We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little train” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Train Marseille

Petit Train Marseille
Ranked #29 of 218 things to do in Marseille
Attraction details
spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great little train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We caught the petit train at the marina up to the Notre-dame de la garde. It was a good long trip up there, glad we did not have to walk. The view from the top was amazing. We were able to get off the train at the top , have a look around then catch the next train when we were ready.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank justfourofusnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    274
    91
    32
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Find 3 Small People to Travel With”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

To maximize capacity, the staff put four people across each bench on the little train. Now if those are three children and 1 adult, fine. Now it is 4 North American grazers with hips and paunches, YIKES!!! For safety, the only open area is on the side that you enter so, if it is really hot outside, you will roast a little in the interior. Still, it was worth the trip up the hill to Notre Dame for the view. AMAZING. Marseille is NOT quaint little fishing villiage and this train ride will prove it to you. BTW - we had friends that thought the church looked close so decided to walk/climb from the Vieux Port. One word - don't.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GenevieveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try the Ferris Wheel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Sorry, couldn't find an item to review but in Marseille the Ferris wheel at the marina is a must. What a great view of the harbour and the city. Not too expensive, I think from memory about 5 euros - but well worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbaraaAnneMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are two train routes for Le Petit Train. One runs through the Panier district but we thought that it was better to walk through this area. We went on train number 1 which went up to Notre Dame de la Garde. It was fairly comfortable but we were sitting 2 to a bench. The notice on the car suggests that they want to squeeze in 4 to a bench. Unless they were all very skinny, this would be uncomfortable. There was commentary in both French and English throughout the route. Some of the English translation was a bit odd - almost as if they had used Google Translate. We got off at Notre Dame de la Garde, visited the church and then got the next train back to the Vieux Port. The trains do stop running for a while at lunch time. Well worth 8 Euros.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good way to see Notre Dame de la Garde”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

At the time we went, the petit train was only doing one route - up to the basilica. This was fine, and fairly reasonable as well (otherwise, it's a steep climb). The train can get very cramped, especially if you are not tiny or petite. In addition, when boarding back at the basilica, it was mass chaos and everyone seemed to lose their manners, and crowd in despite not being at the front of the line. The staff tried to rein people in, but it was truly bizarre. At any rate, still well worth it, as it provides a nice overview of the town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank katie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petit Train Marseille also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Petit Train Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing