We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #99 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect location with the metro station and plenty of restaurants nearby. Rooms were of a good size and clean, however, some of the furniture was getting a little scruffy and gave the room a tired look. Breakfast was nice but overpriced for the selection that was on offer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairtravel_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    151
    116
    75
    51
See reviews for
48
189
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Perfect location. Good modern( hotel. Nice boutique style, great surprise. Room had A/C a must have in the Provence summer heat. Lucky to have a port view room. Overall great hotel room, and excellent sized bathroom. Men at the Front Desk were terribly unhelpful and extremely unfriendly. Housekeeping staff were friendly enough but didn't pay attention to the DND sign. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAlex88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is situated in perfect location in city centre in front of the port. All caffees, bars and restaurants are very close, within walking distance. Public buses and subway are few steps from the hotel. We booked room with port view, which I do appreciate. It really worths it. Room service was good, the room was always clean and nice. I also liked free wifi available also in the hotel rooms, which is not standard in many cases.Breakfast was fine, but I think it's better to find some close cafeteria and enjoy some local pastries. Generally, the price level is appropriate to hotel standards. I enjoyed my stay in Marseille also thanks to this hotel.

Room Tip: I recomment to book a room with port view. You'd love to watch the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeHo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

At first sight from exterior this hotel looks kind of shabby. Broken glass on entrance door. Tiny lobby and reception area. One small elevator that's looks quite run down, a little worried was going to get stuck in it. Rooms are ok. Not big but not too small either. I'd imagine a room with a view of the old port would be nice, but unfortunately my view was of an old alley. Overall the staff are not a friendly bunch. Cleaning ladies say hello and smile more then front desk people. Maybe they should change positions. With the exception of one male front desk guy. The rest of them were terribly ignorant. Not welcoming at all. Everytime I walked in they looked at me like I was coming to rob the place. Forget hello and how are you.
Given the choice and if the price is right I would book again. Because of its location and it is a decent hotel. But really no more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztec37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is our second time at this hotel. We stayed for one night while travelling round France. There was only two of us but we were given a large room with 2 double beds in , room was clean. We were glad the hotel had air con as it was very warm in Marseille. Maintainance of the bathroom could have a little better, bath very slow in emptying and the toilet flush handle fell off the wall although we mentioned this to reception and someone went and fitted it back on. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location with many bars etc close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed for just one night on 7th July. Got shuttle bus from Airport to Station (8 euros each) which was easy and then took taxi from station to Hotel which was 11 euros. Great location right on the Old Port. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our second floor room looked as if it had been recently refurbished. It was spacious, had a comfortable bed and the bathroom was well equipped with good quality shower. Everything spotlessly clean. We had lunch in the adjoining restaurant and the food was excellent. There was a good choice at the buffet breakfast and it was lovely to enjoy that outside.
We used this hotel prior to going on a cruise which was departing from Marseille and it was only a 10 minute taxi ride to the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Great location and welcoming staff. For our only day in Marseille at the end of a two week long trip, it was a good experience. Located close to many restaurants, etc... Along with all the tourist attractions (little train, hop on off bus, boats). Room with port view was good, but as others have described, there was some visible wear and tear.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mytinimartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Opéra
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#59 of 131 in Marseille
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Opéra
Hotel du Sud
Hotel du Sud
#82 of 131 in Marseille
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Address: 43 quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the HEART of Marseille, on the Old Port, the Grand Tonic Hotel proposes to welcome you in 56 design rooms equipped with high-tech equipment: flat-faced screen LCD, Wi-Fi access, individual safe deposit box, mini bar, air-conditioning. In each bathroom, a whirlpool bath-tub invites you to the relaxation. In 16 of these rooms, with view, you can add the old port blue to the screen. You have also at your disposal at the Tonic Hotel 2 rooms of seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing