We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel in such a beautiful city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel Saint Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Charles
Ranked #107 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Marseille
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in such a beautiful city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary in the beautiful Marseille. The hotel is fabulous. The room was huge, well decorated & we looked down on to the main street, with all the lively hustle & bustle happening, just wonderful. With double glazed windows didn't hear a thing! The bathroom was superb, with a lovely big bath with shower overhead. We were very impressed. Love the little lift, very quaint. The staff are super , very friendly & certainly added to making our anniversary visit top notch.
The location is great, near the train stations & very short walk to the main city area & gorgeous Port.
We fully recommend this hotel & we will be returning again......needless to stay at this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your comment. We're really happy you had a great moment in Marseille and you've appreciated our hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you for your wedding anniversary. You're welcome to Newhotel Saint Charles for your next stay in our wonderfull city!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    130
    123
    84
    99
See reviews for
41
197
55
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel was in a good location with relatively friendly staff. Only a few minutes to the train station, water and Vieux-Port.

Our room was clean and for the price that's pretty much all we can bother with.

I probably wouldn't return to Marseille in general but if I did, I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest.
We are really happy you have appreciated your stay at the Newhotel Saint Charles. We hope to welcome you again if you come back to Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Very well located, well equipped rooms (shampoo and soap available, but no hair dryer), quiet as soon as the windows are closed. Rooms are quite small but have modern and functional furniture. All in all, very good value for money. Didn't try the breakfast but the veranda is in a winter garden and looks very pleasant. The bathroom would deserve a bit of renovation (one of the shower cabin door did not work and almost fell on me) but it did not spoil my stay there (only one night). Would go there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSENIEMAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We take note of your remarks as we are constantly trying to improve our service to satisfy our guests. For your information, hair dryers are available at the reception desk, next time please don't hesitate to ask for one. We hope to welcome you again soon at the Newhotel Saint Charles.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I booked this hotel through laterooms.com, always wanting a bargain when I go away as my partner and I tend to spend more time exploring than spending time in the hotel. After I had booked, I noticed some negative reviews on this very sight regarding bed bugs, dirty beds etc and so to be completely honest, I expected the worst.

However, from the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the hotel. Though we didn't sample the breakfast and so cannot comment on that, the staff on reception were most helpful and one even went above and beyond to help with a noisy guest in the room next to ours. They were on hand with maps, restaurant advice and most had a good sense of humour.

Marseille as a city is one you’d describe as rough around the edges so all over, near the hotel included, there are the homeless, the slightly ‘out there’ and those trying to make a quick penny so you need to have your wits about you. The New Hotel in this respect is a diamond in the rough, certainly the best looking hotel in the area and boasts a modern entrance which leads straight through to a quirky breakfast hall and four floors of comfortable rooms.

The rooms are of a similar standard to something like a Holiday Inn and are in need of a tiny bit of TLC in parts (new lampshades, perhaps an update r.e the theme) but all appliances worked, the bathroom was new and clean, the bedding was contemporary and clean on all nights but one (where there was a slight stain) and no bedbugs in sight. A really nice surprise! The hotel does have quite thin walls as we discovered one evening but this is the same with other hotels I’ve stayed in in France. There aren’t any tea making facilities and I know Brits must miss this but there is a fridge, safety deposit box and a TV with English challenges and so if sight-seeing, the stay would be comfortable enough.

All in all, I’d recommend the hotel to those wanting a good value break away though not suitable for those who like to spend more time relaxing in a hotel, as areas to this were limited and there is no atmosphere in terms of a bar or buzzy restaurant. Having said that, the best area to eat in Marseille is 5 minutes away and so there is a plethora of restaurants, bars and clubs to investigate.

The hotel was superbly located, just minutes from some good bakeries, the main train station, the bus stop to the beach and the Vieux Port for culture and ferries to elsewhere.

Negative reviews must come from those who have only exclusively stayed in upmarket hotels or simply are now out of date as on the whole, we were really impressed with what the New Hotel had to offer and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your nice comments. We are really happy you have enjoyed your stay in Marseille and that you have appreciated our hotel. We would be happy to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed two nights in the beginning of August 2013. The hotel is simple, well located, close to the main streets. The AC was not a problem at all. The receptionists were kind and correct. I had a nice chat with one of them. I do appreciate it very much. I did not take any breakfast, so no comment. I was a bit skeptical to get the room near the street, but in fact, there was no problem at all. Sometimes, I could hear the noise of motorbikes blaring, but that was not the problem of the hotel. The price was correct, the service was good, so... for those who are not bother with too much details, I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The other reviews are right, the air conditioning here was very weak. The walls are also paper thin, but that seems to be a general trend in Europe. The breakfast was basic but satisfactory, some cheese, ham, dried and fresh fruit, cereal, and bread. The breakfast room is like a greenhouse and so is extremely hot, so I would recommend eating breakfast elsewhere.

Service was fine, bed was comfortable, room was a reasonable size and there were a surprising amount of excellent pillows in the wardrobe. The room felt clean and modern, and overall a satisfactory 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: The lift is small and slow so try to get the first floor so you can use the stairs easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank po123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comment. The exceptional heat of the last days made the feeling of the air conditionning a bit weak. We are sorry for that. We hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

5 minutes to rail station as long as you exit the right side. About 10-15 minute walk to Old Port which has plenty of good restaurants. The service at the hotel was great and the air conditioning worked perfectly. Don't be upset if reception seems cold. It's not the French way to treat you like you are the center of the universe. If you have a question, they will answer it for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyA445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for your kind comment. Hope to see you soon again. Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#64 of 130 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.2 mi away
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#101 of 130 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Charles

Property: New Hotel Saint Charles
Address: 4 allee Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations; multilingual staff; located in the downtown area; 25 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your New Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing