We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Service & Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #93 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The Best Service & Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the Tonic from June 4th through June 6th 2014. I was impressed from the moment I walked in the front door. The check in process was fantastic and the young man at the front desk was so professional. Not only did he check me in promptly he asked if I needed any directions, or any advice on what to do or see. He offered me a map, I have never had a hotel in Europe offer me this much Customer Service when I checked in.

The hallways were clean and smelled very good. I stayed in room 104. This room had a great view of the Old Port and was very large. The bathroom was very updated and modern. Nice sink area with lots of room for my toiletries. There was a full bathtub and shower. The tub was a Jacuzzi tub.

The closet was very large with lots of space to hang clothes, and lots of shelves for storage. There was a safe in the closet, with extra pillows and blankets as well.
The bed room was also large with two twin beds. There was a desk and flat screen TV and a small refrigerator with mini bar and water to buy. The room has a small area with a luggage rack and a full length mirror. This room and hotel well exceeded my expectations.

Each morning I had breakfast in the restaurant. Very nice and excellent service once again. There were both hot items (eggs, potatoes, beacon) and cereal and fruit and lots of bread.

The best rooms at this hotel would be 102,103, & 104. This hotel has the best service and best price I have seen in a long time.

Room Tip: Best rooms that face the Port 102,103,104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJRLdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    145
    111
    71
    47
See reviews for
43
182
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. Nice staff and location was superb. Bathroom was of really bad standard althow the tub was nice. Hotel in great need of frechening up. Dull reception and breakfast too expencive even for France.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise. The location is superb, on the Vieux Port and next to the Vieux Port metro station.
The staff were very helpful.
Considering the location, the room was a good size and of a reasonable standard. Bathroom was large, however may gave seen better days. The location, size of the rooms and staff would mean I would probably consider the hotel as an option if staying in Marseille.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmalone857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is musty, smelly, dirty…really the stay was quite uncomfortable. The location is amazing, it's right on the port in the old town. It was rated 4 stars but that's on location alone, not the hotel, that's for sure. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank javafinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELTONA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had to change our reservation several times as Rail Europe kept changing their reservation policy or timeline. When we finally were able to make our train reservations we finalized our hotel reservation. We thought something strange of the desk clerk, who also appeared to be in management, made mention of the room rate immediate upon pour arrival. Never had that happen with any hotel either in Europe or the US. Any way we were charged for the most expensive room in the hotel although we had not requested that and the web-site did not even show such a category when we made our reservation. I did not dispute this or argue as it was our anniversary trip and my wife like our room. So be it! Now the breakfast...For 14 Euro's...You must be kidding. DO NOT BUY THEIR BREAKFAST...IT IS A TOTAL RIP-OFF! Super 8 in the US provides a better breakfast and it is included in the cost of your room. This breakfast was so incomplete unless rolled up bacon and potatoes is your ideal start to your morning. Okay, there was day or maybe two day old croissants and really old donuts. The coffee was pretty good however you had to run the waitress down to get a second cup. 28 Euro's for day old pastries and... Rip off city on this hotel site. Mold and mildew was not only obvious but prevalent in the bathroom and shower. Better hotels with equal views are available and for the same or less
price. I should have realized when we arrived and the front door was literally next to the front door of McDonald's what we were in for.

Room Tip: Look at the other hotels in the vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The biggest advantage of the hotel is the central location, though personally think that it's a bit overpriced (190Euro/night). For that price have been in another hotel in Marseille with veiw on harbour that was even better. The hotel rooms are a bit small and outdated, yet acceptable. The staff is friendly

Room Tip: Port view is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuslanMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

location is excellent for the hotel - the rooms are a little bit small - though you do have to expect this from the old hotel styles. And amazing enough as we stayed on the 3rd floor - it was pretty quite - hardly heard the road traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the 3rd floor onwards or you will find it a bit noisy at night - it is situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rochelleandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#87 of 130 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Opéra
Hotel du Sud
Hotel du Sud
#82 of 130 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Opéra
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#69 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Address: 43 quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the HEART of Marseille, on the Old Port, the Grand Tonic Hotel proposes to welcome you in 56 design rooms equipped with high-tech equipment: flat-faced screen LCD, Wi-Fi access, individual safe deposit box, mini bar, air-conditioning. In each bathroom, a whirlpool bath-tub invites you to the relaxation. In 16 of these rooms, with view, you can add the old port blue to the screen. You have also at your disposal at the Tonic Hotel 2 rooms of seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing