We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Marseille”
Review of Le Gout des Choses

Le Gout des Choses
Reserve with
Le Gout des Choses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 2,191 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lunch and diner
Clare
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marseille”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had several meals while in Marseille and this was by far the best. Lovely restaurant, very friendly professional staff. Gorgeous food from start to finish. Highly recommend the Onglet with pepper sauce.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    101
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner in Marseille”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our daughter is living in Marseille and she chose this as our "fancy" dinner out without being outrageously expensive. A great choice! All 6 of us had delicious, beautiful food from starters to desserts, and the service was excellent and welcoming. The atmosphere of this small restaurant was pleasing, and they brought plenty of water for us Americans who like to drink water as well as wine with dinner. I highly recommend it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine, a bit out of place”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Its a nice restaurant, the husband cooks fine french cuisine using the best ingredients, and quite innovative at that, the wife runs the restaurant and keeps it in top condition, good atmosphere, tasteful decor, the service is excellent if a bit small on quantities, the deserts are heavenly, therefore I recommend 3 courses for the hungry amongst us, or those with a good apetite. Unfortunately, the area is not as posh as this restaurant , its not unsafe or anything it just seems a bit out of place, however once you're inside, it will be about enjoying a great meal. Starters around 13, mains around 25 and deserts around 9, all in euros of course !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brightstar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants in Marseille - fantastic food!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a delightful restaurant in the 6eme arrondissement of Marseille. It's owned by a couple who are clearly passionate about food. I've eaten here three times and every time I've been impressed. The restaurant is small (perhaps 12 tables) and is always busy, reservations are essential unless you intend to dine very early (it opens at 1930).

I'd recommend starting with their lovely basil cocktail, it's refreshing and interesting. The food is French but the menu also has a clear Asian influences.

The specials are always worth looking at, as they often consist of the Frensh catch of the day, purchased directly from the fishing boats in the morning. The female maître d' is charming and will happily advise on pairing a wine with your choices.

I have eaten here alone after work and they are perfectly happy to let you sit in a corner with a book, even on busy nights which is both generous are rare.

The food is expensive for the quartier but great value for the quality and attention to detail. It is also away for the tourist center of Marsielle (Le Vieux-Port) which means you're paying for the food, not the high rent!

Highly recommended and well worth a visit if you're staying in Marseille.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Caspar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our experience does not tie in with other reviews, perhaps we caught them on an off night. Service was very slow - we had to wait for 10 minutes before being given a menu and there did not seem to be enough staff to be able to cope comfortably. The food was ok but not exceptional. Hopefully other diners will have a better experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gout des Choses also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Gout des Choses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing