We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs - don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Charles
Ranked #107 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bedbugs - don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Both my wife and I got eaten alive in rooms 209 and 212. When we told the guy on reception he wasn't interested! I note there have been many reviews on here about bedbugs. It's the hotel, not the customers bringing them in! We weren't even offered a refund, despite my wife's face looking like a pizza. The hotel knows it has a problem yet it has failed to deal adequately with the issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Directeur du New Hotel Saint Charles at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Be sure we pay a great importance to this problem. First and foremost we apologize for the bad experience you had during your stay at our hotel.
Unfortunately, bed bugs are a scourge for all the hotels worldwide, whatever their category.
It hasn't to do with cleanliness or maintenance, because at any time, any customer can import bedbugs into a room after catching them at the airport, in a plane, a train, etc. Also we contracted a specialized company for preventive pest control. I'd appreciate if you could contact me personnally for a next stay in one of our hotels.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    131
    123
    86
    100
See reviews for
41
199
55
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Walking distance from the station. Straight down from the steps of the station. Upon arrival at the hotel, the desk person gave us good advise to keep inside that night, as the Soccer cup was on and lots of people around the street. We were given a room, where it was quiet, and a nice hot cuppa. The room was basic, and clean. Sadly, the area is around the hotel is unclean, homeless people and a feeling of being unsafe. I wouldn't go there as a single woman on my own.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. There was a lift. You could have breakfast at extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koallahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I would start with the advantages of the hotel: compared to other hotels in Marseille of the same category, this is definitely a cheaper one. The check-in begins at 15:15h and although we arrived an hour earlier, we were not refused to check in in our room, which was definitely good. The location of the hotel is excellent - it is close to the central railway station, however it is not extremely close and thus you will avoid all the dirt and unpleasantness associated with such places.
There wasn't a hair dryer in the room but when we asked for it we were not refused.
On the other hand, the room was not very clean. They have some weird system of cleaning each day - the rooms are being cleaned not in the morning when the guests are expected to be out but in the afternoon around 14h, when you might have returned. What is more, the towels are changed later - at around 16h.
On the second day of our stay we were extremely surprised to have the cleaner enter our room while we were sleeping in order to change the towels. She of course apologized. The next day they decided to skip cleaning the room.
There were also some red-coloured insects in the room - we saw at least two around the desk and our computer (they surely were not mosquitos).
The hotel is located at a busy crossroad so expect it to be noisy all day and night. There were always cars of the marine pompiers and their alarms passing through outside our room at night.
Honestly, at first I thought to write New Hotel Saint Charles a "two star" review but after my stay in Marseille I stayed for a night in a hotel (hostel-like) in Brussels, where the room was smaller and not well equipped and where the wifi was not working at all, which experience definitely changed my review.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We're really pleased you've chosen the Newhotel Saint Charles during your stay in Marseille. Thanks to the guest comments, we can improve our services. We hope to welcome you again for your next stay.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pet friendly (just a $20 surcharge for poochie), comfy beds, clean as a whistle, nice front office people... And the included breakfast was great, way beyond coffee and pastry. I recommend this place highly. And about 200 feet from an Arby's and a convenience store that sells cold beer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good room with accessible location as it is very near to Saint Charles train station if you are reaching Marseille by train (as we did).

HELP DESK PERSON WAS RUDE AT TIMES (NIGHT SHIFT PERSON TO BE SPECIFIC)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagar8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We're happy you've enjoyed your stay at Newhotel Saint Charles. Be sure, we inform our team about the inconvenience encountered to avoid any problem for the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Can't do better for price/quality. We rented a car in the Paris area and returned the car in close proximity to the train station and this hotel. Perfect! And then we were near for our return TGV ride to Charles De Gaulle airport. No regrets: friendly staff and helpful (Nora and Dabo); very clean and modern; quiet; good breakfast. Good location for getting to the Port as well. A resounding Yes!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Helen,
Thank you for your comment. We're really pleased you've enjoyed your stay at Newhotel Saint Charles. All our staff will be happy to welcome you again for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#104 of 131 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#62 of 131 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Charles

Property: New Hotel Saint Charles
Address: 4 allee Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations; multilingual staff; located in the downtown area; 25 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing