We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$217
View deal
Expedia.comUS$218
Hotels.comUS$218
Booking.comUS$218
FindHotelUS$217
SofitelUS$218
eDreamsUS$218
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,137)
Filter reviews
3,137 results
Traveller rating
1,838
779
324
115
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,838
779
324
115
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar swimming pool turn down service large terrace old harbour breakfast buffet is valet parking concierge port luxury france euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 3,137 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had a lovely few days at the Sofitel Marseille. The check in was very friendly and helpful. Camille was full of enthusiasm and information. We had asked for a twin room and been given a double but a couple of phone calls sorted this out.

The room was lovely. It was a very large bedroom and a bathroom with an immense walk in shower. I liked the Hermes toiletries very much. The room was very clean and I liked the extras like the turndown service. The bathroom needs a better hairdryer though.

The swimming pool was very well kept. While there are not an immense number of loungers, we never felt crowded or that there weren't enough chairs. The pool is shared with the Novotel and we had a very nice lunch in their restaurant.

The breakfast was good and I liked the fresh fruit and croissants. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant which has some amazing views of the sunset. We also had lunch on the third floor terrace which was good if a little over priced.

All the staff were very helpful and polite and we would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Higher floors have more view.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArgentineTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
Guest Relation Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

A member of our group drove us in a large luxury car, and we were met by Hotel staff who directed us to the front desk to claim our accommodations while a valet took care of the car.

We were off to a good start and I was given a room looking out over the swimming pool and the old Port of Marseilles. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large and sparkling clean.

Their breakfast buffet was not large, but well supplied and we could order other hot items with the servers being happy to make suggestions.

We were disappointed to learn that their excellent gourmet restaurant, “Les Trois Forts” (The Three Forts), was closed for renovations, so we missed their famous gastronomic menu and the superb night view. Nevertheless, we enjoyed a number of good meals in other facilities, especially out on the terrace where we tried their bream and beef tartares which were spiced just enough so as to not overwhelm the taste of each dish.

The days can be filled with relaxing pleasures, especially at their swimming pool where you are able to order food and drinks, and there is a spa where you will be pampered and relax with the warmth of a massage.

Sofitel Marseille, nous reviendrons (we shall return).

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Gaby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Have you ever wanted to pay for first and fly economy? Well here is your chance with a hotel! We booked the hotel for the end of our cycle trip. We even quit the hotel in our package a day early, lost the night and paid to stay at the Sofitel....why...because on the APP it looked fab. Lovely swimming pool, with luxury mattresses, far better than the last hotel our agent had booked for the cycle tour. Malheresement, as they say here. There were no mattresses, there were no rolled up towels, in fact there were no beds free. The place was like a Thomas Cook 'resort' on a bad day. It did not take long to find out why! The Softiel is actually part of the Novotel. The sneaky lieing French chain does not anywhere advertise that fact, and even on the side of the hotel it says Sofitel, with no mention of Novotel (port side anyway) Basically you have a 4/5 melange. So, as I say, if you want to pay 1st and fly economy, in hotel style, try this one for size. WE WONT BE TRYING IT AGAIN!!!!

Room tip: Have a room port side, you'll pay 4 times as much as those with the same view in the Novotel!!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flyingal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

A short break to Marseille in a luxury hotel, what could be wrong? The hotel in places is looking tired but that aside the location is perfect with wonderful views of the harbour from our room and the view from the panoramic restaurant is wonderful. Be sure to have breakfast here. Unfortunately several minor things marred our stay. On arrival in the room there was only one glass, no water, only one sachet of coffee and milk and the patio doors were covered in handprints and finger marks. This is not Sofitel standards. Our complaints to the Duty Manager were noted and dealt with but come on people, you're better than this!
As always the staff were helpful, polite and chatty.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TravelBag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Location is obviously the main attraction point of this hotel. Situated superbly at the old marina - as the name suggests - the view is marvellous from most rooms and terraces. 7th floor bar, adjacent restaurant and 3rd floor bistro/bar are extremely comfortable to spend a night out(doors) sipping your martini or whatever. I tried the bistro which had superb food and exemplary service. Personnel is the 2nd trump card the venture can boast, because everybody is superfriendly and knowledgeable. My impression was the local 'incrowd' uses the bars as 'a place to be' and has done so for years. Rooms are spacey, well-equipped and spotless, but nothing special; The experience is to be had outside the room anyway. Valet parking service available. I did not use any fringe poissibilities of the hotel, so cannot comment. One false note maybe, while taking breakfast on the 7th floor (with view!), some of the hot dishes were only lukewarm. Pity. Conclusion : All their prices are pretty steep, but it's definitely value for money if you're here for one or two days and if you should want to explore the old town, you don't have to walk far.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews