We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Faultless, 5 Star all the Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2010

On first impression, the hotel looks a little '70's' on the outside. That all changes the moment you enter the door. We were given a lovely room on the top floor with the most amazing view of Marseille Harbour - possible due to being on our honeymoon. When we returned from dinner on our first night, a lovely bottle of french champagne and a personalised letter from management. The room itself, spacious, luxurious, an amazing soft bed and stunning bathroom.
The staff.... WONDERFUL. Valet parking / concierge - the friendliest you will meet. Reception staff - warm and welcoming. The hotel's spa and staff - fantastic. Whoever said that the French can be rude are crazy, we encountered nothing but lovely, friendly and helpful people.
Hotel was worth every cent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2010

Hotel is well located in the Vieux Port area offering great views of the city. Rooms are modern and nicely decorated offering good comfort.

Swimming pool area is nice but rather small especially since you have to share it with the "neighbours" from the Novotel which is located next door. So, be prepared for some screaming and children running around.

Bref, I would recommend the hotel during term time (out of school holidays).

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed for one night on a driving holiday. We were offered a special rate upgrade for a room with a view of the old port. It was definitely worth it! The room was wonderful; very large bed and great bathroom/shower. some great Hermes toiletery replenished daily! The swimming pool is shared with the Novotel and is a little small but with great views over the harbour. One advantage of sharing the site with the Novotel is that you can easily access their bar which has an outside terrace and reasonable prices!
There was a good variety at breakfast and once again the views were spectacular. The evening menu looked appealing but pricey although this did not matter as there are loads of excellent restaurants around the harbour within a very short walking distance. It was the perfect stop over on our trip and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I upgraded to a room overlooking the harbor. The cost was a little high to start and that made it worse but all in all I think it was worth it. The service from the time I left the taxi to the time I checked out was very good. Sincerely friendly people (much much better than the restaurants in the area). The room was modern with flat screen TV. Internet access cost extra. The windows were a little old and didn't seal well and therefore were a little noisy when the wind started blowing off the Med.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

On a five-day stay here. Very trendy, minimalist decor. Everything works as it should, from the comfortable beds, the bose wave radio, rainforest-head showers to the attentive service. Lovely views from the third floor lobby cafe, but I'm sure if the 20 euro sandwich was worth it. And too bad the weather has been absolutely horrid and we have to walk through the frigid cold across the port to the downtown restaurants. Do check out the spa facilities for a good soak in the sauna.

One grouse: For what we're paying here, the 10 euro/day wifi charge is a CRIME! Why shoot yourself in the foot when other comparable hotels are offering it gratuite?!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitan303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This was my 2nd. stay at this hotel.
The 1st. time was in January 2009 when they were still renovating all
the public areas, the rooms were already done then.
This time I stayed with my mother @ Sofitel Marseille.
I liked the new lobby and bar area...really stylish!!
The rooms are maybe a bit small but the decor and furniture is great!!
And off course the view is stunning!
We also enjoyed the new swimming pool...not huge but it was good
enough for us!
I think this is the most luxurious hotel in Marseille,quite expensive but
it's worth it!
Friendly and professional staff!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkunkFunk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

would stay here is I wasnt on business! thats a recommendation in itself.

the location is great from a view perspective (you can see the forts) although the surrounding area is not so pretty.

The rooms are very good quality although a bit on the small side.

service was excellent, but you get the sense that they run the hotel on a low number of staff. The Spa was great - just opened and very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAXUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#17 of 132 in Marseille
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#3 of 132 in Marseille
320 reviews
New Hotel Of Marseille
#15 of 132 in Marseille
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £150 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing