We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marseille/Port”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Good hotel in the center of the Old Port. Location, right around the corner from the old harbor in Marseilles, was excellent and our balkony was opening panorama of the view port. Nice and clean room. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is right next to the metro and lots of great restaurants.
The entrance of the hotel is located in a small, dirty, and unpleasant street. Drum music from port can be heard till 10 PM.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdzied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your comment ! We are very pleased to hear about your recent stay at the Newhotel Vieux Port. Hope to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

7 of us were in Marseille for our son's wedding. We wanted somewhere convenient for sightseeing when we were not at the wedding, New Hotel fit the bill perfectly.
I booked all the rooms and was complemented on my choice.
Perfectly placed, good value but lacking anywhere to relax with friends when you got back in the evening and a bit noisy early in the morning. Rooms nice and spacious and very comfortable.
Would stay there again if we come back to Marseille.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terriermk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you want to be only steps away from the Old Port in Marseille, with all of its restaurants, bars and shops, this is a great place to be. We were lucky to have a very large room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the port. If you are a light sleeper, you might hear the activity start at the metro station directly below at 5 am, but a portable white noise maker app should do the trick. The hotel was old, but charming. There is no on-site parking and there is a lot of garbage on the street in the evening, but that is Marseille. The hotel itself was very clean. I chose to walk 35 minutes to the Palais de Congress for my conference, instead of taking the very convenient metro. I never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

So, a few days in Marseille to attend a wedding. The location of the New Hotel cannot be faulted, there are plenty of places nearby to find food, drink, etc. The hotel has been renovated, but has started to look a little faded. The rooms are of a good size, and comfortable. The shower was a little weak, and the water was not the warmest I have encountered. Being English, I like a cup of tea in the morning. The New Hotel only offers a Nespresso machine and they charge €2 for each coffee cartridge used. What else springs to mind? Oh yes, friendly reception staff. There you go, so in summary not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms ending 01 or 02 will have a good view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stay 1 night at hotel great location but room need renovation

pro: location direct on port, nice people at reception, big and clean bathroom, metro right at door, shopping is around the corner

con : room old and small, carpet need good cleaning everywhere, entrance to hotel very dirty because of bistro next door,TV in room does not work and very small

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We apologize for the inconvenience encountered. We have taken note of your remarks as we do our best to improve our services constantly to make sure our guests are satisfied. We hope to welcome you again in one of the hotels of the New Hotel group during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A little hard to find the entrance but clean comfortable rooms and convenient location. I stayed here 5 nights for a conference and location couldn't have been better as had choice of either Metro right outside or scenic 83 bus to get to and from the Palais de Congres.
I initially had a room on the third floor but wifi didn't work there very well and i had some work to do so the helpful staff switched me to the 1st floor and things were fine then. It was helpful that they had a computer with printer available - made use of this.
Breakfast was included and fresh fruit salad and fresh croissants went well with espresso coffee.

Room Tip: Lower rooms seem to have better wifi so maybe let them know when you book if you want it in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakiteano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We have taken note of your remaks as we are always trying to improve our services. We hope to welcome you again when you are back in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I want to emphasize the great service: the receptionists were extremely nice and helpful with (m)any requests I had! The hotel is located very central, the shopping street is just 2 minutes away, as is the beautiful harbor and all bars and restaurants. There is a metro station just in front of the hotel, and the bus to the beaches also leaves in front of the hotel. Very easy to get here from the train station, by foot and by the metro. The double room was very convenient and spacious, with a separate bathroom and toilet. My room was without sea view but you'd better get out and enjoy the view in real rather than from behind the window! Highly recommended place, will be back again!

Room Tip: Double room without view was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diaan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for your nice comment. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel, our services and its location. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bellevue
#26 of 132 in Marseille
405 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
#44 of 132 in Marseille
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 3 B rue de la Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing