We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Nearby Hotels
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alex Hotel(Marseille)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveller rating
1,470
641
242
80
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,470
641
242
80
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor restauranttop floorvieux portluxury roomrooftop barswimming poolfive star hotelbreakfast buffetwonderful viewfabulous hotelold harbourlong weekendmodern hotelconciergetroisfranceeuros
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Aesthetically, I liked the polished, clubby vibe of this hotel in contrast to the grittiness of the Vieux Port. Views from the lobby and the pool to the port are amazing. Our room did not have a port view, and there is not anything at all to see on the other side….so if you are staying a while, I’d recommended springing for the view. We stayed on July 4th 2013, and the pool was gorgeous. It has a nice top tier where you can sit high above the water. The pool area does function a bit as a café, and lounge – so there were always a good amount of people dining and chatting on the pool-deck. (Fun vibe, but not zen) The gym was very nice, and empty – attached to the spa. The view from the gym looks into the port and there are some secret lounge chairs on the deck outside the gym. Its a good spot if you want a view all to yourself. It is a bit of a walk into the port itself – I’d say 15 to 20 min. Our visit was short, but yes, as other people mentioned, it could get a bit tiresome if you had to do the walk multiple times a day. It was easy and felt safe to walk to Rue Fortia for dinner. We did enjoy a disco-y, synth heavy lounge singer one evening in the lobby. On our second day, I enjoyed walking around the market stalls on the north end of the Old Port. In the evening we had a very pleasant walk west of the hotel, away from the Old Port to Restaurant Peron. (A ridiculously amazing meal at which I actually got a sunset-burn.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Sir,
We warmly thank you for this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you appreciated your stay in Marseille and our unique panorama over the Harbour. Our location, combining the advantages of being close to the city center while enjoying the calm of the Vieux Port is the perfect start for any visit… Moreover, we are happy that our pool and gym areas allowed you to spend some relaxing moments among us.
Looking forward to welcoming you for another “contemporary dig in the Old Port”,
Sincerely yours,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights & really liked the hotel. Very modern, clean & elegant. Service was super & installations very nice. Great spa, swimming pool & beach. Walking distance to the port restaurants & shopping. Great place to stay. The restaurant was fantastic with beautiful views of Marseille! The lobby bar has a jazz signer & good ambience.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank ChefManuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Sir,
The whole team of the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port joins me to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for the kindness of your writings.
We are happy to know that you appreciated your stay in our “great” home. Our staff was very touched that you found the service “super”. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
Our chef Dominique Frérard was happy to know that you loved the quality of his cooking and the beautiful views of Marseille.
We are also delighted to know that you liked the proximity of the hotel from the restaurants and the shops on the Vieux Port. Finally, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the spa and the swimming pool, as much as our lobby bar.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for a few nights in late September. The room was a good size, well appointed and clean, pretty much as we expected. The view was lovely, as other reviews have mentioned.

We only had one meal in the hotel, so can't comment on the breakfast or dinner services. Our lunch experience was a little disappointing as we were limited to the pool side bar for lunch. The menu was fairly limited and the chairs weren't particularly comfortable.

What helped to make our stay at Sofitel such a good start to our holiday was the warm welcome from reception on arrival and the excellent service that the reception team provided. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMacaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Madam,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our “lovely view” on the Vieux Port. We hope that this situation allowed you to discover all the beauty of the harbour, curled up and relaxed in the comfort of your room.
Our receptionists were touched by the kindness of your writings which put their quality of service and their warm welcome forward. We think that our hosts deserve the best we can offer and we really want to create a unique relationship with every guest. You satisfaction is our best reward!
Nevertheless, we are sorry if your lunch at the Novotel’s restaurant did not meet your expectations; we can assure you that we will transmit your remarks to its management. During a future stay, we invite you to discover our bar Le Carré or our restaurant Les Trois Forts which belong to our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a new stopover in the heart of 2600 years of history.
Best regards,
Gersende Gueit, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of October 2013. Underground parking was included in the room rate. The hotel looks newly renovated. Rooms are well-laid out, very clean with spacious and modern bathroom facilities. Located within walking distance from the harbor and downtown it was a pleasure to get up in the mornings and stroll downtown for sightseeing and to have a bite to eat. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, making an effort to accommodate guests. We liked the Hotel and city and ended up extending our vacation stay for an extra night.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the web for the best deals. Our rate was 100 Euros below Hotel advertised.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated our location in the heart of the city, which allowed you pleasant walks downtown. We are also thrilled that you liked your room where you were able to rest after long days of discoveries, as much as the bathroom and its spaciousness. Our staff was very touched by the kindness of your comments which highlighted their friendliness and helpfulness. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We hope to welcome you again soon to let you discover the rest of Marseilles’ treasures.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Travelled at the end of July. the swimming Pool was not very Clean. The staff in the near pool restaurant were Rude and not very accommodating. Main restaurant was closed with no prior warning. We're told our room was not ready then neglected after numerous requested to tell us it was ready. Having stayed at a lot of Sofitel's this was a great disappointment. Will not be returning a real shame!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mulberry08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Madam,
We regret to read about such a disappointment regarding your stopover in our hotel. We always attach a high importance to our customers’ feelings. We are sincerely sorry if your experience at the pool as at the restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please believe that we have transmitted your remarks to the Novotel’s management that takes care of these services.
Also, we are deeply saddened that you have experienced a long wait for your room and that our teams gave you the impression of being neglected. We want every guest to feel special and welcome; we regret that you did not feel these engagements. We hope that one day we will regain your trust.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews