We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bedbugs!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Took hours to find the NewHotel Vieux Porte because it's not on the drive-able street. Would have been better if we had never found it because the room we were given had bedbugs. So many bites it looks like measles! The management moved us to a new room, but made no concession on the rate for the room in which a sleepless night was spent while being bitten bitten bitten!! Guess that's the "French way"!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

We kindly request you to excuse us for this bad experience.
Unfortunately, these bedgus can be brought by travelers during their stay in our hotel.
Please note that we have checked your room and we proceeded immediately to the treatment.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences caused. We hope to wecome you again in better conditions.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    358
    131
    39
    19
See reviews for
66
366
45
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Friendly staff, nice place to stay if you want to visit Marseille. A plus is the Metro just outside Hotel entrance.
Fifth floor is fine if you don't mind to walk from fourth, but it's rather quiet!
Nice breakfast




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepsky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your great comment! We hope to welcome you again at the Newhotel Vieux Port for your next stay!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fine room on 5th floor--must walk up one flight as elevator only goes to 4th. Room had outdoor balcony with great view of the Vieux Port area. Very comfortable overall, except could use a more comfortable chair in the room. Lobby entry is unimpressive, but everything else was fine. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We thank you for having left this comment about your stay with us. It's was a pleasure to welcome you, we hope to see you for a next stay in Marseille.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We were here for the last three nights of April and found the room to be very comfortable. It was large, with high ceilings and 3 windows overlooking the square by the port. The arrival welcome was good, room kept very clean by the staff, no noise inside or out to bother us. Were a little concerned about the light outside since we were directly in back of the New Hotel sign, but the drapes kept the room dark during the night. This was our 2nd stay, 1st in 2002, and we would come again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mobileaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to see you again and we thank you for your loyalty. We hope to welcome you for your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed one night (a Sunday) at the New Hotel Vieux Port in Marseille. It is rated a 3 star hotel and that is legitimate. The first pleasant event was arriving at noon to be told our room was available and also that we'd been upgraded. The room had a generous sitting area and 3 French doors that led to balconies where we could watch the activity at the port. But one event stands out that prompts me to praise the staff.

Returning after a late dinner Sunday night, I decided to retrieve passports and cash from the safe in order to be ready for an early morning flight. The safe would not open. At first the staff thought I simply used the wrong code, but when I showed them that was not the case they agreed "it's broken". Well, this is 11:00 pm on Sunday night. No one had the override key and we needed to leave in the morning before that person was expected in. Within 30 minutes, the key arrived and the safe was opened. I've run into many hotel staff who simply shrug and say, "Oh well, you'll have to wait." That would've been a nightmare and probably resulted in missed flights.

Sometimes good service is far more important than luxurious bath towels and designer toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for your great comment. It is a real pleasure to read it. All the staff is happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us! We are however sorry for the problem met with your safe. Hope to see you for a next stay in Marseille.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Schweiz
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel and rooms are not brand new, but in reasonable shape. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. We didn't have too much day light in our room and the window was really thin, meaning that you hear a lot of city noise through it. However, the neighbourhood is calm at night, so this is not a big problem.
Breakfast costs 12 EUR extra, but there are quite some cosy cafés in the area, so there's plenty of good alternatives.
Main reason to stay here: Unbeatable location at a very resonable price

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to notice that you keep a good memory of your stay in Newhotel Vieux port. We are waiting to welcome you again.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights earlier this month. Was there with a colleague on business. Having been charged Euro 150 per room per night, you would expect something a little special, particularly seeing as the hotel is positioned next to the Marseille Centre for Commerce, apparently the oldest in the world and still operating.

We arrived late (2130 ish) only to find no restaurant in the hotel, so ended up having to walk the streets to find somewhere to eat, all the places nearby were in the process of shutting down so received a very poor meal in a reportedly good local steak house, meat tuff, service poor and rushed, trying to get us out as soon as possible.

My room was so small that to get from one side to the other it was necessary to climb over the beds. Couldn't sit at the one hard backed chair without closing the door to the room. To go to the bathroom from the chair you stand up, move the chair into the only place available behind the door, or put it on the bed, you can then open the bedroom door to gain access to the lobby. Open the door into the bathroom to find that the toilet is behind the door, and can only be reached by closing the door first. The bath was so short that the only way to use it was to sit upright in it.

Breakfast in the morning typical European with ham, cheese (dry and curling up at the edges), French bread (stale). Scrambled eggs available but watered down with so much milk that it was tasteless and runny.

Complained about the size of the room on the first night, to be told nothing else available. The next day was told the same despite being promised another room. Later same day was told another room was available but was the same size. Asked for a reduction in price due to the size of the room and told not possible as room paid for by business travel agent. My colleague's room, in comparison was approx. 4 times the size, his bathroom was about the size of my bedroom and yet were invoiced the same amount.

Would not recommend anyone staying in this hotel, and you can be sure I will never go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbows5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,
We are sorry to learn that you keep a bad memory about your stay. We have some standard rooms which are a little bit small than the others but we are surprised with the way you describe this room. Could you please contact the hotel to inform us which room did you have? Please note that we regret not having been able to satisfy you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 131 in Marseille
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bellevue
#25 of 131 in Marseille
389 reviews
New Hotel Of Marseille
#16 of 131 in Marseille
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Property: New Hotel Vieux Port
Address: 3 B rue de la Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing