hotel is next to the station so for travellers who do not want to take bags into town or are just staying a night or two it is good. I would not like to stay more ex than a few nights in a room so small.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    757
    272
    51
    21
See reviews for
184
580
216
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is located very close to the train station, good fit for those who travel by train. But it is a bit far from the port and key tourist areas. Another drawback is when I was there in May, it was too hot to keep the windows closed but too noisy to keep them open. The room is small with standard ibis facilities in France. No surprises but still an option for travellers whose top priority is convenient location at acceptable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is located just next to the train station on top of the hill (unlike other hotels in the area which are mainly at the bottom of the hill). While it is not in the city centre per se, it is a very convenient base as there are metro stops connecting the station to all parts of Marseille (i believe there is a tramline too but we didnt use it). Nothing much in the area but if you're traveling by train in France, nothing beats its location. Reduce the hassle of lugging luggage. Rooms are compact and bathroom is quite small, but it was enough for us. Beds are comfortable but in the attempt to make the beds more comfy by adding the top added layer, it also makes the bed a bit "slippery". If only the top layer would stay still, then it would be perfect. Reception was friendly, can speak English but if you know french, it would be even better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room small, clean, perfect for quick restful overnight. "Restaurant" was higher quality Stouffers. My fish with tomato sauce was still partially frozen and was the first disappointing meal I had in France.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank eastave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We flew to Marseille for a long weekend and choose the hotel for its location close to the airport shuttle at Gare Saint Charles as we had an early flight out of Marseille. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Vieux Port if you don't mind the neighborhood. We felt completely safe but can imagine that other people wouldn't feel at ease to walk around the station neighborhood at night. The hotel is precisely what you can expect from an Ibis Hotel. The rooms are very small but efficient, beds are comfortable. The bathroom is even smaller and might be a problem if you are claustrophobic. It's what you can expect for the price. The breakfast was also typical Ibis with a nice big buffet and a decent price. Staff was friendly and helpful and all spoke good English. We found it a perfect hotel for a city trip as you don't spend much time in your hotel room because you want to explore the city. We would definitely return mainly because of the convenient location and the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is useful for people who visit Marseille as well as it's surrounding by train. That means you can go to nearby cities/attractions from Marseille and still spend the night in one place. The room are equipped with shower and comfortable single beds. Breakfast are included which has variety of pastries and beverages. The reception is very helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shouheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
0.8 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#21 of 131 in Marseille
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.9 mi away
Mama Shelter Marseille
Mama Shelter Marseille
#12 of 131 in Marseille
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles

Property: Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
Address: Square Narvik | Esplanade Saint Charles, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Marseille
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#21 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe au pied de la Gare Marseille Saint-Charles, l'hotel Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint-Charles propose des chambres climatisees et confortables. Ideal pour vos deplacements professionnels ou loisir, sa localisation facilite l'acces aux principaux sites marseillais : Le Vieux-Port, La Canebiere, le MuCEM, les Plages, le Stade Velodrome, le Quartier du Panier qui a inspire la serie>... Chambres equipees de la nouvelle literie "Sweet Bed by ibis" et d'un acces wifi offert. Pour vos reunions ou journee d'etude, nous disposons de 6 salles equipees pour seminaire, reunion de travail, formation, recrutement. Notre Hotel est ideal pour les croisieres en Mediterrannee au depart de Marseille (Terminal J4 a 15 minutes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Marseille Gare Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing