We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel lovely staff, awful bed”
Review of Hipark Marseille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hipark Marseille
Ranked #73 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Modern hotel lovely staff, awful bed”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights end of August. Staff on reception helpful, hotel and room modern and clean. We had a studio slightly on the small side, with tiny kitchenette area which had all amenities. Fold out bed was actually a futon with awful mattress we both had back ache after 4 nights and we are only in our late 30's!!!
Closest station is la timone 5 min walk and 10 min metro ride into vieux port so not too bad but if u want to be in the hub of things don't stay here. We bought a 72 hour travel card which was very reasonable and used it to go everywhere on metro and buses.
Worth getting bus to the beaches - borely beach or prophete beach (bus 82) get bus from vieux port. We also got train to st Raphael (90 mins) and ferry to st tropez (50 mins) which was a great day out.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LLandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    103
    59
    24
    22
See reviews for
50
84
19
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We have made our reservation for one appartment for four people for 696€ about two months ago through booking.com, so we thought, we will come and have our room, but finally we had to pay about 900€! When we came into the hotel, the receptionist told us something weird: i have your reservation here, but you haven't paid it yet so we don't have any free room. We wanted an appartement for four people, but Karin, the hotel manager, told us she has it only for one night (out of 8). We liked, that the hotel was near the metro station, so we took it and hoped she will let the room to us for whole stay.

Second day we went away so the receptionist told us to put all our stuff into the luggage room, that she will call us later. It was a terrible day full of scare that we will have to find another hotel in the evening, but finally, about 2 p.m. the guy from booking.com called us that we will have our original price for another room. When we came to the hotel in the evening, we got two neighbouring rooms connected with special door but for the price which was about 200€ higher than the original one. We were so tired of sorting it out that we just paid it and stayed there for the rest of our vacation.

The rest of our vacation the hotel was quite ok, but there were two weird things about the hotel: first is the internet. There is a wifi just in the lounge which doesn't have much places to sit. During our stay the hotel was full of young people with tablets and smartphones, so in the evening we were sitting even on the floor! The second weird thing was the room cleaning. If you stay for more than 7 nights, they will clean it up for you just once a week. We were cooking almost every day, so our bin was a problem. We asked on the reception for cleaning just a bin and we got a huge bag for garbage. This was a kinda...funny. :)

Whole hotel is new and nice, so the environment there is really nice, staff also was very helpful if we wanted some informations about public transport or bicycles.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Little difficult to find out the location and the landmark is the Hospital De La Timon. I reached around midnight and the gentleman in the front desk was helpful. Room was okay except the showers. And the bed is a fold out type; quite uncomfortable. Very simple break fast. Staffs are friendly. The lift is always occupied by the house keepers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shajibnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent 5 nights in Hipark Hotel Marseille at the end of July. I had booked on Expedia in March or Feb. so we got a quite good price. I sent an e-mail in advance that we would like to have a nice, quiet room with good view if possible. The room couldn`t have been better! We got everything that I asked for and the receptionist (Hugo maybe?) was even apologising that he couldn`t give us a room with balcony! So he was really nice! And it was a relief that the receptionists could speak English after the experience we had in Ibis Opera Paris..

The room indeed had a sofabed but it was comfortable for sleeping (not to sit on though). The kitchen was well equipped, even with dish-washer, and the nice surprise in the bathroom was the clothsline! We used it every day for the bikini and stuff like that.. Room was cleaned after every 2nd night, and we got fresh towels as well.

We could say that the "wi-fi only in lobby" is a bit wierd today when every second guest uses the mobile for surfing but we could live with that, and using the hotel`s computers are also free so if you are on a holiday I think you shouldn`t spend your day with surfing on the internet anyway..

We spent 5 nights there, we usually went beck to the hotel during the day and then we got back again after midnight. We didn`t have any problem with the neighbourhood! Who ever was freaked out they would be scared in every big cities I think.. The night bus (840?) drops you in-front of the hospital, so just 3-4 mins walk from the hotel.
The kebab places are sooo cheap and quite good around the hotel and the employees can speak English either!!

It`s really worth to make a travel card and top-up it for a week even if you stay 4-5 nights! It`s just €13.50, and you can travel with all the buses/metros/trams/night buses!!! & even with 2 ships from Vieux Port. Just make sure you have a photo of yourself with you for the card..

Room Tip: We were in #821, and it was quiet (it`s next to the lift, but we didn`t hear anything- I checked), n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisztina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Dreadful time finding it, not helped by poor GPS signal and desk staff only able to tell us by phone that the hotel was near a hospital! Yeah literally across the road oh and the fire station is 100 yards down the road. Highly dubious area after dark. The metro into town is reasonably close however. There's also a superb sandwich bar on the same side of the road as the hospital enroute to the metro.
Our fridge freezer destroyed the food we'd bought, in fairness they offered a delivery service meal but at 35 degree temperatures the last thing we wanted was a cooked meal, just cheese and pâté and the local supermarket were closed, so we swapped for breakfast... Wish we hadn't, it was really poor! The lift showed a picture of a lovely swimming pool on HiPark stationary. I think it was advertising a deal whilst staying with the hotel, we asked where the pool was and was told it was at another HiPark Hotel!
Our son developed an eye infection we asked where the local doctor was but were advised to go to a local hospital( not the one opposite.) Having found it (20 minute walk in searing heat) we were told we should have gone to the one opposite the hotel!
Am sure there must be better priced and positioned hotels

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile C, Directeur général at Hipark Marseille, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback following your stay in our home and we are really sorry to hear that it was not up to your expectations.
Every Customer is important and we have taken note of the inconvenience you have experienced to correct them.
However, we hope you will give us your trust again during a future visit to Marseille.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel's location is pretty scary and located in a bad-looking neighborhood. The rooms are mostly clean, though, and the breakfast and service is good. However, watch out for their showers. They flood the whole room and the carpet squishes every time you walk to the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Espana_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Average hotel overall. The reception staff was a little rude upon check in. We arrived at 2 pm ahead of the 3pm check in time, and when I explained that I had requested for an early check in upon booking, she had decided to ignore the comment entirely and simply repeat that check in is at 3pm. Given the hotel is a little out of the way to marseille centre, we stayed around for the check in and delayed lunch. I know it's hotel policy but who have 3 pm check in time these days!?! Also, if I had explained that I requested for early check in, shouldn't you at least check the system and see if you had reserved a room for me before telling me off!?!

It was more disappointing when we go to our room, we had a fold out sofa bed! (We should have paid more attention to the tripadvisor pictures!) I really don't know whether a sofa bed can be classified as a normal hotel bed in its own rights but if we had known about the sofa bed before booking, we would NOT have booked Hipark!

Room Tip: Check whether you'd get a fold out bed before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Seven Urban Suites Prado
#49 of 131 in Marseille
238 reviews
Castellane
Citadines Castellane Marseille
Ibis Marseille Timone
#43 of 131 in Marseille
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Marseille Timone
#34 of 131 in Marseille
204 reviews
Préfecture
Kyriad Marseille Centre
Kyriad Marseille Centre
#42 of 131 in Marseille
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipark Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipark Marseille

Property: Hipark Marseille
Address: 21 Chemin de l Armee D Afrique, 13005 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hipark Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its uniquely contemporary and refined design by Didier Gomez, the vocation of this hotel residence is to be comfortable, practical and pleasant to live in. Within easy reach of the Dôme, the Parc Chânot and the Vélodrome stadium and the town's main centres of interest. (direct access by underground to "Le Vieux Port). 24/7 welcome with reception and concierge services Private parking 92 studios from 20 to 31 sq.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hipark Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing