We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even our seven-year-old grand-daughter was impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Even our seven-year-old grand-daughter was impressed”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our second visit, and the high standards have been maintained. It is very clean, a generous room, effective air-conditioning and a small balcony with a view over the vieux-port (a 'superieure' room, worth the extra). The hotel is absolutely central and very convenient to all parts of Marseille and the islands. Staff were professional, and helpful. Pity we only had one night. We'll be back.

Just one thing: a fridge?

Room Tip: The 'superieure' rooms are well worth the extra, having small balconies and views. Canebiere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    429
    63
    7
    9
See reviews for
127
466
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed one night pre-cruise. 102€ for perfect location, comfortable room, and helpful staff. Room was a little warm, but it was 97 degrees in Marseille that day. If I had to go to Marseille again, I would stay there, but have no interest in returning to Marseille!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaGoToASkunkFight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurrieq,Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week stay at the Escale Oceania hotel in the Vieux Port and can only say that it's ideally located. Metro stop is right opposite the hotel. Staff were helpful especially the young man on night duty when we arrived late at night. He still took time to point out to us various exhibitions being held and their location and how to get there. Rooms are kept very clean and breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very friendly welcome and advice on the local area. Good sized rooms with nice ensuites - we were on the 6th floor and it was ok - though not a lot of natural light! The vieux port is a busy and bustling area so help navigating your way through it all is really useful! Greeted warmly by reception when entering and exiting the hotel. Good location - but do get out past the vieux port to the JFK rd to see the beaches, le panier and the cathedral.

We wanted to find more authentic restaurant / attraction choices and found these through here and lonely planet. We also did a day trip to provance that picked up near the hotel which was one reason for booking this venue. Best to avoid area south west of the St Charles station and use the metro to get instead (although I had no major issues when I walked that area on arriving - it was uncomfortable) as there were large numbers of 'unsavoury' people gathered / approaching me for spare change etc. which can be slightly intimidating if you're a tourist, especially in the evening. We did not have breakfast - there are other options in the area. On the whole pleased with the hotel choice and would recommend.

Room Tip: I thought 6th floor was ok - but was using hotel as a base rather than spending large amounts of tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dst103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

When rating this hotel, you need to remember that it is 3 stars and relatively inexpensive. What makes it good value for money is: Location, Location, Location…

The reasons it is a good place to stay are:

- Location: It is right on the port (30 seconds walk), and close to Metro and 2 major car parks
- All the basics are provided (no luxuries)
- Very Clean
- Helpful staff
- Has a 20% discount deal with 2 nearby car parks (Euro 16 per day)
- Price – for its location it is reasonably inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have spent 3 nights in this hotel. the location is so convenient, so close to the vieux port, tours starts, restaurants, museum, supermarket, tourist office, even the train station. The personnel was great, always looking to help. In our case, we asked for a calm room, without the view on Notre Dame de la Garde, but it was so nice, big room, 5th floor, in the shade, air conditioning important in July and not available in all hotels, with a view on the port.
The only remark we have is about breakfast, even if it was not a surprise, we have to pay an extra 11 euros for it, why don't we have all included?
Please keep your prices, if we have another opportunity to visit Marseille, for sure will make a reservation at the Oceania.
A couple from Switzerland

Room Tip: Some rooms without the view on Notre Dame de la Garde, are bigger, calm and in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaaaaazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel offers good value if you are in Marseille for a short stay. It is located right near the city port for easy access to all the bars and restaurants you could wish for. There is no car parking so park in one of the car-parks near the Port and walk to the hotel to save a lot of stress as the roads and traffic around the port are very busy.

The room was spacious and cool, very quite given the location with access to free wi-fi. It reminded me of a Premier Inn. Basic but a great bed and shower which is all you need if you plan to spend little time in your room.

The breakfast is good too, plenty of choice and better than some 4 star hotels I have visited.

Room Tip: Don't try and drive to the hotel door, use one of the nearby car park and walk to the hotel to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfbobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Property: Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing