We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Upon entering the hotel I was given a very friendly welcome by all staff who were very conversant in English. The room was well laid out encompassing a separate bathroom & it even included a microwave from whence I could heat a take-away meal purchased from the concierge facility on the ground floor. The hotel restaurant also served delectable meals, staff being most attentive to servicing my requests. Location is one of the prime factors when booking this hotel as it is a stones throw from the local metro. All up I could recommend this hotel for location, service, cleanliness & interior design.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDDIE25_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    239
    40
    21
    5
See reviews for
150
118
36
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orsundsbro, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Going to Provence in November could be a challenge, is it autumn (fall) or is the winter around the corner. Now, when I went there last w/e (14 -- 17 Nov) for a cancer conference it was still autumn but the staff at the hotel and the automatic heating system had decided it was winter. The nice and comfortable room, the well equipped bathroom and nice and comfortable bed in the room, the good breakfast served in a modern quite cold environment type of dining room and the nice lobby with a small well equipped bar were all over shadowed of the feeling of entering a sauna. I usually do not bring a thermometer, why should I, but this time it could have been nice to record the temperature. There was one problem with the room, the window could not be opened and the inner glass at the window was missing, that was why I clearly could hear the noise from the street. The nights were spent bathing in sweat and despite the comfortable bed the sleep was not at all good. The staff was blaming the arriving cold season shrugging their shoulders telling us that there was nothing they could do. The solution was to put the not functioning AC on the very maximum...

The hotel is situated at the Avenue de Prado and the traffic throughout the day and night is noisy and quite heavy. During the days there is a market just outside the hotel and around the corner to the left from the hotel under the arcade beggars are sitting outside Carrefour. It is about 45 minutes stroll down to the old harbour from the hotel

The dinner served the night of arrival in the sterile dining room was nice, the wine OK and the staff was good and polite. The so called scrambled eggs served in the morning must have been delivered in a tank and not made in the hotel's kitchen. The rest of the food served in the morning was good and leaving the scrambled eggs you could attend the congress quite satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge if you can open the window and if the AC is working. Rooms facing Av. de Prado can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is at the city center of Marseille and the metro line is a minute walk away. Both bed and bathrooms are also reasonable sized and the interior design is quite funky and modern compared to other Novotel hotels. Sounds good so far and I would like to give it a better rating but due to the following reasons, I cannot. First thing is they take a while to clean your rooms - 3pm and the room has not been cleaned yet. But maybe the cleaner had an off day so this can be forgiven. However, the concierge lady we unfortunately encountered both on checkin and checkout was unfriendly, abrupt and rude. On checkin, she snapped "ID, ID. I need some ID" (a little patience wouldn't hurt, especially when there was NOBODY waiting in line behind us). And then on checkout while we were trying to unsuccessfully get the exact change for her (she wanted the exact change), again she snapped, "Don't worry. I will manage". One incident is ok because she might be having a bad day but twice is not coincidental. This is a good hotel but incidents like this does ruin your experience and makes you think twice about recommending or returning.

Room Tip: The higher the level, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel at either end of a holiday to Provence. Our room 211 was on the front and there was some traffic noise but we didnt find the daily market which commenced at 8.30am a problem.

The room was squeaky clean with a big sofa and twin beds. The furnishings and fittings in the room and bathroom were ultra modern. The room had a fridge, a tv, a safe, tea & coffee making facilities and fully operational air conditioning. The hotel has a lift and free wi-fi in the rooms.

Breakfast was from 7am to 10 and was buffet style which allows you to eat as much or as little as you please. The usual cold meats and cheeses were on offer as were misc bowls of cut fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereals and fabulous French bread. Tea & coffee and fruit juice was also available. Hot food on offer was scrambled egg, streaky bacon, new potatoes & spicy sausages.

We returned a week later and were given room 200 which was was also on the front. It was huge with twin beds, a big desk, 3 chairs plus a fridge, safe T&C making facilities etc but the A/C was useless. It was 24 degrees when we enterred and it was still 24 degrees 4 hours later after continuously running the so called A/C. We slept with the window open which was much cooler but being on the front meant the traffic noise bcame an issue.

The hotel is fine and the rooms and facilities are excellent but please sort your A/C out or it is not the place to stay during the hot summer months and that is a pity

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with functioning A/C or you are in for an uncomfortable night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice hotel, but very crowded area. No breakfast was included in our deal. Don't take the rooms facing the front of the hotel they hold a market outside the hotel every morning and the traders come in very early in the morning and the noise level is awful.

The air conditioning did not work properly in our room and when we reported it the front desk said they would send someone to attend to it but i asked for a change of room and they readily obliged.

THEY REALLY NEED TO FIX THOSE AIR CONDITIONERS AS THE NOISE FROM OURS WAS JUST AWFUL.

Staff were pleasant, efficient, but very impersonal. Not what we normally experience in French hotels.

Hotel is very central and Marseilles is a crowded city but with lots of ambiance.

If you are shopping in those markets outside the hotel, do be aware of pick pockets, as we had an unpleasant experience when a woman pretending to carry a baby with a blanket, in her arms, walks around begging and then puts her hand into your pocket and tries to steal your money. The blanket was just a cover up and she did not have a baby with her. BE VERY AWARE OF THIS.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms facing the front of the hotel - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Standard quality hotel which benefits from being new. Decked out with modern Danish furnishings, which I normally love but somehow sit uncomfortably here, giving the space a cold, artificial feel. The reception staff are standing up behind two tiny counters (maître d’ style) at the back of the room which makes them look uncomfortable in turn. The furnishings are a little form over function. If you sit at the side tables in the breakfast room, you are guaranteed to bump your head on the low-hung lamps (more than once, if you’re like me) and there is not enough space between those tables.

Good room size (grey/yellow colour scheme in my case) and very nice to have free water provided in the room and lots of space to unpack. Comfortable bed, lumpy cheap synthetic pillows. Polycotton sheets.

I found breakfast disappointing. I get the impression they might be understaffed. In any case, service is non-existent to brusque. Food is fine but the selection is not great and does not get topped up in time. Guests are left to get on with it. This morning sample: big designer hot water container for teapots (nice touch: Kusmi tea and teapots) was empty, as it was yesterday and the day before – guests were instructed to use the coffee machine instead. I took the last of the teapots. Two remaining had no inner baskets for tea. I also took the last of the mini-croissants. I stayed three nights and today was the first time I saw little plates next to the self-serve Bonne Maman jam pots. Yesterday there were 2 types of cheese, 4 types of ham/salami but this morning inexplicably only 1 and 3, respectively. Fresh vegetables limited to minitomatoes. Good whole fruit selection. (Was not tempted by the hot food: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes.) Nothing comes with a description, which meant I took what I thought was a ready-boiled egg and it turned out to be raw. I then tried to make a boiled egg, by plunging another into the special machine. When I did so, I noticed the water came up to half the egg (container was 85% empty). I asked the only person serving, who impatiently said: Moment, Madame! and went off to wipe some tables. Someone from the kitchen appeared a few minutes later and topped the thing up with cold water. I took my egg out 11 minutes later. It was still too raw to eat. I gave up. Staff could be heard arguing in the kitchen.

Disappointing in a land known for good bread, the selection here is home-baked-from-frozen baguettes, one type of healthier bread, and mini Viennoiserie: croissants, pain au raisin, pain au chocolat and ready minimuffins.

Room for improvement: both breakfast and service.

Similarly, housekeeping staff entered the room without knocking to find me in underwear. It would be nice if all staff displayed more customer focus.

The location is pretty good on one of the main avenues of town (very small windows in room out onto busy street), right outside the metro stop. It takes about an hour to walk to the old port. Good location for the Le Corbusier building and the bus 21 to Luminy for the hike to impressive Calanques beach. A clothes and accessories market operates in front of the hotel in the mornings, and changes into fish and fruit further to the right. There are two organic delis in that direction, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Pierre B, Directeur général at Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Google Translation
Frédéric,

Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire.
Nous sommes heureux de lire votre satisfaction et esperons avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau au Novotel Marseille Centre Prado.

Bien Cordialement,

Jean-Pierre Belguiral
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guangzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

it's a new hotel, I like the style of the hotel and lobby.
First night we find something wrong with air conditioner, then the staff help us to change to another room.
Good location, easy to find.
wifi password could only valid for one person, not for two.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
2.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
1.5 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mama Shelter Marseille
Mama Shelter Marseille
#10 of 131 in Marseille
1,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
1.2 mi away
NH Marseille Palm Beach
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#15 of 131 in Marseille
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome

Property: Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome
Address: 103 avenue du Prado, 13008 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Business Hotel in Marseille
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#9 Family Hotel in Marseille
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Marseille Centre Prado is located in one of Marseilles' business districts. Its location close to the beaches, the conference center and the old town makes it ideal for visiting the Old Port and La Canebiere. The hotel has been fully renovated and operates a restaurant, bar and 4 meeting rooms. It is ideal for both business and leisure trips to Marseilles. A public car park is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Marseille City Centre Hotel Marseille
Marseille Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing