We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take your earplugs with you!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #31 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Take your earplugs with you!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Terrible noisy! And not because of the port! I asked for a quiet room so I got one overlooking to a back street but during the night there is a permanent noise coming from a high capacity device – I don’t know what kind of device. There is also a construction in the next door and they are working in the night with big trucks. I have a special earplug prepared for my ears but it was nothing against this noise. The windows’ soundproofing is zero. On the other hand the Hotel itself is good. It’s clean the staff is helpful and polite. Central location at reasonable price. Although the room is dark but the bathroom is a good size. All in all I do not recommend this Hotel unless you are a very good sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztina234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you to taking time to leave your impression about your stay. We regret that your stay does not take place in the best conditions. Indeed some shops near the hotel were on works and we are infinitely sorry that you are disturbed by the noise. We hope to welcome you in better conditions.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    340
    125
    36
    19
See reviews for
62
353
42
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is located close to the busy old harbour Vieux port, yet quiet and comfortable. The shopping areas and plenty of restaurants are at walkable distance. The room was spacious, had coffee machine and a mini bar. The service was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trsumathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your great comment! It's a pleasure to learn that you keep a nice memory of your stay in Marseille. We hope to welcome you again on Newhotel Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Close to the old harbour with it´s opulence of restaurants and shopping is this nice little hotel which is remarkably quiet. The rooms seems to have been recently renovated and each level seems to have different themes. Our room was in the "thousand and one night" theme. Good beds. There were a Nespresso coffee machine in our room but the coffee was not complementary. Each capsule cast 2 Euros.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrL123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you to taking time to leave us a review and for your nice remarks on our hotel! It was a real pleasure to welcome you. We hope you will visit us for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is situated close to the old harbor in Marseille. Restaurants, shops and museums are close and it is possible to walk there. The room we had was a bit old-fashioned and needed some repair to get in shape, but the view from the balcony was extraordinary. The service was friendly and effective.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We thank you to leave this review and we are happy to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We take note of your remark to improve us and hope to welcome you again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

New Hotel Vieux Port is a good location to discover the city.
The Hotel is not very luxuous, but has large rooms and bathrooms, with all facilities needed.
The exterior is under re-construction/re-frurbishing.
For the price you are paying and if your intention is to sleep only, value/cost is excellent.
The location is ideal to visit the Vieux Port, the Mucem museum and the commercial and touristic environment, including the little train to wander trough the city.
The notoire existencialist Jean Paul Sartre used to sleep here.
Not the grand luxe, but what you need is there.

Room Tip: The elevator is very slow, take a room on the first floor. (which is the second) If the vieuw is im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to place a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. It's always great to get feedback from our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

A great view of the port from our window,plus a view of the Saturday market and Dali's master pieces. Plenty of restaurants near by for breakfast and centrally placed to investigate Marseille.A great room with enough seats to hold a small drinks party,comfy bed and a great bathroom.A balcony with the L of hotel on it-wild.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a port view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Directrice at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest, we thank you to leave us this review, we are happy to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in your next stay! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely hotel in Marseille. The location was absolutely perfect. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful (great resturant referrals). The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and while our view from the room was of the stain glass window of the church next door - it was beautiful at night when the the church lights were on and the room was very quiet. We'd stay there again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noraintoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We would like to thank you for this nice comment! We are delighted to know that your stay with us is a pleasant memory. We are waiting to welcome you again in a next stay in Newhotel Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bellevue
#25 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Property: New Hotel Vieux Port
Address: 3 B rue de la Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Prestigia so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing