We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #100 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Was there with friends last weekend.
The smell in the elevator was covered with some applescent. The hall were very tiny and a bit dusty but the rooms were clean. Mine (10) was small with no view. The airco didn't work but opening the window gave too much noise. One advantage was having free wifi from mcdonalds down the hotel. I took breakfast in one of the places arounnd the hotel. With a discount it is pretty good value for money otherwise it is too expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lairetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel is in a great location - right at the heart of the vieux port. Shame it has no bar or real reception area and is above a McDonalds. The service was fine - much easier if you are able to speak French (fair enough). The lifts smelt of drains, but apparently drains are a general problem in the area. The room was lovely very spacious and clean with a lovely big comfy bed. Disappointing lack of English tv channels.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked the cheapest room for 3 that they had, knowing we would have no view. However we were pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the room. We had a skylight but the room was still rather dark but the bright modern bathroom made up for it. We loved being on Vieux Port and the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed in Marseille for 3 nights, 2 of which in this hotel. Because we stayed there over the weekend, we got a great deal. Sure, the room wasn't facing the Vieux Port at that price, but it was big, really comfortable, with all the amenities of a good hotel. Reception was helpful and booked restaurants for us, and the hotel is ON the Vieux Port, which is pretty cool. We walked to the beach (although you can take bus there), and it took us roughly 10mn. it is also a street away from the shopping quarter of Marseille, and there are hundreds of restaurants around.
We loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entente-cordiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Travelling in a group of 9 ladies we stayed at the Tonic Hotel just for one night. There was a mix up with the reservation when we first checked in but the staff were very pleasant and soon sorted out the problem to our satisfaction.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and had a very nice bathroom. We were overlooking the port and it was quite noisy with the window open but once closed it very effectively blocked the noise and with the air conditionning we did not need to leave the window open at night. There were some very nice touches like bathrobes, slippers, fresh fruit on skewers and fruit juice were brought to the room late afternoon.

It is situated right on the Vieux Port so perfect for visiting the sights of Marseille which is a very interesting and beautiful city and well worth a visit.
We did get a very good deal (train + hotel) booking through SNCF voyages.
The hotel, however, would be very overpriced if one had to pay the recommended price stated on the back of the bedroom door but does one ever pay those prices these days with all the great deals around?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Really an awful surprise finding a very tiny room, without any view. the clim was not working and even if it was in may and not so hot outside the room temperature was very high. The bath was blocked. And people prefer to have their own talk more than giving you some advice. No need to go there. Expensive for this kind of place (even if they make price on internet!)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Whilst the hotel is impersonal - no real reception/social area - it depends if you want somewhere to sit and relax - there is lots to offer outside the hotel so not a necessity.Its ideally located for walking to the shopping area, around the harbour and many restaurants.
The room was clean - we has a port view, these rooms come in different sizes and ours was one of the smaller ones. I had anticipated it to be slightly larger looking at the photos online.
The bathroom was ok, heated mirror but a small jacuzzi - not big enough for two!! V nice decor throughout. Could have improved with larger fluffier towels.
I tried to arrange a surprise in advance for the room - the hotel were not very helpful and slow at responding so i gave up. I found out on arrival they wanted to charge double the price for champagne than the prices of the mini bar - i though this was a bit cheeky!
If you looking for a nice clean room in a good location I would recommend, but if you want a hotel with lots of additional services such as a bar/restaurant this is not for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#77 of 132 in Marseille
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 43 quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the HEART of Marseille, on the Old Port, the Grand Tonic Hotel proposes to welcome you in 56 design rooms equipped with high-tech equipment: flat-faced screen LCD, Wi-Fi access, individual safe deposit box, mini bar, air-conditioning. In each bathroom, a whirlpool bath-tub invites you to the relaxation. In 16 of these rooms, with view, you can add the old port blue to the screen. You have also at your disposal at the Tonic Hotel 2 rooms of seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing