We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Understated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly Marseille is a hidden gem an amazing city a slice of paradise. The Sofitel has amazingly quiet and comfortable rooms, great staff and bar terasse overlooking the Vieux Port. I did try the roof top restaurant it seemed a bit pricey. Great hotel and location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank globertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review on TripAdvisor ! Your satisfaction is our priority and we are happy to know that you spent a nice moment in our “great hotel”. We are particularly glad that you appreciated the calm and the comfort of your room, our staff, as well as our new terrace at Le Carré overlooking the Old Port. However, we regret you were not totally convinced by the price of our restaurant Les Trois Forts, indeed it may be explained by the high quality dishes from the Chef Dominique Frerard, our 5 star service and the nice surroundings.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the “amazing city” of Marseille.
Best regards
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have praised the Sofitel chain before (see Sofitel Chicago) and this hotel lived up to my expectations and was well worthy of its 5* rating. It doesn't come cheap but was, in my opinion, well worth it, even paying extra for a balcony-patio room - view from here was fantastic. Service excellent (and multi-lingual) and room and bathroom as comfortable as you'd expect at this level. Breakfast, served in the dining room, was an excellent buffet, with cold meats, cheese, cooked food (including poached eggs), fruit and, this being France, croissants to die for! The roof-top view from the restaurant out over the entrance to the Vieux-Port was an added bonus.
Bar was expensive, but the tranquillity and the views made it worth it.
Hotel is in easy walking distance of the Vieux-Port, which is the centre of Marselle, so hotel's a great place as a base to explore this fascinating and buzzing city.

Room Tip: I think only half the rooms have harbour views - worth specifying (and in my opinion, paying extra).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meic_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for your kind words about Sofitel. Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy that you appreciated our “excellent and multi-lingual” service as well as the comfort of our rooms.
Moreover, it was a great pleasure to read that you liked the breakfast’s buffet which offers to our guests the French culinary experience with high quality products from the Mediterranean region.
In addition, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our hotel next to the city centre, and our breath-taking view giving on the magical panorama of the Vieux Port.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a new stopover in the heart of the Phocean city.
Best regards
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Corny but true.

This hotel wins by a country mile for its location, the setting is superb, overlooking the marina/harbour entrance, a peaceful and spectacular combination. The staff and processes at the hotel are all that you would expect from the group, I haven't been to a 'bad' Sofitel yet, stayed in several. Modern, slick and professional throughout. This site does of course come at a premium V's other hotels in the town, but it IS well worth it, spacious terraces/bars and yes the breakfast is unbeatable in its setting, top floor restaurant overlooking the sea.... My only warning is to ensure that you DO get a balcony room overlooking the frontage/marina, and on a high enough floor to really enjoy the peace and spectacle.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you sincerely for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you appreciated your stay among us and that you were very especially seduced by our services, as well as our location offering a breathtaking view on the Vieux Port. Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy to know you spent a nice moment with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a new stopover in the heart of the phocean city
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely hotel. Reception and bar staff were very friendly, breakfast room has a great view but we found the breakfast to be a bit below expectations set by the rest of the hotel. The fire alarm at 6am on a Saturday might be colouring my perception of breakfast. My eggs were cold however they replaced them with warm ones.

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view room, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feed back is very useful for us in order to improve the quality of service of our establishment. Indeed, our motivation is to answer as efficiently as possible to the expectations of our hosts; our staff was very touched by your nice comments evoking their “friendly behaviour”.
Nevertheless, we deeply regret your inconvenience during the breakfast. This department usually enjoys a good reputation; we regret that you did not have this feeling. Please believe that these situations are exceptional as we set high standards for all our services. Please accept also our deep apologies for the alarm.
We hope that you will give us an other chance and we are looking forward to welcoming you again for a stopover in our harbour.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel has an unbeatable view to the Vieux Port. Attentive reception and concierge personnel. Dinner at the restaurant overseing the harbour was great. If you plan to be there, get a room with a harbour view, otherwise it will spoil your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you spent a lovely stay among us and that you appreciated our "unbeatable" view on the Vieux Port. We are also pleased you had been sensitive to the attentions and the professionalism of our reception and concierge staff. They were very touched by your comments : your satisfaction is our best reward !
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the heart of the phocean city,
Kind regards

Margaux Morel,
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Wow what a hotel, great location and staff and spa and pool and rooftop, sensational!! View is absolutely breathtaking over the harbour. Rooms are beautiful, whole experience is incredible. 5 nods out of 5.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir,
We warmly thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely happy that you spent a lovely stay among us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our house and all of its “sensational” atmospheres like our So Spa or our fantastic view over the harbour. We are also pleased to read that you liked our rooftop; this area is one of our last innovation and we are really glad that you had been seduced by this one. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We hope to welcome you again soon for another “incredible experience”.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#4 of 131 in Marseille
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 131 in Marseille
1,492 reviews
New Hotel Of Marseille
#18 of 131 in Marseille
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £143 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing