We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lutia(Marseille)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Nady(Marseille)
View Hotel
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
190
272
46
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
272
46
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationeuros per nightmin walkgreat roomthe air conditioningbusiness tripfirst floorfrancewalkable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is at the city center of Marseille and the metro line is a minute walk away. Both bed and bathrooms are also reasonable sized and the interior design is quite funky and modern compared to other Novotel hotels. Sounds good so far and I would like to give it a better rating but due to the following reasons, I cannot. First thing is they take a while to clean your rooms - 3pm and the room has not been cleaned yet. But maybe the cleaner had an off day so this can be forgiven. However, the concierge lady we unfortunately encountered both on checkin and checkout was unfriendly, abrupt and rude. On checkin, she snapped "ID, ID. I need some ID" (a little patience wouldn't hurt, especially when there was NOBODY waiting in line behind us). And then on checkout while we were trying to unsuccessfully get the exact change for her (she wanted the exact change), again she snapped, "Don't worry. I will manage". One incident is ok because she might be having a bad day but twice is not coincidental. This is a good hotel but incidents like this does ruin your experience and makes you think twice about recommending or returning.

Room Tip: The higher the level, the better.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc S, Responsable réception at Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear KTFromAus
This is an update of the unanswered comments. Your opinion is important because it allows us to improve the quality of our services, which is why we want to know the opinions of all our guests. We apologize for this late response.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Vélodrome. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
It's difficult to take targeted remedial action, so long after your check-out. However, we will impress again and again upon our staff, to ensure that our welcome and our services should be up to the reputation of our brand.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jean-Luc SEMON
h9013-re@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel at either end of a holiday to Provence. Our room 211 was on the front and there was some traffic noise but we didnt find the daily market which commenced at 8.30am a problem.

The room was squeaky clean with a big sofa and twin beds. The furnishings and fittings in the room and bathroom were ultra modern. The room had a fridge, a tv, a safe, tea & coffee making facilities and fully operational air conditioning. The hotel has a lift and free wi-fi in the rooms.

Breakfast was from 7am to 10 and was buffet style which allows you to eat as much or as little as you please. The usual cold meats and cheeses were on offer as were misc bowls of cut fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereals and fabulous French bread. Tea & coffee and fruit juice was also available. Hot food on offer was scrambled egg, streaky bacon, new potatoes & spicy sausages.

We returned a week later and were given room 200 which was was also on the front. It was huge with twin beds, a big desk, 3 chairs plus a fridge, safe T&C making facilities etc but the A/C was useless. It was 24 degrees when we enterred and it was still 24 degrees 4 hours later after continuously running the so called A/C. We slept with the window open which was much cooler but being on the front meant the traffic noise bcame an issue.

The hotel is fine and the rooms and facilities are excellent but please sort your A/C out or it is not the place to stay during the hot summer months and that is a pity

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with functioning A/C or you are in for an uncomfortable night
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc S, Responsable réception at Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Dave H
This is an update of the unanswered comments. Your opinion is important because it allows us to improve the quality of our services, which is why we want to know the opinions of all our guests. We apologize for this late response.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Vélodrome.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc SEMON
h9013-re@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice hotel, but very crowded area. No breakfast was included in our deal. Don't take the rooms facing the front of the hotel they hold a market outside the hotel every morning and the traders come in very early in the morning and the noise level is awful.

The air conditioning did not work properly in our room and when we reported it the front desk said they would send someone to attend to it but i asked for a change of room and they readily obliged.

THEY REALLY NEED TO FIX THOSE AIR CONDITIONERS AS THE NOISE FROM OURS WAS JUST AWFUL.

Staff were pleasant, efficient, but very impersonal. Not what we normally experience in French hotels.

Hotel is very central and Marseilles is a crowded city but with lots of ambiance.

If you are shopping in those markets outside the hotel, do be aware of pick pockets, as we had an unpleasant experience when a woman pretending to carry a baby with a blanket, in her arms, walks around begging and then puts her hand into your pocket and tries to steal your money. The blanket was just a cover up and she did not have a baby with her. BE VERY AWARE OF THIS.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms facing the front of the hotel - very noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc S, Responsable réception at Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear MarinaandJim
This is an update of the unanswered comments. Your opinion is important because it allows us to improve the quality of our services, which is why we want to know the opinions of all our guests. We apologize for this late response.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Vélodrome.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc SEMON
h9013-re@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Standard quality hotel which benefits from being new. Decked out with modern Danish furnishings, which I normally love but somehow sit uncomfortably here, giving the space a cold, artificial feel. The reception staff are standing up behind two tiny counters (maître d’ style) at the back of the room which makes them look uncomfortable in turn. The furnishings are a little form over function. If you sit at the side tables in the breakfast room, you are guaranteed to bump your head on the low-hung lamps (more than once, if you’re like me) and there is not enough space between those tables.

Good room size (grey/yellow colour scheme in my case) and very nice to have free water provided in the room and lots of space to unpack. Comfortable bed, lumpy cheap synthetic pillows. Polycotton sheets.

I found breakfast disappointing. I get the impression they might be understaffed. In any case, service is non-existent to brusque. Food is fine but the selection is not great and does not get topped up in time. Guests are left to get on with it. This morning sample: big designer hot water container for teapots (nice touch: Kusmi tea and teapots) was empty, as it was yesterday and the day before – guests were instructed to use the coffee machine instead. I took the last of the teapots. Two remaining had no inner baskets for tea. I also took the last of the mini-croissants. I stayed three nights and today was the first time I saw little plates next to the self-serve Bonne Maman jam pots. Yesterday there were 2 types of cheese, 4 types of ham/salami but this morning inexplicably only 1 and 3, respectively. Fresh vegetables limited to minitomatoes. Good whole fruit selection. (Was not tempted by the hot food: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes.) Nothing comes with a description, which meant I took what I thought was a ready-boiled egg and it turned out to be raw. I then tried to make a boiled egg, by plunging another into the special machine. When I did so, I noticed the water came up to half the egg (container was 85% empty). I asked the only person serving, who impatiently said: Moment, Madame! and went off to wipe some tables. Someone from the kitchen appeared a few minutes later and topped the thing up with cold water. I took my egg out 11 minutes later. It was still too raw to eat. I gave up. Staff could be heard arguing in the kitchen.

Disappointing in a land known for good bread, the selection here is home-baked-from-frozen baguettes, one type of healthier bread, and mini Viennoiserie: croissants, pain au raisin, pain au chocolat and ready minimuffins.

Room for improvement: both breakfast and service.

Similarly, housekeeping staff entered the room without knocking to find me in underwear. It would be nice if all staff displayed more customer focus.

The location is pretty good on one of the main avenues of town (very small windows in room out onto busy street), right outside the metro stop. It takes about an hour to walk to the old port. Good location for the Le Corbusier building and the bus 21 to Luminy for the hike to impressive Calanques beach. A clothes and accessories market operates in front of the hotel in the mornings, and changes into fish and fruit further to the right. There are two organic delis in that direction, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Pierre B, Directeur général at Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014
Google Translation

Frédéric,

Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire.
Nous sommes heureux de lire votre satisfaction et esperons avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau au Novotel Marseille Centre Prado.

Bien Cordialement,

Jean-Pierre Belguiral
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

it's a new hotel, I like the style of the hotel and lobby.
First night we find something wrong with air conditioner, then the staff help us to change to another room.
Good location, easy to find.
wifi password could only valid for one person, not for two.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louiseyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc S, Responsable réception at Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Louiseyik
This is an update of the unanswered comments. Your opinion is important because it allows us to improve the quality of our services, which is why we want to know the opinions of all our guests. We apologize for this late response.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Vélodrome.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc SEMON
h9013-re@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews