We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It's about 10 minutes walk to the old port. Hotel is close to a supermarket and you can park the car underground. Hotel staffs are helpful. Room space is a little too small. Breakfast is a little expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all, thank you very much for posting this review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated our location on top of the Old Port allowing you to discover Marseille and its hidden beauties by walking. Moreover, we are pleased that you were sensitive to the staff's helpfulness as we strive to make your stay unique and unforgettable. For your next stopover, we invite you to take a look at all of our rooms categories ; some of them are more spacious and may suit your needs and desires better.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    570
    192
    62
    41
See reviews for
254
1,184
114
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here last October and it was an excellent hotel with great, friendly staff. We checked in early which was no problem for staff to arrange, they were very welcoming and always greeted us by our names!

Brilliant room facilities and lovely bar with beautiful views. Shame there isn't much to do in Marseille, so staying at this hotel was definitely the best decision. Definitely would stay at a Sofitel again in future.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindsayPReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Madam,
We would like to thank you for posting this lovely review on TripAdvisor. Your impressions are very important and useful for us since they help us to constantly improve the quality of our services.
It is truly a pleasure to read your words concerning the kindness of our staff, they will be honoured to know that our guests appreciated their work. Indeed, we strive to welcome every host as a unique person because they deserve the best attention. Moreover, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our "beautiful views" on the Old Port from every part of our hotel. Nevertheless, we regret that you did not find Marseille attractive and interesting. For your next visit, do not hesitate to ask for our concierges' advices, they will be happy to share with you the secrets of the phocean city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My first visit to Marseille and I settled on the Sofitel based on recommendations and the brand. I couldn't have been more pleased with the warm welcome, lovely facilities and charming, attentive staff.

My room overlooked the Port and the views from that side of the hotel are fantastic. I enjoyed a fabulous dinner in Les Trois Ports and also more casual dining and drinks in the bar. The Spa was a great experience too and the signature massage well worth including in the schedule.

10 minutes walk brings you into the Vieux Port where there is a lot to see and do in terms of museums, numerous bustling restaurants and good shopping. My visit was only 3 days and I was sorry that I didn't plan a longer stay. I plan to return in the spring and see some of the other local attractions.

My only minor criticism of the hotel was that the restaurant seemed very 'stretched' when busy at breakfast time. There was a short well-managed wait for a table which was quite acceptable, but the kitchen was struggling to keep the buffet well stocked. To be fair, the hotel was packed due to a local event so this may not be a regular issue.

I will certainly book the Sofitel again for my next visit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a room facing the Port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiatravelhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for your kind words about our home and our staff.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house and that you were seduced by our “fantastic” view on the Vieux Port. Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy to know you spent a nice moment with us.
Moreover we are pleased that you loved our restaurant Les Trois Forts. Our Chef, Dominique Frérard, tries everyday to convey his passion through his cooking. We are also thrilled that you spent a relaxing time in our So Spa, which has been created to offer wellness and softness to our hosts.
Nevertheless, we are sorry if the restaurant was busy during your breakfast time. Our breakfast is really appreciated and has a lot of success. That can explain the number of people present this day. We hope that this situation did not affected the quality of this moment and of your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a new stopover in the heart of the phocean city.
Best Regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our stay was really nice. Rooms were very clean. Hotel managements consider all guests' satisfaction. breakfeast is also nice. We liked guest relations. The view of our room was so nice (port view). If you are looking for comport and satisfaction, Sofitel will meet your expectations

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takanora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sir,
We truly appreciated your detailed review of Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port. Guest relation is our priority and we want to consider each guest in the best possible way. We are sincerely honored to know that you noticed the importance of the guest consideration in our home, indeed and we want to fulfil all guests’ wishes. Our team is thrilled to hear you enjoyed the view on the Vieux Port, which, we hope, will give you wonderful memories of our beautiful city.
Thank you again for visiting the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port, we wish to have the chance to serve you again in the near future.
Cordially,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Servers Christopher and Ben in lounge/bar 1st class as was the entertainment provided. NY Eve - Les Trois Forts restaurant was overwhelmed - took far too long. Billing was promised to be on my room - instead, staff insisted on a credit card payment and escorting me to get the card - not 5 star treatment - and at a high price for the dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we sincerely appreciated that you took the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. For our hotel, it is very useful in order to improve the quality of our services. It is truly a pleasure to read your kind words for our associates Christopher and Ben, they will be honored to know that our guests appreciated their work. We are happy that you enjoyed the entertainment during your stay. We want every guest to enjoy real moments of relaxation and discovery in our bar Le Carré.
We are very disappointed to hear about the service you received from the restaurant’s staff regarding the payment of your dinner and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, we couldn’t charge the dinner’s check on your room. For room charges, a credit card number is required on our client’s profile and during your stay, no credit card number had been given upon check-in. We apologize for this situation and assure you that corrective actions will be taken to address your concerns and to make sure that this situation will never happen again. The Christmas period was very busy during the New Year’s Eve night, please accept our apologies for waiting too long. We deeply regret that this oversight caused an impair to the quality of your stopover among us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and offer you a faultless stay among us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the heart of the phocean city.
Kind regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
829 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This Sofitel shares a site with its sister Novotel at the mouth of the Old Port (Vieux Port) on the east side. It is on bus routes 82 and 83 from the Vieux Port and on 82S (half-hourly) from Gare St Charles.

On one side (rooms odd-numbers, the bar and the 7th floor restaurant) it has stupendous views down the Port towards the City. Well worth a drink in the bar or breakfast in the restaurant to sample these views.

We spent Christmas 2013 here, having 4 nights in room 508 facing the street. Our guests had room 506 next door. The room was small, with two single beds. These were extremely comfortable and we slept exceedingly well. The room was small and there was hardly space for the small table and the two small armchairs. Hanging space was limited and we found no drawers in which to put clothes. In general room layout left a lot to be desired.

The shower room and toilet were each in a cubicle area, separated by a sliding door from the bedroom corridor. So, each could JUST be used at the same time. We had problems trying to get the shower head to stand still while we showered but housekeeping sent a plumber to fix it.

Though there were notices about re-using towels etc to save the environment, these were not respected and the towels were replaced regularly.

Breakfast is a huge banquet laid out in the 7th floor restaurant and was one of the most extensive I have ever seen. Very welcoming staff catered for every need.

The outdoor swimming pool is closed in winter.

There are two Apple based PCs in the lobby area with fast internet access. This is free of charge. There is WIFI in the hotel but I did not attempt to use it.

Staff were invariably friendly from the moment we arrived and treated our guests with the same courtesy.

Though expensive (think €200 per night for simplest room), this hotel is a great experience for the special occasion.

Room Tip: Seek a room facing the Vieux Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We also sincerely thank you for your kind words about the property and the staff. We are happy to hear that, your guests and youself enjoyed the resort's amenities. We are also very happy that you loved our bedding MyBed and found it very comfortable, we are glad to know that you were able to relax and get a peaceful night's sleep. We designed it to offer our guests a real cocoon of sweetness for an incomparable rest. Moreover, we are very thrilled to read that you found our breakfast on the 7th floor at your taste and that it was the most extensive you had ever seen. We always try to maintain Sofitel's high quality standard in order to make our guests’ stays unforgettable.
Nevertheless, we regret that our rooms did not meet your expectations. We are constantly seeking ways to improve the quality of our room and refresh them. We hope you will give the resort another chance next time you make your way to Marseille. We would love to have you stay in a room that is more to your liking and hope you can experience the other amenities our resort has to offer.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Property: Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing