We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sofitel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Sofitel experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had a room with port view and private balcony which was really great, well furnished, fantastic comfy bed, great bathroom, Hermes toilerties. The room was on the first floor, the terrasse rooms are above and the rooms with port view are even higer up. The classic rooms are on the lowest level and hence not really recommendable. The price difference is also not so big to the next category and is worth it. I had a special summer offer through Accor hotels which included the breakfast, breakfast was good, although typical French of course with not so much hot staff, but lots of cake and fruits. Wifi worked very well. All the staff was very friendly and professionell, front desk seemed a bit understaffed, breakfast buffet was well served, only on Sunday, when there were more guests than on the other days, a bit of chaos broke out. Especially lovely were the ladies from the touch down service. The pool is shared with the novotel, both hotels are in the same building, therefore, the pool is too small. The catalan beach which is close by is also not very large. The mini bar pieces are extreme, € 9 for a small can of Heineken! I also have to agree with some of the previous reviews, bring some insect spray otherwise you will be a victim.

Room Tip: Avoid the classic rooms if price difference is not too big and have room on high floor with port vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausdruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your “great experience” on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you spent a lovely stay among us.
We are happy that you enjoyed the kindness and the professionalism of our staff.
Nevertheless, we noted your disappointment about the swimming pool. We understand it and are sincerely sorry for that. For your information, we have a partnership with a private sporting club in the immediate area of the hotel, the « Cercle des Nageurs », where you will find three pools, one of which is heated. To enjoy this delicious moment, we invite you to present yourself to our concierges who will be pleased to guide you and take care of your well-being.
We hope that the port views and the comfort of your room left you long lasting memories.
Hoping to see you soon at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port…
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    569
    192
    62
    41
See reviews for
253
1,184
114
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A true five star hotel with an amazing view over the Vieux Port harbour. A pool area with sun beds and a bar - very quite and calming. We ended up spending more time there than in Marseille. The rooms are excellent and deserve a special mention. I have spent some time in four and five star hotels around the world, but even then, the air conditioning tend to make some noise, and the standard rooms are not necessarily that spacious. This room was indeed a standard room, and it was really quite, well ventilated, without a sound from the AC, excellent bathroom with amenities from Hermes included. A nice detail. The service was top notch and the reception area was beautiful. Should I visit Marseille again, this is without a doubt where I will stay.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard room, and it was excellent, so there really is not much to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quattordici M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We warmly thank you for sharing your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is precious to us. We are very happy that your experience in our hotel was “just excellent” and that our services matched your expectations… It is a real pleasure to read such rave!
We are thrilled that you appreciated the amenities and the comfort of the room that you were attributed, with “amazing” views on the Vieux Port and the most symbolic monuments of the Phocean City. We hope that this unique landscape left you with long lasting memories! We are also glad that you spent an enjoyable moment at the poolside under the cheerful sun of Marseille facing the magical boats’ ballet.
Moreover, we are glad that you noted the professionalism and kindness of our staff. Our Ambassadors work hard, everyday, to make sure every guest feels special… Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again, very soon, in your “true five star hotel” for your next stopover in Marseille…
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location 10/10 (Stunning views on the harbour)
Architecture/design 7/10
Room 7/10 (50€ extra for a room with a view!)
TV 10/10 (stylish big screen)
Bed 8/10
Bathroom 8/10 (large space but a bit outdated)
Wifi 10/10 (free and strong even in the room)
Staff 9/10
Breakfast 7/10 (it would be a 5/10 being the smallest buffet ever in a 5 star hotel, but the view on a sunny morning is breathtaking! Beware that despite paying 27€ for it, a lot of specials are 'à la carte' and not included!)
Swimming pool 5/10
Spa (haven't been there!)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fujike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us.
We are really delighted that you enjoyed our different services.
Nevertheless, we noted your disappointment about the swimming pool. For your information, we have a partnership with a private sporting club in the immediate area of the hotel, the « Cercle des Nageurs », where you will find three pools and a way to an exclusive beach. To enjoy this delicious moment, we invite you to present yourself to our concierges who will be pleased to guide you and take care of your well-being.
Hoping to see you soon at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port…
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

ha….now I truly feel in France with amazing views and a great service level that rivals our Australian one :)
Nice rooms, very clean and of a decent size. Amenities were excellent and frankly there was nothing I could have looked for and not found.
The hotel's location is simply perfect and you can walk anywhere you want without needing your car.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBr00ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We warmly thank you for sharing your lovely experience on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your kind words!
We always strive to provide you with impeccable standards and the greatest comfort possible to ensure you an unforgettable experience every time. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
We are really happy that you noted the quality of our service; our teams work hard, everyday, to guarantee every guest’s well-being.
We are also glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, quiet but still at a short walking distance from the city life, and overlooking the panoramic landscape of the harbour. We hope that the “beautiful views” and the comfort of your room left you long lasting memories.
We cannot wait to welcome you back at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port!
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Incredible location.. just few steps away from Vieux Ports restaurants and bars. The view is amazing especially from the restaurant level.
Overall taff is friendly and ready to help of any of your required needs except for the host assigned on the terrace which seemed very snobbish rather than friendly.
Room decor was nice and updated, very comfortable rooms with high quality ammenities.
My only concern was the use of the phone in the room, low volume, extremely difficult menu to understand clearly.
Overall, the views are worth staying here.
Budget is an average, not too high or too low. Basically what you would expect from the SOFITEL brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We warmly thank you for sharing your beautiful experience on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your kind words!
We always strive to provide you with impeccable standards and the greatest comfort possible to ensure you an unforgettable experience every time. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
Nevertheless, we are sincerely sorry that the use of the phone in your room was inconvenient and we hope that this difficulty didn’t hinder the quality of your stay with us. For your next stay among us, do not hesitate to contact our reservation staff, they will be happy to help you.
We are delighted that you noted the kindness of our staff. Our teams work hard, everyday, to guarantee every guest’s well-being, so I regret that our host on the terrace didn’t show all the professionalism she is usually known for.
We are also glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, at a short walking distance from the city life, and overlooking the panoramic landscape of the harbour. We hope that the “impressive views” left you long lasting memories.
We cannot wait to welcome you back at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port !
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location and beautiful views. Luxury hotel, very nice and clean rooms, comfortable bed and excellent service. The inconveniences are that the Internet is slow and the breakfast is too expensive. Very good stay overall.

Room Tip: Get a room with port view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We warmly thank you for sharing your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are really happy that you appreciated the "great location" of our hotel with "beautiful views" overlooking the Phocean city. We are thrilled that the room you were attributed matched your expectations and that you were charmed by its design and comfort, inspired by the yachting and the marine world. Nevertheless, we have taken into account the two inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the slow internet accessibility in our hotel. For your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff in order to obtain a high speed connection. Moreover, the price of our breakfast is due to the quality and variety of the products composing the buffet. Indeed, we have been awarded "best hotel breakfast in Europe" by the Villegiature Prize and our Chef always strive to convey his passion in his cuisine.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Property: Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing