We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect location, average hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are looking for centralized hotel that won't check any of the negative boxes on your list, this would be a good choice. We stayed here one night en route to Nice from Avignon. Since we landed here we were able to book the hotel through Expedia along with our flight and got a really good deal. Not sure how good of a deal you could get on the hotel just booking it alone without a flight attached.

The location is steps from the port, and from our third story room looking out over the city and La Canebiere we were able to get a great view from our balcony. We came from the train station, and were able take the subway where we exited just across the street from the hotel. There is no huge sign, so look for a small sign for the hotel on the north side of La Canebiere.

Our room was small when compared to your typical American hotel, but for European hotels, it was pretty spacious. There was room for 3 people in the 2 person room that we were given. The shower was really nice, and the bed was comfortable. There is some city noise, but it wasn't unbearable. We wanted to sleep with the door to our balcony open, but the noise was a bit much. With the door closed we had no issues sleeping through the night. Our room was clean, and we had room for our luggage. We didn't partake in the breakfast as we were only here one night and wanted to experience the local food, and not hotel food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main street La Canebiere, the views are pretty amazing. The room wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Customer,
We sincerely thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel.
The whole team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
Looking forward to seeing you in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    429
    63
    7
    9
See reviews for
127
466
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and chose the hotel for its very convenient location, right by the old port, handy for all the sights of the city, and dozens of restaurants.

The room (standard, not superior, facing the back of the building) was very clean, quiet and spacious, if rather characterless, and the bathroom very good. The staff on reception were helpful and friendly.

There aren't really any public rooms, which gives the hotel rather an impersonal feel. Although this didn't really matter, as we spent most of the time exploring the city, it just didn't add anything to the visit either.

The location and the room standard definitely justify the price, and I would say this hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying for a superior room, overlooking the street. These are in the older, 19th cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Customer,
We sincerely thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel.
The whole team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
Looking forward to seeing you in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We chose this hotel for one night in Marseilles based on location, price and Trip Advisor reviews. We booked the more expensive room with balcony(Juliet style!) and side view of port. We could hear all the noise from bars of singing and shouting. The room was a decent size and was clean. Towels and pillows were of dubious quality. "So what?" I hear you say! Well, when I pay 212 euros for 1 night I expect a higher standard. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Ate breakfast at cafe next door- very nice. An adequate hotel but very overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebell5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Customer,
We sincerely thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel.
The whole team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
You can enjoy a better rate by booking well in advance on our website.
Looking forward to seeing you in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location and very functional hotel - an upmarket Travel Inn is my best description. The receptionists were great - very helpful. Buffet breakfast was as expected for the star rating and a reasonable choice. We only stayed one night as we were passing through Marseille so it served it's purpose.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor above the dining room so woken up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie187443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Customer,
We sincerely thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel.
The whole team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
Looking forward to seeing you in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I would gladly choose this hotel again if coming to Marseille. Location could not be more convenient -- it is right across the street from the Vieux Port metro stop, across the street from the Vieux Port (the center of tourist activity and many places to eat), and two blocks from the Opera House. Room was nice, nice tv, great shower, reasonable price, nice people at the desk -- no complaints. I chose a room with a balcony (partial view of port) and thought it well worth the slightly higher price.

Room Tip: I thought a room with a balcony was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Customer,
We sincerely thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel.
The whole team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
Looking forward to seeing you in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Not to beat a dead horse on this issue, but we arrived by car and there is NOWHERE to park to drop off your things. An additional challenge was that the city has apparently changed since the GPS was put in the car we rented (and we were told that streets change constantly) The GPS kept wanting to send us down streets that were bus only, or pedestrian only. Once we arrived (and were told to double park on the fairly busy street on which the hotel is located - it was all good.

The rooms and elevator an quite tiny (and I believe we got a bigger room) Though the rooms are small, they are functional. Beds are comfortable and bathroom is fine. Our room had a view of the old port (gorgeous). Some of the rooms had balconies - not really big enough to sit on , but big enough to stand on.

We were initially concerned because our room was right across from where breakfast is served. We assumed it would be loud - but it was not. Also, the breakfast was fairly tasty and hearty.

Fine place to stay, but tough if you are arriving in a car that you are driving.

staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Might want to avoid the 5th floor (where the breakfast room is located, though we didn't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Customer,
We sincerely thank you for giving your opinion about our Hotel.
The whole team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable.
Looking forward to seeing you in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Terrible, I got a room with broken sink as pictures attached.
Nobody change the room and they didnt fix the sink!
I told them after my check in time at 5pm and Sally the front desk woman told me at 9pm she would fix them but when I arrived at hotel at midnight nothing was fixed and the guy at front desk said they didnt hae any room available to change. So I couldnt brush my teeths or wash my hand !
Terrible service, staff not profesional!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mdecarlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Prezado Cliente,
Sinto muito que o seu stay've não foi inteiramente satisfatória.
A ficha de sua pia estava preso eo recebimento pessoa falhou desbloqueio. Na verdade, o hotel estava cheio naquele dia e não tivemos outra sala disponível. Néammoins isso não impede de usar o banheiro, porque há um excesso que impede o transbordamento impede.
Espero que tenham gostado néammoins a qualidade do seu quarto e upgrade para um quarto Deluxe.
Mais uma vez pedimos desculpas pelo inconveniente
Dear Customer,
I'm sorry that your stay've not been entirely satisfactory.
The plug your sink was stuck and the person receiving has failed unlock. Indeed the hotel was full that day and we had no other room available. Néammoins this does not preclude using the toilet because there is an overflow that prevents the prevents overflow.
I hope you enjoyed néammoins the quality of your room and complimentary upgrade to a Deluxe room.
Again we apologize for the inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Property: Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing